Archive Thread of Screenshots of Ridunkulous Quality and Size [2007-2015]

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by Neb, May 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    Nice pics ION!

    NFS:Shift, 1680x1050, max settings, a few mods for TOD/LOD/specator removal etc, 8xMSAA/TSAA 16xAF, 60fps. Replay and ingame racing though both modes got same graphics/effects except dynamic DOF in replay.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
  3. Squilliam

    Squilliam Beyond3d isn't defined yet
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,495
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I wonder how the above would compare to the recently released GT5?
     
  4. ion

    ion

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    graphic wise, GT5 premium cars are better modeled, thats pretty much it.
     
  5. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    Well technically it is obviously far superior and visually it looks closer to the photmode shots or even near equal while ingame in GT5 looks far worse. But much expected since it is PC version and being multiplatform game it was made with 30fps as framerate target on consoles. They improved things for PC version and obviously it runs faster at higher res etc.
     
  6. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    Maybe in photomode but ingame/replay it is hard to see differences in geometry. Shifts cars have 40-80k polygons including wheels/rims and same LOD is used for replay, racing, menu. I would think GT5 ingame cars (based on GT5 shots) are around that mark to just like Forza 3 is. What though sets it apart is the much greater (and expensive) shading in Shift on cars.

    Heres some older Shift screenshots I've taken.
    http://forum.beyond3d.com/showpost.php?p=1444660&postcount=1440
    http://forum.beyond3d.com/showpost.php?p=1444661&postcount=1441

    http://forum.beyond3d.com/showpost.php?p=1445616&postcount=1446
    http://forum.beyond3d.com/showpost.php?p=1445617&postcount=1447

    http://forum.beyond3d.com/showpost.php?p=1464553&postcount=1568
    http://forum.beyond3d.com/showpost.php?p=1464951&postcount=1569


    Like these compilations I made of DLC cars some time ago.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    But you can chose 3 different daytimes to race in. Here is Laguna Seca in all 3 daytimes. All cars in my shots are also default games car LODs and skins (use games factory color option) unless in some older shots where I had highres skins with text etc.

    http://img529.imageshack.us/img529/6922/shiftdawn4.jpg
    http://img528.imageshack.us/img528/7048/shiftmidday5.jpg
    http://img508.imageshack.us/img508/6745/shiftdusk.jpg

    Anyway Shift PC is pretty but NFS:HP 2010 on PC takes it IMO and cars have much higher polygon amount.
    [​IMG]
     
    #1646 Neb, Nov 25, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 25, 2010
  7. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    Some more with same settings (1680x1050 8xMSAA etc). 2 cars get love at Laguna Seca during racing. Better to take screenshots like this as shots when in motion makes surfaces have motionblur and for Shift it only works to it's disadvantage considering how good the quality is.

    I hope Shift 2 pushes visuals even more on PC while adding more content and disabled content like pits etc.

    6 screenshots from Laguna Seca at dawn and 6 at dusk.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
  9. almighty

    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    5
    Grrrrrr at Crysis............. Game runs faster in DX10 but whats pissing me off is that Adaptive AA doesn't get applied in DX10 mode, Only works in DX9.

    The game looks amazing with 8xMSAA+TSAA in DX9 mode, Crossfire scaling is killing it for me though :(

    Has anyone managed to get Adaptive AA working in DX10? Or know of any drivers that do??
     
  10. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    Dont think so.
     
  11. ion

    ion

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
  12. neliz

    neliz GIGABYTE Man
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,904
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the know
    It must be really wet there
     
  13. ion

    ion

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
  14. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    Fallout New vegas. 1680x1050, 4xMSAA/TSAA max settings with custom config (same as I use for fallout 3). Also moved over texture mods from F3 (some works with NV) and that is all, rest is vanilla. Runs good at 40-60fps with rare ocassion down to 35fps (G15 LCD display shows FRAPS framerate). Oh yeah I also used the darker nights mod, darker interiors aswell as '4GB fix' mod to allow 4GB of RAM to be used else game would crash reaching 2GB RAM limit.

    Looks good though between 10:00 and ~13:00 they have TOD set to a tad to bright and yellow for my taste but not so bad. Though I had to set gamma for game to 1.55 going outside of slider range or else it would have looked way to bright.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  15. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
  16. Jedi2016

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ion, are those screens from Hot Pursuit?
     
  17. ion

    ion

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    yes.
     
  18. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    Some more Fallout New Vegas screenshots. Same settings as my previous FNV screenshots.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  19. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    2 screenshots from BFBC2 with new mappack. Same settings as my previous BFBC2 screenshots.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  20. Squilliam

    Squilliam Beyond3d isn't defined yet
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,495
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    New Zealand
    So is there a 69xx or GTX 5xx in our Nebulas future? :lol:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...