Subscription based gaming

baten

Regular
There are a lot of opinions on this forum about what the future of gaming will look like, and while most of them are very interesting and worth thinking about, they are mostly about the hardware. There are also some people trying to predict what will happen with the distribution of the games, will they be still sold at game shops or department stors or only be downloadable.

As we move forward with the technology (and I am no expert on any technology, my conection with the gaming world is that I used to be involved somehow in gaming retail, but no anymore, I'm here just as a gamer) it is clear that the current distribution system of the games software is less and less suited for the demands of the industry.

It is my thinking that this is because everbody is using the wrong paradigm. Publisher sell games (through middlemans and intermediaries) and gamers buy these games and play them. A lot of the money ends up in the wrong hands. For instance, retailers take their share, as well as distributors. Also, a lot is lost in the pre-owned market, since one copy of the game ends up being played by 3-4 people. Also, renting is eating a lot of the profits of developers and publishers. Last, but not least, sales price falls abruptly after just 2-3 months for most games, in such a predictable way that most gamers are actually waiting to buy until the price drops.

The better alternative would be subscription based gaming. This would work better on consoles (although it would also be possible on PC). As a gamer, you buy a subscription - let's say 50 USD/month - and you can play, for that month, ALL the games for that console that have been published to date, for as long as you like (there could be more than one type of accounts, for instance you could choose 15 USD/month to play 2 games of your choosing for 20 hours - or whatever - marketing could be very creative here).