3dfx Rampage ;)

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by Ante P, Nov 13, 2002.

  1. gdonovan

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
  2. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,373
    Likes Received:
    520
    Location:
    WI, USA
    Fascinating.... Thanks for posting!
     
  3. Babel-17

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    190
    What does the anti-aliasing tab show? :)
     
  4. gdonovan

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    [​IMG]

     
  5. Babel-17

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    190
    Thanks! I enjoyed the videos.
     
  6. Lightman

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,780
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Torquay, UK
    Great work bringing that card back to life!

    I loved Q3TA and was decent at it :smile:
    Very twitchy game rewarding 100Hz CRT screen owners!
     
  7. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,373
    Likes Received:
    520
    Location:
    WI, USA
    It's a shame those 3dfx D3D8 alpha drivers haven't been found.
     
  8. gdonovan

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Would have done me know good, Rampage was not based off Voodoo Graphics tech aside from the 2D core.
     
  9. gdonovan

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    "no good" sorry, tired.
     
  10. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,373
    Likes Received:
    520
    Location:
    WI, USA
    Oh my impression from your site was that they had some D3D8 drivers up and running on Rampage but that they hadn't been leaked.
     
  11. gdonovan

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    [​IMG]

    Rampage was/is a DX8 part but the drivers were only a few days old. Need to come up with the programming guide otherwise further driver work is really going to be problematic.
     
  12. HMBR

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    99
    Location:
    Brazil
    is it running 3dmark 2001 with hardware T&L?
     
  13. no-X

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,229
    Likes Received:
    164
    Rampage GPU doesn't support HW TnL. But 3Dfx had also SAGE TnL/geometry processor in plan and they were preparing three graphics cards based on these chips: First model based on Rampage (without HW TnL), second model based on SAGE + Rampage and third model based on SAGE + two Ramapage GPUs. First batch of SAGE chips was manufactured shortly before 3Dfx closed its offices, but there was no time to prepare protoype boards with SAGE. All known (3?) prototypes are based on single-chip Ramapage GPU.
     
  14. gdonovan

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Four, maybe five =)
     
  15. gdonovan

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Some notes from this mornings blast from the past, been a real long time since I heard the Windows 95 start up sound!

    Win95A will run Rampage without too much problem but there are more cons than pros in my opnion. To run it you will need a copy of Win95A, the Win9x driver, DX7.0 and thats pretty much it unless you wish to run a few more things noted below. Do NOT install the Microsoft USB upgrade patch as that also adds offical AGP support. I wanted the OS to treat the board like it was a PCI device.

    1) DirectX 8.0A (last DX that supports Win95) works but I tried a wrapper or two that requires DX8 but even with DX8 they would not run. If running DX8 you also need to install DCOM95. The AGP info (enable/disable) in the DX control panel was clearly grayed out.

    2) If installing 3dfx tools you need Internet Explorer 4.01 with service pack or higher! I had IE5.01 on a disk and was good to go but I did not notice any increase in gamma control under D3D when using the 3dfx tool app.

    2) Here is System Shock 2 running under Win95A-

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EHIQ68xNwTE&feature=youtu.be

    The video runs for SEVERAL minutes and I'm sorry for the poor quality, I did not know the camera was on the low rez setting. Rather than do a run through again as I'm behind on chores already I'll post this up and try to redo some time in the future. The next week is going to be very, very bad for time and odds are this will be the last major update you will see for a week.

    3) Rampage REALLY likes Thief engine games, they ran mostly fine aside from a single crash during testing Thief. Thief the Dark Project is really dark though and cranking the gamma only helped a little. Runs the same under Win95 or Win98SE so no advantage to continue testing under Win95.

    Still blue screens under some applications, the blue screen above is a D3D "draw primitives" test which really seems to make the card cranky. Same "OD" error as in Windows 98SE.
     
    #235 gdonovan, Jun 30, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 30, 2013
  16. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,397
    Likes Received:
    1,865
    They are not glide but d3d iirc they do use 16bit dithering that is no longer available on modern cards
    ps: is that shock 2 umodded ?

    pps: shock 2 seems much darker than I remember it
     
  17. gdonovan

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    1) I'm not running any glide titles, Rampage is a native D3D part. I have had some luck with opengl wrapper running quake3.

    2) System Shock 2 is the demo version, slightly dark due to the dongle I'm using, the next version is coming out soon.

    I'm uploading a second SS2 video now, give it about a 1/2 hour.
     
    #237 gdonovan, Jun 30, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 30, 2013
  18. gdonovan

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    New SS2 version-

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zAhWPBqVqac

    If you give it a few hours, I used the youtube contrast controls to clean things up a bit. Youtube is still processing the video which is 640 x 480
     
  19. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,397
    Likes Received:
    1,865
  20. gdonovan

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    #240 gdonovan, Jul 1, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 1, 2013

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...