AMD Vega 10, Vega 11, Vega 12 and Vega 20 Rumors and Discussion

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by ToTTenTranz, Sep 20, 2016.

  1. Leier

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    22
    I agree. But then I don't understand why there is no support in the current driver. If it is such an important feature, this part of the driver should be working properly for at least 2-3 months.
     
  2. Rys

    Rys Moderator
    Moderator Veteran Alpha

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    4,167
    Likes Received:
    1,474
    Location:
    Beyond3D HQ
    Maxwell TBR has been enabled for a long time before the tool David used existed, debugging or not.
     
  3. 3D0SH

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    4
    Just few quotes from Raja AMA to remind you about few things:

    Make of that what you will :)
     
  4. no-X

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,338
    Likes Received:
    298
    It was advertised as a feature of Vega architecture, but it's quite common, that not all features are enabled on all products. E.g. GCN / Pascal supports half-speed FP64, but many products have this feature disabled (by hardware or software). AMD didn't release any technical presentation of Vega FE. In fact they avoided to state, that FE supports TBR.
     
  5. kalelovil

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    95
    Although I doubt there will be major changes in a product launched a mere month from now, there is precedence for AMD products shipping with hardware features disabled.

    Recall Bonaire. XDMA Crossfire, TrueAudio & non-DisplayPort triple-monitor were all features of the silicon but weren't enabled until the 260X launched 6 months after the 7790. However, those were niche features.
     
  6. Digidi

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    107
    Her is the Radeon Vega Frontier Edtion
    http://pro.radeon.com/en-us/product/radeon-vega-frontier-edition/

     
    DavidGraham and no-X like this.
  7. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,944
    Likes Received:
    2,288
    Location:
    Germany

    Cache hitrate is a valid point, yes. But on a single-colored full screen quad as many fillrate tests use (or 2x2 textures and the like), that would not be an issue at all contrary to more real-world applications.

    Exactly. Vega - as per the techreport quote earlier - seems to be able to switch back and forth between both rasterizers, thus showing no trace of binning if the traditional option is used (or - at your discretion - the DSBR is not enabled in the driver). If you don't want to implement both options in hardware though, you could have a kind of passthrough mode through your TBR, basically a compatibiility mode (for whatever reasons) where you do not bin and do not tile.

    For completeness sake, I never said you said. ;)
     
  8. Leier

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    22
    Lightman likes this.
  9. no-X

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,338
    Likes Received:
    298
    Lightman and Leier like this.
  10. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,701
    Likes Received:
    3,786
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
  11. TurpoUrpo

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    They dont say it's there for Frontier edition. But, in a month we will know ;)
     
    no-X likes this.
  12. looncraz

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    7
    Because you can have game compatibility issues, I'd imagine. I suspect this will be enabled on a per-game basis for quite some time before it becomes the primary method and the legacy method is used as a fallback for games which are known to have troubles.
     
    french toast likes this.
  13. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,944
    Likes Received:
    2,288
    Location:
    Germany
    LOL. It is based on Vega, but not on Vegas feature set. That would be a new dimension. Thinking GF4MX.
     
    Lightman and DavidGraham like this.
  14. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,701
    Likes Received:
    3,786
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Are you saying Frontier Edition's chip is completely different than RX Vega?
     
  15. DavidGraham

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    3,554
    All they did say that FreeSync was off. Besides, turning on V.Sync to hide comparative performance between you and your competitor is a new low.
    Rather the opposite, Vega FE must have TBR, because they are the same silicon.
     
  16. mczak

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,019
    Likes Received:
    115
    Albeit it has to be said the "shade once" part (i.e., HSR) cannot work with the UAV counter used in this code (as that's certainly a side effect which would change the rendered result). But that should work independently from the actual binning part I'd hope...
    (Maybe pipeline statistics queries would allow HSR, though I'm not even sure of that.)
    One possibility why binning may not be enabled could be that the driver disables it due to the UAV, even if it should not be necessary. Or maybe it's really just completely disabled for now.
     
  17. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,944
    Likes Received:
    2,288
    Location:
    Germany
    No, of course not, just wondering aloud what that argument in the posts leading up could mean in the end. To be clear: I cannot imagine that this would be the case.
     
  18. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,701
    Likes Received:
    3,786
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    ok good :) Considering the intended target audience for the Frontier Edition (game developers), you would think that promoting a new binning rasterizer would be there. Likely just an unintended omission, or tin-foil hat drama it's not working properly and has been turned off. We'll find out with RX Vega I guess.
     
  19. silent_guy

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,754
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Did any pro site receive a sample from AMD? ;-)
     
    Lightman likes this.
  20. silent_guy

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,754
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Remember this slide:
    http://www.thinkcomputers.org/all-n...ia-geforce-gtx-1080-pascal-crafted-for-speed/

    I've done my share of pushing an small part of an existing chip to higher clocks by painstakingly working my way from the top to the bottom of the timing violation report file. The vast majority of changes are through RTL modifications, but replacing or moving individual standard cells in the layout can give significant improvements as well, on the same process.

    (It sounds really boring work, but there's a large amount of satisfaction to be had knowing that you defeated a tool. Like writing x86 assembler and coming out ahead against a C compiler. :) )

    For Vega, AMD may have done both: a new architecture *and* this kind of detailed optimizations.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...