Board and Chip Comparison Tables

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by Dave Baumann, Jan 4, 2004.

  1. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,090
    Likes Received:
    694
    Location:
    O Canada!
  2. Tim Murray

    Tim Murray the Windom Earle of mobile SOCs
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,278
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA
    NV35 used DDR2? my first reaction.

    Core code seems to work--jeez, that will be handy.
     
  3. arjan de lumens

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    gjethus, Norway
    R100 is 30 million transistors.

    NV31 is listed twice, once as 2x2 and once as 4x1 - which one is it? And isn't NV34 PS/VS 2.0 'extended' ?
     
  4. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    18,178
    Likes Received:
    2,791
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    What does "PS2.0 Extended" mean? What's the difference 'tween it and normal PS2.0?
     
  5. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,090
    Likes Received:
    694
    Location:
    O Canada!
    No, the chip chart is for the capabilities of the chip, not necessarily what is used at the board level. Click the Chip Codename link for further details on the chip and a list of boards - click on a board to see the details of the board (alternatively go to the board comparison chart and click on a board name for more board details).

    The code is mainly what I'm testing at the moment (although I do need input on the details), hopefully it will have a number of uses.

    Thanks.

    Its listed twice because there is a Wirebond and Flipchip version. The 4x1/2x2 thing is because I entered them at different times and I'd changed my view on them during that time! They are slightly tricky to classify as much of the time they will operate as a 2x2, even though they are 4x1 in some circumstances.

    PS/VS 2.0 'Extended' is the extended model MS added to expose more of FX's shader functionality - increased instruction lengths, branching etc.
     
  6. Mendel

    Mendel Mr. Upgrade
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Finland
    If NV cards (or by the original pr spec: ps2.0+) are listed as ps2 extended, then shouldn't Ati R350 be listed as ps2 extended extended (ps2.0++ by original pr spec) :D
     
  7. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,090
    Likes Received:
    694
    Location:
    O Canada!
    NV3x has the capabilities to expose the PS/VS2.0 Extended model - R3x0 exposes only PS/VS2.0 in terms of DX shader caps.
     
  8. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    18,178
    Likes Received:
    2,791
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    It makes the FX sound more advanced than the radeon in it's PS/VS capabilities though, and I thought that wasn't the case....am I wrong again?
     
  9. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,090
    Likes Received:
    694
    Location:
    O Canada!
    The NV3x shader models do have a greater level of functionality than R3x0. There are other elements that DX9 exposes that R3x0 is capable of where NV3x is not, however these are not necessarily related to the PS/VS2.0 / 2.0 Extended shader models.
     
  10. MistaPi

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Norway
    I think it is a great idea. This will indeed come in handy.
    Thanx dave. :)
     
  11. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    18,178
    Likes Received:
    2,791
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    Thanks, that's the nicest I've been told I was wrong in a loooong time! :lol:
     
  12. horvendile

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sweden
    Great stuff!
    I've bookmarked a few of the existing summaries on other sites. I knew I just should've waited for the B3D incarnation...! :D
     
  13. Fox5

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Messages:
    3,674
    Likes Received:
    5
    Doesn't the R350(or is it 60?) support unlimited shader lengths?(at way reduced speeds)
     
  14. snk

    snk
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Finland
    The RV200 is 30 million transistors as well.
     
  15. AlphaWolf

    AlphaWolf Specious Misanthrope
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,276
    Likes Received:
    1,456
    Location:
    Treading Water
    If you sort by memory bit width it seems a bit confused by the (64xX).

    Also I think the memory type sorts should put the ddrII/ddr chips at the top followed by ddrII then the ddr chips. But that might just be me. ;)
     
  16. snk

    snk
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Finland
    NV15 was also manufactured in 0,15 µm process for the Geforce 2 Ti. It had a core clock of 250 MHz and a memory clock of 200 MHz.

    Another little correction: The chip in the GF2 Ultra was NV16, although it had no architechtural differences from (0,18 µm) NV15 (like NV35 and NV38). GF2 Ultra had a memory clock of 230 MHz, not 250 MHz.

    Edit: And 3dfx Avenger had 8 million transistors
     
  17. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,090
    Likes Received:
    694
    Location:
    O Canada!
    The R350 & R360 does have the capability in hardware for unlimited shader lengths via the F-Buffer but there is no way of exposing it through DX at the moment (and they haven't yet exposed it in OpenGL either).

    Ta, updated.

    Bus width sorting should be fixed. Not sure what to do with the memory type sorting since its just done through MySQL alphabetical ordering - I could translate them to a number, but that would be extra processing.
     
  18. snk

    snk
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Finland
    About the code:

    Two last chips seem to be always left out. Eg. When I sort by name, they are NV10 and Avenger, and when I sort by manufacturer, they are STG4500 and STG4800.
     
  19. John Reynolds

    John Reynolds Ecce homo
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,490
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Westeros
    I would change the release date of the VSA-100 chips to Q2 of 2000. The V5 review unit, one of the initial 15 I believe were sent out, I didn't receive until mid- to late May IIRC.
     
  20. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,090
    Likes Received:
    694
    Location:
    O Canada!
    Are you looking on the next page?
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...