HD 5870 first impressions

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by Voxilla, Oct 3, 2009.

  1. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    6,470
    That's really curious thing - some put it being louder than HD4870X2 and what not, but then other sites are saying it's the most silent reference cooler ever :???:
     
  2. Voxilla

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    435
    You can see why that is in the Control Center under Overdrive.
    At idle and 2D desktop the GPU and memory are downclocked from 850Mhz / 1200 Mhz to 157 Mhz / 300 Mhz.
     
  3. Lightman

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,561
    Location:
    Torquay, UK
    My impression is that HD5870 is less noticeable than HD4870 I had before.
     
  4. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12,566
    Easily explained.

    Those that like to "play" furmark report high noise levels.

    Those that actually test in real applications and games report low noise levels. With regards to mine, it's quieter in games than either my 4870/512 or 4890. At least it's less noticeable. My PSU right now is the biggest noise generator, and it's a relatively quiet PSU. But going to replace it with a quieter one. It's over 4 years old now after all.

    And finally sold my 4870. Heh, glad people still like getting deals on older hardware.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  5. Sinistar

    Sinistar I LIVE
    Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    615
    Location:
    Indiana
    I have been playing Risen for hours, and the fan stays around 30%.

    Edit: that with the GPU overclocked to 900
     
  6. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    15,594
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    It's less noticeable than my 4870 or 4890. :yep2:
     
  7. psolord

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    437
    Has anyone of you guys, being using his Evergreen with a HDTV?
     
  8. Lightman

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,561
    Location:
    Torquay, UK
    Not yet! First I must put my computer back to new bigger case :lol:

    Going back to card loudness I've noticed that some models are using 1.125V for GPU under load (like mine Shappire) and other are using 1.165V under load. This might explain quite big variations between different reviews in power consumption tests under load ...
     
  9. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    13,989
    Location:
    O Canada!
    Actually, it does the opposite! We scale the voltage based on leakage, so the higher leakage parts use lower voltage and the lower leakage parts use a higher voltage - what this is does narrow the entire TDP range of the product.

    Everything is qualified at worst case anyway; all the TDP calcs and the fan settings are completed on the wors case for the product range.
     
  10. Alexko

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,900
    So the better parts are artificially made to draw more power?
     
  11. compres

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    553
    Location:
    Germany
    I guess so, but they would overclock higher.
     
  12. Voxilla

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    435
    Power is the product of current (including leakage) and voltage if I remember well.
    Maybe the higher voltage enables more overclocking or better reliability...
     
  13. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    13,989
    Location:
    O Canada!
    No, the nominal voltage is 1.165V, however the higher leakage parts do not need as much voltage to run at those speeds.
     
  14. Thowllly

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    551
    Location:
    Norway
    I'm not sure lower leakage means better part. If the lower leakage is due to thicker gate insulator, then the transistors might switch slower, and they'll actually need higher voltage to reach the same speed.
     
  15. Lightman

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,561
    Location:
    Torquay, UK
    What Dave is trying to say is that higher leakage parts needs less volts to reach target freq. In other words higher leakage = higher clocks at a cost of higher power consumption. It's like with AMD Phenom II TWKR edition, it is a very high leakage part, but it takes cold well and clocks exceptionally!

    So I'm paying a bit more from electricity thanks to my card, but I'm hitting 1GHz core FurMark stable at only 1.18V :twisted:

    Lower leakage wastes less electricity under same conditions (like 850MHz @1V) and also in power saving mode (but PP gating is so good on RV8xx that it probably makes really small difference anyway).


    BTW thank you Dave for clearing that up!
     
    #35 Lightman, Oct 5, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 5, 2009
  16. Andrew Lauritzen

    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,512
    Location:
    British Columbia, Canada
    I've been playing with a 5870 as well and it's quite an impressive card. In addition to just being really fast in normal rendering, the compute shader implementation seems pretty solid already. It's also a really nice way to develop graphics stuff compared to CUDA, etc. IMHO - no (horribly bad) interop penalty, no need to set up additional resource types or copy data, etc. It all just works with the graphics stuff you already have set up.
     
  17. Alexko

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,900
    OK I guess that makes sense. Thanks for clarifying that!
     
  18. Voxilla

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    435
    No you don't get it. Power (P) is the product of current (I) and voltage (V).
    So P = V * I.
    What Dave says it that they try took keep power consumption the same for all parts. So if there is more current draw because of leakage they reduce voltage to keep the same power consumption for all parts, and hence all parts need similar cooling for similar rendering loads.
    Leakage is something bad, with low leakage you can raise the voltage for same power consumption, and higher voltage enables higher clock frequency.
     
  19. MfA

    MfA
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,708
    Higher leakage part have thinner insulator layers ... which can run at reduced voltage while meeting the same timing requirements. Now obviously this isn't going to get you back to exactly the same power consumptions with the same timing margins, but you can claw some of the losses back.
     
  20. Tim

    Tim
    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Messages:
    874
    Location:
    Denmark
    Lightman is 100% right the reason the high leakage part has a lower voltage is because they don't need as high a voltage to reach the same clock speed.
     

Share This Page

Loading...