AMD Radeon Crimson Driver

Discussion in 'Graphics and Semiconductor Industry' started by eastmen, Nov 2, 2015.

Tags:
  1. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,357
    Likes Received:
    5,336
    Can't speak from personal experience, but a friend of mine with a 290 only had one significant problem with the Crimson drivers so far.

    During Installation it appears to hang at 2% and then around 20%. We retried installing it multiple times before going to the internet for help. Apparently this is happening with a lot of people, and the solution is just to walk away from the computer and come back in about 20 or minutes. That's an awful long time for the driver to take to install. But at least we finally got it installed on his system.

    Other than that he likes it. And whether it's a placebo effect or not, his games seem to load slightly faster and run slightly smoother.

    The FRTC also seems to be quite nice. It was very noticeable in StarCraft 2 which for some reason, even with Vsync enabled, would have the GPU cranked up and the fan going full bore at the menu screen. With FRTC set to 60, it was nice and quiet with the GPU not getting stressed. I'm guessing there must be a bug where the SC2 menu is still sometimes ignoring the Vsync setting.

    I linked to one that showed some decent gains a page back. The tested on a variety of cards with

    https://forum.beyond3d.com/threads/amd-radeon-crimson-driver.57370/page-2#post-1883229

    Anandtech didn't have nearly as good of results. But tested a different selection of games. With an unknown system and settings. Differences in the system and settings chosen could explain the discrepancy in the games that are in both. In BF4 and GTAV, Anandtech had worse performance to WCCFTech. While in Crysis 3, performance was relatively similar on the Radeon Fury (the only card Anandtech tested on).

    My friend that I spoke about above seems to like it.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  2. thatdude90210

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    6
    What happened to my keyboard shortcuts. I used to be able to just set some keys like "alt-ctrl-whatever" and switch to dual monitor from a single monitor, and a different set of keys to go back to single monitor. This no longer works and can't even try to set them anymore.

    And Radeon settings & another panel for additional Radeon setting, what the hell?
     
  3. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    I'm testing to turn FRTC on now; haven't bothered with it before, but it might be as you say that in some cases it could be useful even if vsynch is supposed to be on. Good tip, thanks! :)
     
  4. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,357
    Likes Received:
    5,336
    I imagine where FRTC really shines is if you have an adaptive-sync monitor. At that point you don't need to double or triple buffer anything, in theory, since you wouldn't need to use v-sync as the only purpose in that case would be to prevent your frame rate from going above X number. That will in turn decrease input lag.

    Regards,
    SB
     
    Grall likes this.
  5. Ryan Smith

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    1,052
    Location:
    PCIe x16_1
    FWIW, it was our standard GPU testbed (e.g. 4960X) running our 2560x1440p high settings.
     
    Silent_Buddha likes this.
  6. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,357
    Likes Received:
    5,336
    Thanks. :) I was surprised not to see that information in the article. So high compared to ultra settings. That may explain some of the difference.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  7. Ryan Smith

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    1,052
    Location:
    PCIe x16_1
    Well high as in high, medium, and low. Generally speaking it's the highest settings available in most of these games, other than the fact that we don't use 8x MSAA.
     
  8. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,357
    Likes Received:
    5,336
    Ah, gotcha. I was just going by the fact that many games nowadays have a High and an Ultra graphics preset.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  9. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    Yes, theoretically... In real life, keeping the front buffer around would always be advisable I think in case you hit a frame rate snag and the FPS drops under the minimum level supported by the monitor; otherwise you'd either experience strobing, or that the monitor displays a partially complete new frame... Not sure which would be worse, heh!

    Double buffer without vsynch shouldn't introduce any extra lag. Triple buffer shouldn't either, as long as the game/driver doesn't run all three buffers in strict rotation all the time, but instead only uses the third on an as-needed basis. Unfortunately this does not seem the case, particularly with Valve's Source engine games...
     
  10. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,003
    Likes Received:
    1,687
  11. jakobx

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    I really dont like the fact that it automatically detects games. I have tons of them and even though the detection algorithm is very bad it seems a lot of games really slows down the GUI. It would be great if we had different views available. I would prefer one game per line.

    Ive only played with FRTC and it seems a bit buggy. Ive set it to 75hz (my monitors max) and tried it in counterstrike GO. It kinda works but i see a horizontal line. Kinda like vsync off but much thicker. If i set the limit higher (100fps for example) this problem seems to mostly disappear. Ive tried only setting a higher limit for counterstrike but its using the global setting no matter what. Are individual settings even working?

    VSR is also still not working on 21:9 monitors.
     
  12. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,079
    Likes Received:
    648
    Location:
    O Canada!
    I'm not aware of this being a generic issue, and my home install seems to be fine to me - granted I'm running 4K so I'm not necessarily representative of the masses. Isn't this more likely to be QA rather than "developer" - i.e. some combination of display resolution/DPI/clear type settings?
     
  13. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,477
    Likes Received:
    592
    Location:
    WI, USA
    I installed it on my 6970 and noticed that Overdrive doesn't remember settings after reboot. But I can use MSI Afterburner instead.
     
  14. egoless

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    31
    For me the solution was to select custom installation and uncheck hdmi audio (and the amd evolved app). The drivers then installed quickly. Then after a reboot, run custom install again and put the checkbox back on hdmi audio.

    Edit: If you're still having problems, like I did on another machine, here's the nuclear option. Uninstall your AV software (in this case it was Bitdefender Internet Security 2016). No amount of turning off modules would allow the driver install to proceed normally so I uninstalled it. Use the AMD uninstall utility without rebooting. Go into msconfig and set boot to safe boot. After safe booting use the DDU utility to truly clean uninstall. Now restart so that windows starts normally. Now you should be able to install the drivers quickly. After a reboot re-install your AV software.
     
    #74 egoless, Nov 27, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2015
    Grall likes this.
  15. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,003
    Likes Received:
    1,687
    AMD Crimson Software Might Cause locked fan RPM at 20% (overheats cards)

    http://www.guru3d.com/news-story/amd-crimson-software-might-cause-locked-fan-rpm-at-20.html

    Moderators: Shouldn't this thread be in the Software forum?
     
  16. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,137
    Likes Received:
    2,939
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    If the reports of actual physical damage are substantiated, that could be worrisome.
    The GPU silicon should be advanced enough to handle a slow fan, at least in theory. CPUs have been able to handle having the cooler physically ripped of while under load for years, and AMD's implementation is way beyond a mere thermal trip.
    Could something else be escaping the fail-safe measures, even with a significantly more forgiving 20% fan setting versus 0 RPM?
     
  17. Albuquerque

    Albuquerque Red-headed step child
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    3,845
    Likes Received:
    329
    Location:
    35.1415,-90.056
    @3dilettante I was thinking the same thing; my understanding is that AMD's power regulation is probably the most advanced system available in discrete graphics today, mostly because they've been doing it for so long. It seems unlikely (albeit, not impossible) to damage one of their GPU's simply because of runaway thermal load while still placed under any sort of heat sink. There's always some thermal reserve capacity in a heat sink; I can't imagine a temperature swing could happen fast enough for PowerTune to miss it.

    I was thinking about maybe the VRM's being the weak link, maybe in cases where the card manufacturer didn't do the proper job of thermally monitoring them?
     
  18. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,137
    Likes Received:
    2,939
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    I suppose it could be somewhere in the power delivery portion. The VRMs do get hot, and that has been noted before.
    I thought it was the case that there was a similar emergency shutdown tied to VRM temps, at least personally I was pretty sure I have a card that shut down due to that.

    VRMs do tolerate high temperatures, given their function, so it would be unfortunate that a tolerant device could still hit a failure point when there is still airflow. I do see mentions of overclocking possibly figuring into some of the reports, but I would hope that AMD or one of the board partners are looking to tear apart some of the RMA'ed boards in order to design in countermeasures in future products. I really don't like it when survivability becomes something up for grabs due to a driver update.
     
  19. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,257
    Likes Received:
    1,948
    Location:
    Finland
    The "hotfix" drivers are out, and are in fact quite a bit more than just an hotfix, they also fix bunch of game bugs etc
    https://community.amd.com/community...s?hootPostID=72bd6db61138565786c1ede4e066996a

    32-bit:
    https://community.amd.com/external-link.jspa?url=https://www2.ati.com/drivers/beta/Radeon-Software-Crimson-Edition-15.11.1-Beta-32Bit-Win10-Win8.1-Win7-Nov30.exe

    The 64-bit link is dead, here's fixed one:
    https://community.amd.com/external-link.jspa?url=https://www2.ati.com/drivers/beta/Radeon-Software-Crimson-Edition-15.11.1-Beta-64Bit-Win10-Win8.1-Win7-Nov30.exe
     
    Grall likes this.
  20. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    At least on my ASUS boards, I can read a set of general VRM temps in GPUz - one for GPU power, one for GDDR power I assume. There's no individual VRM temp readout like there was for the now ancient 4890 series cards for example. I have no idea if the card's thermal regulation even looks at these values though - however I sincerely hope it does! :)

    Not experienced any fan shenanigans myself I must say, running crimson on a whopping two boxes... :p
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...