esram astrophysics *spin-off*

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by astrograd, Aug 3, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BRiT

    BRiT Verified (╯°□°)╯
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    15,974
    Likes Received:
    14,929
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Yes, and that question was explicitly about bottlenecks and eSRAM, seems pretty clear what was being asked. Let's look at what the article says "I asked him if Capy had noticed any performance bottlenecks while working on the Xbox One. Specifically Microsoft’s use of ESRAM."
     
  2. Mianca

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    19
    Yeah, but it ultimately does come down to what many people here said: If your game doesn't push the hardware that much anyway, i.e. does not require much more than the basic ~68MB/s DDR3 memory speed to start with, the eSRAM bandwidth is just an additional "icing-on-the-cake" option to optimize your game to run even better.

    It's when devs really push the hardware / explicitly NEED that additional eSRAM bandwidth for their games to run properly when things get more interesting ...

    70mph speed limit doesn't bother you when you're driving a truck that tops out at 65mph anyway ... which isn't to say that driving a truck can't still be a lot fun ;)
     
  3. Brad Grenz

    Brad Grenz Philosopher & Poet
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Oregon
    Yeah, and it's pretty clear that he answered their simple 2D game would never encounter any such bottlenecks if they exist.
     
  4. dobwal

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    5,435
    Likes Received:
    1,497
    The bottleneck is the bandwidth related to DDR3. If eSRAM is too small then that means you have to deal with the bandwidth to off chip RAM and exposing a bottleneck on that end.
     
  5. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,063
    Likes Received:
    2,675
    Developers are starting to use the eSRAM.

    One of the developers of Project Cars has commented that they have started with the port of the game for the Xbox One and he has also shown some images. One of the pictures showed that the game was running at 15fps, but he said that's pretty normal at this point of development.

    Here is a snippet. (thanks l_Hell_l for sharing)


    CL334107 [Common/Renderer] Xbox One - use Title managed resources for deferred contexts - improves significantly multi-threading performance over PC DX11.
    CL334142 [Common/Renderer] Xbox One, bump binary mesh format version number
    CL334144 [Common/Renderer] Xbox One - add ESRAM support markup to Texture/Target interfaces. enable ESRAM on envmaps,rvm and phase 1 and 3 main render-targets.
    CL333745 [Common/Renderer] DX11 - fix for Device permanently locked on VBDecl creation failure. XB1 - add device creation flags for PIX to function in debug builds
    CL333774 [Common/Environment] Xbox One - SSE2 paths for Environment Manager colour cube generation (+fix RGB order, fixing FE blueness)
    CL333796 [Common/GraphicsEngine] Xbox One - damage renderable fixes
    CL333797 [Common/Renderer] Xbox One Deferred Rendering Helper fixes
    CL333804 [Common/Common.srcdata] fixup a few shader paths to work correctly with Xbox One.
    CL333818 [Common/Appsupport] Xbox One - do damagetick in same place as PC

    I've got a few more fixes locally, that need testing on PC - however the Front End is now running without any rendering errors on Xbox One.


    The "resources" mentioned at the very beginning could be related to the Tiled resources?
     
    #305 Cyan, Nov 15, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 15, 2013
  6. Gipsel

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,620
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    You mean Project Cars developers. All others with games close to launch do this already of course.
    He means all resources, not only tiled ones (which they probably don't use at this stage).
     
  7. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,063
    Likes Received:
    2,675
    I mention those developers in particular because there is evidence they are using it, hence I decided to share.

    Reading posts from you and others I reached the conclusion that unlike the EDRAM on the Xbox 360, Xbox One's eSRAM is not mandatory to use at all.

    I think 3dilettante, you, sebbbi, ERP, and even Shifty, etc defined it as a scratchpad memory, which means -among other things- that it is an independent memory which doesn't need the DDR3.

    What you say about them not using Tiled resources "at this stage" is interesting because it implies they might use them later on during development. I hope it becomes common practice. But I could be guessing wrong and that's not what you meant.
     
  8. SlimJim

    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Correct. The 68GB/sec total bandwidth of the main ram, is also used for the CPU, which uses about 30GB/sec.
    Rendering modern graphics with only 38GB/sec bandwidth.. Imagine that. They would be advertising forza 5 as a graphical benchmark because of it running at 720P/60fps.
    Games with complex ingame shaders and lighting would not be able to hit that.
    So yes, every current game is using the eSRAM
     
  9. bkilian

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,539
    Likes Received:
    3
    No, it _can_ use 30GB/s. I would be very surprised if it used even a tenth of that on an average frame.
     
  10. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    17,098
    Likes Received:
    6,453
    Eh? The GPU can use all 68 GB/s. Or 50 or 40 or 55 or 63 or... I'd be surprised if the CPU uses anywhere near 30 GB/s the majority of the time.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  11. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,063
    Likes Received:
    2,675
    I think it will use bandwidth on demand, so to speak.

    To me the most interesting thing about the eSRAM, bandwidth aside, is the potential of low latency. I mean that it could easily impact the framerate of games in very positive ways.

    From Digital Foundry's interview with the architects of the console:

    http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/digitalfoundry-the-complete-xbox-one-interview

    The word "Everything" is he key here to me, it means that if some conditions are right -framebuffer within eSRAM capabilities- the framerate could literally fly.
     
  12. SlimJim

    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would you also be very surprised if the resulting games didn't have framestalls, low framerates and microstutter quite often and consistently?
     
  13. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    43,577
    Likes Received:
    16,029
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    At no point has anyone working on XB1 explained what advantages come with low latency. No-one has even quantified what 'low latency' is. Without clarification I think you're being overly optimistic. Certainly right conditions causing framerates to 'fly' seems like wishful thinking. Right conditions and optimal use would see a small percentage increase, given workloads that cannot be decoupled from other high-latency components. I would rate a 20% improvement in framerates due to low latency ESRAM as phenomenally good. Bare in mind that massive latency has been a 'solved' problem for decades via use of cache, so situations where latency is an issue, although present, are not going to be numerous. If that were the case, computer design would have had a paradigm shift as engineers discovered cache solutions were incapable of keeping the functional silicon active for any decent amount of time.
     
  14. warb

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,057
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    I think Bkilian means the CPU won't restrict DDR3 bandwidth by nearly half, because it generally won't need anywhere near 30GB/s.
     
  15. SlimJim

    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was just stating that if you don't take into account that the CPU needs bandwidth as well, you will find yourself with big performance issues. Luckily, we have the ESRAM to help with that. Thinking that some current, early games might not be using ESRAM at all, should fall into the wishful thinking category.
     
  16. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,063
    Likes Received:
    2,675
    That's pretty interesting...

    You have been saying that the eSRAM is cache, and latency is solved by using a cache, so why the eSRAM couldn't help with that? :smile2:

    I read here that the eSRAM is like 0.4% of the system memory, and that is appallingly low and contrasts strikingly with the total amount of memory.

    However, both VGLEAKS documents and the hardware architects emphasised low latency as a key design of the console. :smile2:

    The documents say clearly that some great benefits of the 32MB eSRAM are related to latency in preference to bandwidth, and that would be smart given the figures we have at hand with the Xbox One. :smile2:

    For instance, X360's EDRAM buffer has 256GB/S of bandwidth, which is an immense amount of bandwidth, even if only for a relatively small amount of storage.

    We don't know the figures of latency of the Xbox 360, nor Xbox One. But I think the ESRAM was meant for this especially when you consider that the PS4 could go with 1TB/s of bandwidth if they wanted to.

    Microsoft took this approach, but decided to go with less bandwidth. Theory? Latency was preferential compared to bandwidth? :smile2:
     
  17. Betanumerical

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,697
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    In the land of the drop bears
    I couldn't find anything on GCN, nor the consoles. But there are latency figures mentioned for the HD6000 here.

    http://www.sisoftware.co.uk/?d=qa&f=gpu_mem_latency&l=en&a=b

    It would seem to me that the purpose of most GPU caches is to help with bandwidth more then latency, as the caches seem to have only ~1/2 the latency of the memory but far more bandwidth. If GCN and both the consoles have comparable latency, then would be 'low latency' for the eSRAM?. the same latency as the caches? less? more?.
     
  18. Pixel

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    472
    check out the wording Boyd Multerer uses:
    [​IMG]

    Regarding cache latency.

    " Having the right data in the right caches at all the right time makes all the difference in the world [for this architecture]"
     
  19. bkilian

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,539
    Likes Received:
    3
    There is almost nothing the CPU would be doing that would require any sustained use of 30GB/s bandwidth. It's not like the CPU is generating giant fractals or something. These CPUs have relatively large caches.
    Behaviours that would result in large bandwidth use, like a recursive read-modify-write on a very large and changing dataset is really the domain of the GPU. Not even the AI or Physics loop would be that much of a drain on bandwidth, until you get to many many thousands of objects being updated, and even then you could optimize that by utilizing the caches and loading objects that could affect each other in groups.
     
  20. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,063
    Likes Received:
    2,675
    I have been reading that article and I learnt some new things.

    Fellow forumers have been trying to find out the differences between AMD's GPUs on the PC and their console counterparts.

    And according to this article the thing is that the Xbox One differs from the GCN architecture. Whether the differences imply good or bad news, you can find them here:

    </H3>

    http://www.extremetech.com/gaming/147577-xbox-720-gpu-detailed-merely-a-last-gen-radeon
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...