Fighting game network code requirements?

zurich

Kendoka
Veteran
Been thinking about the comments on how a deep fighting game like Virtua Fighter couldn't be done online due to the latency issues.

Well, I'm not a programmer, but I thought about the characteristics a bit versus a traditional 8-16+ player game (say, FPS or racing).

-A fighter would be 1 on 1, and would thus allow a larger packet stream per player (say, 10-15k) versus an FPS which tries to keep each box under 5k or so.
-Generally speaking, barring bad routing, typical p2p broadband anywhere in North America is ~100ms ping time. Could there be more aggressive pushlatency to drive this down to ~30ms?
-Many FPSs rely on hitscan characteristics for gameplay (counterstrike, ghost recon, some unreal weapons), whereas a fighter is based upon effective collision detection. Is this a problem?
-Would this larger theoretical 10-15k/sec network code be useful for driving down effective latencies and creating more advanced prediction?

Anyhow, this is a genre I'd like to see go online. Perhaps some of the coder-types here like DemoCoder, ERP, Faf, or Archie could drop some insight into the issue.

Well, Capcom vs SNK 2 is an online Xbox title when it's released later this year. However, it probably isn't as demanding as a 3D fighter as far as data goes ;)

Thie internet is just a bad system for games.
It's designed for high bandwidth at the cost of latency.

You can play a fighting game over a direct 2400 baud modem connection with minimal latency, by restricting the data sent to include only joystick data and a clock pulse. FWIW Genesis/SNES Street fighter were both playable (I lost many a game) over x-band with a decent phone connection.

You just can't do the same thing over an internet connection, the lack of guaranteed delivery or for that matter in order delivery at reasonable latencies prevents the approach.