I'm a newbie and I pretty much couldn't keep up with what's going on...

...in today's 3D graphics world. Back when the GC, XB, and PS2 came out, I can still figure out most of the things they talk about. But now, I couldn't figure out what's the difference between a normal map and a bump map (I know what's a bump map, just can't tell the difference between it and normal map). All the new fancy lighting terms confuse me as well. And just what the heck is a shader? Whatever happened to the dictionary at Beyond3d.com? I could have sworn it was there. I looked through some of the terms but I haven't been able to read through everything before it was removed. Can someone educate me a bit in the world of 3D technology?

Oh yeah, can someone post pictures explaining shaders to me? I read about it on wikipedia, but I'm still a little foggy about it. All I know is that it has something to do with the way light is reflected off the surface of an object, but even that is probably not entirely accurate.

But now, I couldn't figure out what's the difference between a normal map and a bump map (I know what's a bump map, just can't tell the difference between it and normal map).
At the fundamental level, there really isn't any difference between them -- in that they're both accomplishing the same thing and the method is basically identical (though the way it's represented may not always be depending on how far back in history you look). When something is referred to as a "normal map", it usually just means that the information for that map came from the normals of a high-res mesh rather than from a "heightfield" image. Of course, nowadays, it seems people like to refer to all such maps as normal maps because it's the hot term and in the end, it does store normals in an image.

And just what the heck is a shader?