Could there be any PS3 games with no AA?

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by superguy, Feb 22, 2006.

  1. ninzel

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,606
    Likes Received:
    6
    I guess it could depend on the game type.In a racing game I would be more concerned with 60FPS and probably wouldn't notice a lack of AA at speeds. In a FPS game which would be slower and more methodical, I could stand 30PFS and would notice jaggies as I'm slowly examining things and making my way through the game world.
     
  2. rounin

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    20
    I think the reason I noticed was because I was expectin a lot out of PGR3. Probably adding to the disappointment was the fact that the effects and motion blurring still didn't quite get rid of the loss of sense of speed when one limits the FPS to 30FPS. Compared with GT4, the sense of speed just wasnt there (seriously you have to look at the speed meter to tell you're going fast :roll: whereas in any 60fps racer you definitely don't) and then it looked just as bad as GT4 did in terms of aliasing and shimmering. Right next to it was Toca 3 which had almost no shimmering (but most likely being run on a CRT had a lot to do with this) and was running (from what I could tell) a solid 60fps with tons more cars...on a PS2.
     
  3. booomups

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    ah........ toca........ loved part 2 on ps. the old one.

    but when you say such good things about aps2 game i ll have too look at it
     
  4. function

    function None functional
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    5,268
    Likes Received:
    2,595
    Location:
    Wrong thread
    I've found that 60 fps vs 30fps does nothing to change the sense of speed I get when playing a game. If anything, I'd say smoother feels slower (nicer sense of motion too, btw). Things like FOV and blurring (like on Moto GP 2 on the Xbox) do change the sense of speed though.
     
  5. scooby_dooby

    Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    8,563
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    E-town, Alberta
    lol, I would say the exact opposite. On my 46" Kameo looks flawless, but condemned has a few jaggies.

    Where exactly do you see jaggies in Kameo?
     
  6. ihamoitc2005

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,181
    Likes Received:
    15
    60fps

    Developer says TOCA3 is 60fps also on old Xbox. Very impressive because not so many "big" Xbox racing game have 60fps no? I feel codemaster is great developer. Also TOCA3 is very amazing game design because of many different race type.

    Also I think PGR3 developer likes 30fps because customer is like arcade fan not so much simulator fan so frame-rate is not so important. 30fps has 2x power for render so I think they make this choice for maximum effects.
     
  7. rosman

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    France
    Has the level of AA in GRAW been mentionned somewhere ?? Seems to be 4x msaa from screenshots. Good to see the most impressive game so far will be jaggie free...
     
  8. groper

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Attica Land
    From what i can see 4xAA won't be a problem for engines builded from the ground for xbox. GRAW single player is confirmed 4XAA and Fullauto also has 4xAA.
    But i cant say the same for ported engines like Burnout and FarCry.
     
  9. !eVo!-X Ant UK

    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    3
    I beg to differ, the PS3 method is the same as PC have been doing AA for years, were as 360 use's tileing. I would imagine there's more work to implement it on 360.
     
  10. nintenho

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,002
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Cupertino, California
    I remember Super Smash Brothers Melee having that option. I once saw this one hour long video of a East Coast versus West Coast tournament and it looked like they turned the anti-aliasing off.....of course I may have been imagining thiins since the video was low resolution anyways.:razz:
     
  11. Nemo80

    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    3
    Right now there are only 2 games on the 360 that use 2xAA. That's condemned and DoA.

    PGR,PDZ,KAMEO etc. do NOT use any sort of AA (or AF), in fact PGR is the one that has worst shimmering of all my 360 games (because of the non HDTV resolution that is useD), whereas CoD seems to shimmer least.

    GRAW is NOT using any AA as well (nor AF)! And please don't come posting any non ingame screenshots with some 10xSSAA applied to 'em...
     
  12. nintenho

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,002
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Cupertino, California
    what is AF and what does it do?
     
  13. Nemo80

    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    3
    Anisotropic Filtering: Makes your textures look sharp in a distance, when angles become very small (e.g. markings on a street etc...)
     
  14. nintenho

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,002
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Cupertino, California
    How necessary is it?
     
  15. Farid

    Farid Artist formely known as Vysez
    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3,844
    Likes Received:
    108
    Location:
    Paris, France
    It's no more "necessary" than any other filtering technology, it's just that it improves the IQ (Image Quality) of the rendered frame.
    Without Anisotropic Filtering the Mip-Mapped textured surfaces seem blurry in the distance.
     
  16. Jabjabs

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Actually it is only switching on and off the interlacing blending.
     
  17. rounin

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    20
    Ok Good so its not just me.:shock:
     
  18. DarkRage

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Spain
    Looking at the last pictures, GRAW is using FSAA x2 but not in HDR (at least not with bloom).

    You can find them here:
    http://www.jeux-france.com/news14701_ghost-recon-sur-xbox-360-en-video.html

    Clear example, in the chopper frame
    http://www.jeux-france.com/images13_4_14701.html
    and
    http://www.jeux-france.com/images14_4_14701.html

    I would say they are using some basic AF, like x4.
    Anyhow, the new lighting engine looks amazing, I can't wait for it.
     
  19. rosman

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    France
    #79 rosman, Feb 27, 2006
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 27, 2006
  20. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    21,575
    Likes Received:
    7,120
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    You could just the link to the picture as "suggested" in the rules. :wink:
     
    Farid likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...