Russia develops nuclear system to evade defence

Deepak

B3D Yoddha
Veteran
Link

It is claimed the warhead can detach from the main missile during the final stages of its descent, and then continue to fly like a cruise missile, evading any missile defence shield.

But... if US managed to destroy the missile during the first stage, as the ABL project is supposed to do, such system would do no good, right?
By the way, the ABL laser was tested on the ground a few days ago.

I'm not a weapons designer, but what they described seems like a lot of work for questionable gain.

There are already maneuverable warheads, but what this news story is describing sounds like taking a bullet going at Mach 20, telling it to hit the brakes in plain view of the enemy, wander around at speeds within the envelope of more conventional defenses, and then get around to hitting the target.

Cruise missiles tend to work best when their arrival is not announced by flying up on a column of fire into the upper reaches of the atmosphere and then dawdling in plain view of every radar site on that side of the globe.

It sounds like a kludge that tries to combine the range and short time to impact of an ICBM with the ability to sneak into enemy territory offered by a cruise missile. Only ICBMs don't sneak, and cruise missiles can't run.

I think they'd be better off just putting decoys on the ICBMs or just not phoning ahead like the current ABM defense requires.

u fire ICBM to Pacific,Mexico or Canada, where US has no shield (lets say), then russian missile brreaks up, releases cruise missile (that flies low, under the radar) and Booooom......u got to the US mainland.

as i see it, this is just another cruise missile delivery system....pretty imaginative if i may add.....
offcourse it all depends on range this manouverable warhead has after detachment....