xbox 360 screen corruption

scooby_dooby said:
I agree with Guden, there's no reason they deserve any slack here(well maybe a little), it's a bug that should've been caught and it wasn't, that's really the bottom line. No excuses.

As a mod developer I have some insites to bugs like this. I see both sides of the fence.

One once side yes every bug should be fixed and the system should be 10000% stable.

However if you are running the system in a manor that it was not designed to run in, then is a small bug that big of a deal and is it something I want to spend time on (vrs say fixing another bug that happens in normal operation)? I am sure there are many many ways to make the system break and a very good QA team will try to figure some of the common or easy ways to break it and test it..

Again not saying its right, wrong, just wanted to make you all think about this before flaming MS. For me I try to balance a bug like this with the efffect it causes against the current list of bugs given a time table...

WellI don't think I was flaming them, the rest of my post shows that I think.

It's still fairly surprising this made it through QA, I really would've thought that this would've been noticed. I mean you have to develop a process for the software to do when the network cable is unplugged, which they did, and it works well, however they forgot to test it when the screensaver is on, which is QUITE the oversight IMO.

If I was on the QA team, it would've been a no-brainer to test the network unplug functionality in the 2 available modes(with screensaver or without) especially with something like downloads where the demo's typically take 1-2 hours, and on a console where screensaver is enabled by default.

Not a big deal though.

jb said:
As a mod developer I have some insites to bugs like this. I see both sides of the fence.

One once side yes every bug should be fixed and the system should be 10000% stable.