CryptoCurrency Mining with GPUs *spawn*

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by CarstenS, Jun 1, 2017.

  1. mrcorbo

    mrcorbo Foo Fighter
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    2,976
    Likes Received:
    1,261
    Did you think I made it up?

    Whattomine

    And yes, what you mine today could be worth less at some future time. Kind of redundant to say it, though, when the original statement was expressing uncertainty. It *may* also stay roughly the same. Now all bases are covered.
     
  2. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    16,582
    Likes Received:
    1,183
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
  3. zed

    zed
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,088
    Likes Received:
    451
  4. A1xLLcqAgt0qc2RyMz0y

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    146
    #744 A1xLLcqAgt0qc2RyMz0y, Feb 13, 2018 at 3:57 AM
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2018 at 6:40 PM
    digitalwanderer likes this.
  5. mrcorbo

    mrcorbo Foo Fighter
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    2,976
    Likes Received:
    1,261
    The profitability numbers changed from when I looked at them earlier.

    Whattomine is the site most often referenced on the various forums and reddits I've been on. It's fairly comprehensive in the coins it tracks, you can see exactly where they derive their numbers from (which exchange's price they are basing their $ conversion on, etc.) and it shows how the various factors that determine profitability are trending. This is useful since you might not want to point your miners at a coin that became super-profitable if the only reason it became profitable is the network hashrate just dropped 70%.
     
  6. Pressure

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    154
    Finally managed to get my VEGA Frontier Edition chugging along at 2050H/s at 1408 MHz (890mV) core and 1100 MHz HBM (870mV).

    Long story short, download DDU, Adrenalin and Blockchain driver.
    1st run DDU which removes all graphic card drivers. It should automatically reboot.
    2nd install Adrenalin driver and reboot.
    3rd run regedit and search for “CrossFire”. Change value to “0” for CrossFireLink and Ulps. Reboot and verify changes.
    4th open Device Manager and update drivers on the VEGA FE with Blockchain driver. Verify in Device Manager that it says 8.8. 2017 as driver.
    5th disable graphic card and re-enable.
    6th run OverDriveNTool and apply your settings.
    7th run miner.

    Rinse and repeat at EVERY restart :p
     
    Lightman likes this.
  7. A1xLLcqAgt0qc2RyMz0y

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    146
    You should not have to do all those steps at each reboot just steps 5 through 7.
     
    BRiT likes this.
  8. entity279

    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    317
    Location:
    Romania
    and 5, 6, 7 could be executed by a single script
     
    BRiT likes this.
  9. zed

    zed
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,088
    Likes Received:
    451
    Fair enuf, I realize its volatile
    One thing to keep in mind though is with that page it only tells you how much the GPU's consume

    I just had a google for what the system consumes
    https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1851579.0
    whattomine.com only considers power usgae of 600watts

    whattomine.com only considers power usgae of 720watts

    Thus actual Power usage in reality is a fair bit higher than what whattomine.com reports. Also theres also the fee one must pay from converting your cryptocurrency into dollars.
    I just can't ee why anyone(*) bothers unless they go fullout with 1000s of GPU's

    (*)Exceptions for ppl in 3rd world countries or I suppose children also, who could use it as some pocketmoney.
     
  10. mrcorbo

    mrcorbo Foo Fighter
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    2,976
    Likes Received:
    1,261
    Personally, I do this because it's free money from hardware I already own (a sunk cost) using power I'd be using anyway to heat the room the PC is in. I've already mostly funded an entire second PC via cryptocurrency I've mined (paid like $200 out of pocket) and have since accumulated enough to be 1/2 way to a 1080ti (if they ever get back to MSRP) or whatever makes the most sense at the time I accumulate enough to actually purchase something. If values go down from here, this takes longer. If they go up it happens sooner. Either way it's a free upgrade.
     
  11. Pressure

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    154
    Unfortunately the current beta Blockchain drivers does not correctly identify the FE after it has been disabled. So you need this workaround to enable the compute “switch”.

    Otherwise you are stuck at 1520 H/s.
     
  12. Pressure

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    154
    Yeah, could run JJs script but some times the undervolt values doesn’t stick.

    If you hover the mouse over the GPU selection button the tooltip tells you the settings needed to obtain those measurements.

    It also goes the other way, my VEGA FE under load only consumes 150 Watt more than idle but is listed as 200 Watt but only 1850 H/s (VEGA 64).

    Perhaps difference in ASIC quality and binning.
     
    #752 Pressure, Feb 15, 2018 at 12:45 PM
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2018 at 1:01 PM
  13. entity279

    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    317
    Location:
    Romania
    I found whattomine numbers to be conservative wrt hashrates (almost always managed to 'beat' those numbers) . On the other hand, I usually draw more power doing so. Perhaps @ocminer doesn't measure power from the wall like I do or he has the pacience (and luck !) to reach really low voltages, which I haven't bothered all that much with.

    But in whattomine you can always imput your own hashrates and your own power draws, so just use that for better estimates, ppl
     
  14. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    8,402
    Likes Received:
    3,041
    What fan speed are you running at, to keep the 1100MHz HBM below 80ºC?
     
  15. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    8,402
    Likes Received:
    3,041
    Yes, but the low amount of L3 cache for the CPU cores and low memory bandwidth available for the iGPU doesn't make it a stellar miner:

    http://www.legitreviews.com/amd-ryzen-5-2400g-mining-performance-nicehash-xmr-stak_202662

    270 H/s (90H/s per cpu + 90H/s GPU) at 68W. Any Ryzen with 16MB L3 will get considerably better results. Even the Ryzen 5 1500X can probably do over 400 H/s by using 4MB L3 per core.
     
    CarstenS likes this.
  16. A1xLLcqAgt0qc2RyMz0y

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    146
    I wonder if this 50% overclock on the Vega 8 along with using the Blockchain driver would get much better numbers. I looks like the above review did not use the Blockchain driver.

    https://wccftech.com/amd-ryzen-3-2200g-vega-8-overclocked-1600mhz-performance

    As you noted with only 4MB L3 cache two threads is all you can run so the Ryzen 3 2200g at $99 would be a better than the 2400g.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...