TES V: Skyrim

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by Frank, Oct 17, 2011.

  1. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,441
    Likes Received:
    3,461
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    It just unlocked for me. First things I noticed in the options is TAA (yay!), SSR, SSAO, raid occlusion, snow shader, and 64-bit render targets (?)

    No native 21:9 support? wtf. Quick edit of the prefs ini fixed that.
     
    #1581 Malo, Oct 28, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2016
  2. I.S.T.

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    389
    Kiiiiiiiiiiiiinda pissed off that they removed MSAA entirely rather than just adding TAA to the list.


    Edit: Like, I get not adding it to a new game, cause MSAA don't really work all that well anymore, but it worked good enough in Skyrim, so...
     
    digitalwanderer likes this.
  3. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,441
    Likes Received:
    3,461
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Well color me impressed, it's actually quite a decent upgrade. Very smooth and the TAA is fantastic. Textures are a bit better, especially the armor and some of the plant life.
     
    digitalwanderer and pharma like this.
  4. I.S.T.

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    389
    Yeah I noticed the medium texture setting, which they defaulted to on my old card, looked around the same as the old high res pack.
     
  5. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,441
    Likes Received:
    3,461
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Game Ready driver out today for Nvidia and Skyrim SE
     
  6. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    21,146
    Likes Received:
    6,480
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    4xFP16 I assume.

    They might have gone deferred, and didn't want people shitting the bed with crap performance.
     
    digitalwanderer likes this.
  7. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,441
    Likes Received:
    3,461
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    It's a global lighting model now so yes likely deferred.
     
    digitalwanderer likes this.
  8. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,463
    Likes Received:
    1,911
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    Well I'm not sure about any of the technical stuff since I haven't been keeping up with it, but it looked and ran beautifully when I played it for a bit last night. :D
     
  9. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    21,146
    Likes Received:
    6,480
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    What does it being global have to do with being deferred though :?:
     
  10. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,463
    Likes Received:
    1,911
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    Because now it's deferred globally, duh!
     
  11. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,441
    Likes Received:
    3,461
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Not sure, just my brain telling me that modern global lighting has been mostly deferred techniques for several years.
     
  12. DSoup

    DSoup meh
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,700
    Likes Received:
    6,713
    Location:
    London, UK
    Re-hooked. Bloody Skyrim!
     
  13. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,475
    Likes Received:
    2,658
    Has anyone tried the new exe with the old game ?
     
  14. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,441
    Likes Received:
    3,461
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    What do you think would happen? Suddenly old skyrim becomes 64bit?
     
  15. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,537
    Likes Received:
    620
    Location:
    WI, USA
    The only thing they should have "remastered" are the animations. :)

    I noticed that Skyrim + DLC is actually a good bit larger than Skyrim SE. I guess that means the textures aren't much different.

    Has anyone else noticed an occasional hesitation to the engine? Running around outside. On my 970 it does it. I tried Ultra and High detail presets. I haven't messed with the individual settings yet. Polishing that Gamebryo turd again.
     
    #1595 swaaye, Oct 30, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2016
  16. Albuquerque

    Albuquerque Red-headed step child
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    3,845
    Likes Received:
    329
    Location:
    35.1415,-90.056
    Dumb question then: Does Skyrim SE include all the DLC?
     
  17. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,441
    Likes Received:
    3,461
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Yes.

    Just in case you didn't realize, any PC owners of Skyrim + all DLC get SE for free.
     
    #1597 Malo, Oct 30, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2016
  18. Albuquerque

    Albuquerque Red-headed step child
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    3,845
    Likes Received:
    329
    Location:
    35.1415,-90.056
    I skipped the Hearthfire DLC because it seemed like tripe to me. If I go spend the $4.99 on Steam for the last piece, suppose I could get SE for free still?
     
  19. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,325
    Likes Received:
    1,952
    https://forum.beyond3d.com/posts/1950054/
     
  20. Albuquerque

    Albuquerque Red-headed step child
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    3,845
    Likes Received:
    329
    Location:
    35.1415,-90.056
    I'm not sure what you're trying to say here. I already have Skyrim and all the other DLC, I need only hearthfire to continue ($4.99, not $12.xx) The link in your quote is to repurchase the "Legendary Version" which was apparently on an upgrade path to SE.

    My question is not the same.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...