The LAST R600 Rumours & Speculation Thread

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by Geo, Jan 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Per B

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    Wouldn't it be strange if the R6xx architecure was NOT largely based on Xenon? So in that case, it should have the Vec4. Not that I fully understand the benefit of it though... anyone care to point me to a quick summary of the difference of one shader in G80 and one in Xenon, with their + and -.

    Thanks
     
  2. Per B

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    Doesn't Xenon have 48 vec4 shaders? So why couldn't the R600 (with 700 million trannies) have 128?!?

    Or am I missing something about the Xenon shaders?
     
  3. INKster

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Io, lava pit number 12
    They don't need to be DX10 (or OpenGL, for that matter) compliant, therefore they are much less complex than R600's ? ;)
     
  4. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,193
    Likes Received:
    3,134
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    Xenon is the Xbox 360 CPU.

    Xenos is about 330 million transistors, but I don't think that's counting the daughter die, which has hardware that would be integrated on R600.

    It might be rather cramped fitting all that in with more than double the shader count.
     
  5. Sound_Card

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    1) It's Xenos..hehe...:wink:

    2) I believe Xenos has vec3, not vec4.

    3) I'm not buying into the R600 vec rumors at all.:razz:
     
  6. stevem

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    3
    Rumours? What rumours...?
     
  7. Sound_Card

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX

    Actully Xenos has 250 million transistors(rounding). That's without the doughter die which is said to be roughly around 150 million transistors. Were looking at about 400 million or so transistors if it was all combined into one package.
     
  8. jamis

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yes it is. The daughter is about 100M of which 80% is the ram. The actual GPU with ROP's and all is about 250M.
    (The "mother" die is around 232M I think)
     
  9. nelg

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Toronto
    Would it be such a scheduling nightmare if all the shaders were not homogeneous?

    What about 64vec4 + 1 Sp and 64 scalar.
     
  10. Sound_Card

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Reading though B3D's Xenos artical(Which I have read I don't know how many times now...) states their is no said amount of transistors given to the doughter die. However, B3D speculates in a educated manner that 150 million seems about right. Their was a leak of a 150 million transistors before E305 for Xenos, but that proved later to be wrong as Xenos was 250m. But many beleive that leak of 150 million was actully the doughter die.

    It is said that 80 million transistors is for the ram, which would put roughly about over 50% of the die.
     
  11. Per B

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sorry bout the Xenon/Xenos mix-up... :p

    Anyway, on http://www.beyond3d.com/articles/xenos/index.php?p=07 it says that "Each one of the 48 ALU's can co-issue a vector (Vec4) and a scalar instruction simultaneously, essentially allowing a "5D" operation per cycle.". What does that mean when comparing on Xenos ALU (and possibly R6xx) to one from G80?

    Would a R600 with 128 Xenos-like shaders "trash" the G80?
     
  12. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,079
    Likes Received:
    648
    Location:
    O Canada!
    The daughter die is 105M transistors, 80M of which is EDRAM.
     
  13. Sound_Card

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX

    shucks, I don't see that in your Xenos artical. Must not have been updated in a while..:sad:

    I stand corrected then. That's 80%.
     
  14. Anarchist4000

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    359
    http://www.pcper.com/article.php?aid=367

    Found this bit a little interesting.

    With 128 of them it would be an absolute slaughter. You likely won't be seeing nearly that many however.
     
    #1674 Anarchist4000, Feb 15, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 15, 2007
  15. ERK

    ERK
    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    SoCal
    [/Tommy Chong voice] Hey, man! Dave's not here, man! [/]
    :D
     
  16. pjbliverpool

    pjbliverpool B3D Scallywag
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7,583
    Likes Received:
    704
    Location:
    Guess...
    It would depend on clock speed aswell. If those Xenos like shaders were also running at Xenos like speeds then on paper even 128 of them wouldn't provide much more theoretical shader power than G80 (including the MUL). And it would be less efficient power at that. Of course we expect R600 to be clocked much hgher than 500Mhz.
     
  17. Russell

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    2
    If these shaders are scalar, perhaps this is where that 2GHz rumor from awhile back comes in. Sound_Card's clock domains/scalar shader theory certainly has some merit.
     
  18. Sound_Card

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Theroy? hehe, I would say it's almost certain.. JMHO. At least the scalar part that is. Clcok domains could be anyones guess, but, personally I think having a clock domain is a must when going scalar. :razz:
     
  19. Farhan

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    in the shade
    If they are scalar, it still doesn't necessarily mean that they have multi ghz clocks as a design target... It could be vec4 and still be clocked very high if that is what they wanted in the design.
     
  20. KimB

    Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Messages:
    12,928
    Likes Received:
    230
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I don't see why.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...