Crysis 2 being re-designed for GTX580

Discussion in 'Graphics and Semiconductor Industry' started by Ancient, Nov 5, 2010.

  1. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,267
    Likes Received:
    1,783
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    What are you two talking about? How is Allan involved in this thread? :???:
     
  2. no-X

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,298
    Likes Received:
    247
    Their intention (and reason of the delay) is to make it more demanding... :)
     
  3. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    Tesselation, possibly bokeh DOF, more samples, possibly better precision for some effects. The post-process effects being same res as framebuffer in 'very high' mode is what has biggest perfomance impact (godrays). Both fully visible godrays and subtle godrays drains perfomance and even more with MSAA enabled. Fillrate rape in it's finest form.


    Anyway said this due to new Nvidia GPU techdemo:

    http://forum.beyond3d.com/showpost.php?p=1491199&postcount=414
     
  4. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    Perfect, that is with other words called taking use of modern hardware.
     
  5. no-X

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,298
    Likes Received:
    247
    Is it? Shouldn't be new features used to make the games run better, not worse? :???:
     
  6. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,153
    Likes Received:
    928
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    Maybe instead of making the game run better, the new features make the game look better.
     
  7. Squilliam

    Squilliam Beyond3d isn't defined yet
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,495
    Likes Received:
    113
    Location:
    New Zealand
    So long as the features are not IHV restricted I guess they are ok. :)
     
  8. Sxotty

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,891
    Likes Received:
    344
    Location:
    PA USA
    The problem is the performance and looks did not seem right. The performance was terrible, but the incremental increase in looks did not support it. Who knows though maybe now it will work better. I was always more annoyed that crysis did not scale well with new hardware.
     
  9. I.S.T.

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    389
    Because Crysis is very CPU dependent... It's going to have that problem until the next full generation(Instead of a refresh) after Sandy Bridge and Bulldozer.
     
  10. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    Not really. Crysis is limited to only using 2 threads thus more threads/cores is unused. Why an E6600 performs the same as a Q6600 with Crysis assuming both got same system components. Now anyway if target is 30-60fps it is GPU depedant but if target is locked 60fps then it is CPU depedant due to inefficiency that cannot be corrected unless next CPUs just achieves more per MHz as only 2 threads/cores will be used no mather what. That said for 30fps or better an E6600 is enough for v.h .

    Crysis as a benchmark for CPUs/locked 60fps target mark is ridicolous and worthless. We need to wait for Crysis 2/CE3 to have a benchmark engine that fully utilises hardware from 2006 to this date as CE2 doesn't.
     
  11. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,457
    Likes Received:
    580
    Location:
    WI, USA
    Hopefully they have figured out how to really multithread their engine. I'm sure they've put a ton of work into it considering the consoles.
     
  12. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    Crytek said CE3 will use upto 8 threads so that is good.
     
  13. Mize

    Mize 3dfx Fan
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,048
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
    So does this mean the 580 will rock at Cry2 but still chug on crysis 1 at hires and max settings?

    Now that would be funny.
     
  14. Svensk Viking

    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    61
    But didn't they also say that Crysis 1 would be best on quad cores?

    I hope what they say is true tho
     
  15. Squilliam

    Squilliam Beyond3d isn't defined yet
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,495
    Likes Received:
    113
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Well if Windows uses core 1 then it leaves core 2 and 3 available for the game, right?
     
  16. Sxotty

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,891
    Likes Received:
    344
    Location:
    PA USA
    IT would be more than funny, it will be hilarious. I actually hope that is the case though. Crysis just never really got where it needed to be, Nebula may think that 30 fps is groovy, but I want 60 :/
     
  17. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,153
    Likes Received:
    928
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    Crysis 2 may be be less demanding than Crysis 1 since it has to run on consoles.
     
  18. Mize

    Mize 3dfx Fan
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,048
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
    So it will look worse than Crysis 1 and Warhead but really, really bumpy!

    :)
     
  19. Squilliam

    Squilliam Beyond3d isn't defined yet
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,495
    Likes Received:
    113
    Location:
    New Zealand
    But Nebby poo only has a 4890 whilst you are looking at dual 6990 cards if I recall correctly from another thread. You have to understand that his cards are simply not as capable as yours...
     
  20. green.pixel

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,830
    Likes Received:
    295
    Location:
    Europe
    It won't be surprising considering that it's in the city setting this time, which should make make it considerably less power hungry.

    Yes, and they lied.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...