Intel considering abolishing CPU sockets for consumer market?

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by Grall, Nov 22, 2012.

  1. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,365
    Likes Received:
    3,955
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    What's wrong with PCIe, and who is going to trust the longevity of a motherboard manufacturer's proprietary interface?

    I just pointed out with interposer or on-package DRAM that there's not even the need for a tiny PCB.
    Intel also intends to put the southbridge on-package, so the periphery is basically whatever wires are needed to go from CPU package to some I/O hanging off PCIe.
    SSD interfaces are already bottlenecking higher-end drives, and it seems the future direction is SSD to PCIe or some variation thereof.
     
  2. Sxotty

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    5,107
    Likes Received:
    474
    Location:
    PA USA
    I am not happy with this, but lately I haven't swapped CPUs and kept motherboards much. Still I think it will significantly degrade my choices when building a system.
     
  3. nutball

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,251
    Likes Received:
    601
    Location:
    en.gb.uk
    Well, that's your choice of course. Personally I thought that Slot 1 / Slot A were truly ridiculous in a PC, an engineering solution to an engineering problem that should never have existed.

    Slot-mounted CPUs and daughterboards and all the rest might make sense now, in server space (micro-blades, if you like) but in the PC they still don't make much sense at all. They only make sense now in the server because of the degree of on-die integration, which is the antihesis of the reason Slot 1/Slot A were invented.
     
  4. ninelven

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,712
    Likes Received:
    131
    I'd go a step further and guess that expandable RAM disappears altogether. Electricity costs are only going to rise in the future, and I imagine the energy savings on a large scale becomes quite significant.

    There is also the issue of increasing memory density vs off-package bandwidth.
     
  5. nutball

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,251
    Likes Received:
    601
    Location:
    en.gb.uk
    This is possible. 4GB RAM + 32GB on-board PCI-E SSD for a page file and disc cache. Who'd notice the difference for the bulk of use cases?
     
  6. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    424
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    Well, DDR4 already puts a limit on the DIMM slots per channel anyway. Once the solid-state storage becomes a mass, cheap (and reliable) commodity freed from the constraints of the SATA interface, would the PCs really need the gobs of expandable system memory?
     
  7. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,365
    Likes Received:
    3,955
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    For the average PC, 4 would probably be enough, possibly 8 to be safe.

    There are still media apps that could gobble up RAM, which may leave non-professional or entry-level content creators in a lurch if the relatively inexpensive middle ground of the upper-range desktop with a load of DIMMs ceases to be and there is a wide gap between consumer platforms and the lowest rung of workstations that still have expandable memory.
     
  8. I.S.T.

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    389
    When the next consoles hit, RAM usage for games will go way, way up...
     
  9. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    17,089
    Likes Received:
    6,429
    4 wouldn't cut it. 8 would be barely enough. One of my consumer level apps is currently using 2.8 gigabytes of RAM. Games can take anywhere from 1.5-3.5 gigs of RAM on my system.

    I currently have ~10 gigs of RAM in active use at the moment and I'm not even working...or playing a game.

    Granted, I'm not your typical user, but I'd say going forward that 8 gigs is a better minimum. Especially if we ever want games to progress significantly in graphics fidelity. It's annoying to be basically stuck with the same texture resolution in games that we've had for 5-10 years now in the vast majority of games. And for those that try to actually increase texture resolution or world size, they are limited by the amount of memory they can use (I hope 32 bit systems die soon).

    My biggest concern is that if this comes to pass. I won't have the choice to pair a high end CPU with a budget board. Or a budget/midrange CPU with a high end board.

    While I haven't needed to upgrade my CPU this cycle (still using an i5-2500k and a launch MB) I've upgrade my memory 3 times already.

    I'm just afraid that if something like that happens. Budget CPUs will only come with budget mainboards. Higher end CPUs will only come with expensive (not worth the money to me) mainboards, etc. As OEMs won't be able to support every potential configuration a user may want.

    Again probably not a problem for most. But would have been a problem while I was building my HTPC/WHS machine. Only needed a budget CPU but needed a mainboard with LOTS of SATA ports and LOTS of PCIE slots. Which means I had to get a non-budget mainboard. A CPU and mainboard combination that may not exist if the CPU no longer comes in a socket.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  10. I.S.T.

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    389
    o_O What consumer level app takes nearly 3 gigs of RAM?!
     
  11. entity279

    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,264
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Romania
    Opera with a few tens of tabs would easily eat that :D.
     
  12. CouldntResist

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    7
    Opera 11.50 here. 13 windows, 80 tabs total, 700 MB.
     
  13. entity279

    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,264
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Romania
    Depends on the sites. I had one example of local "newspaper" site that was eating lots or RAM on Opera.


    But some programs tend to scale their memory usage with the size of available RAM (which is nice, ofc). So maybe that's what SB is experiencing. Looked to me that way in the very brief moments when my MB accepted a 32 gig config. New motherboard coming up now to fix that back.
     
  14. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,972
    Likes Received:
    3,217
    What!!! why on earth would you need 80 webpages open
     
  15. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    17,089
    Likes Received:
    6,429
    That particular example was for a usenet client. I've been using usenet since the mid-80's. :p And while it certainly is only a shadow of what it once was there's still some useful things there.

    Internet browsers are also another one. Both IE9 and Chrome have hit greater than 4 GB of memory used at times. Virtual size being significantly larger than that, and non-private working size being somewhere in between.

    The amount of memory taken is dependant on both the content of pages (lots of graphics = heavy memory useage as just one example out of many) and number of tabs. There's been times when I've had over 200 tabs open.

    BTW - system instability starts to set in if your browser's virtual memory size starts to approach or exceed your installed physical memory size. :D Happens with both Chrome and IE9 for me.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  16. CouldntResist

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    7
    Imagine your private garrage, always getting cluttered with stuff that "maybe" someday might be useful (or thrown out), but just not today. It's like queue, or buffer.

    Also, I default to flash plugin disabled, so videos are loaded only on my explicit requests. Maybe that keeps memory usage lower.
     
  17. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,693
    Likes Received:
    3,774
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    So you actually use windows and tabs as bookmarks? That sounds horribly inefficient.
     
  18. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,972
    Likes Received:
    3,217
    exactly as malo says and its the number, 80 pages (i could understand a few) , do you not close a page after youve read it
     
  19. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,365
    Likes Received:
    3,955
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    Regardless of the reasons for tab usage, it's not likely that Intel would significantly weigh production decisions worth tens to hundreds of millions of dollars a year on the maintenance of a few users' extra dozens of Opera tabs.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...