PS3 specs could change?

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by PSman, May 14, 2006.

  1. vliw

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Space
    If I know the final spec this doesn't mean I can write it here, I'm just wondering why they didn't speak about the Ps3 monster during the past E3, I guess that something is not going well :)

    Megadrive :

    Stop dreaming :)
     
  2. SPM

    SPM
    Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    16
    The only thing I would like to see some sort of expansion slot or socket to allow addition of an extra 256MB XDR RAM to allow it to run more Linux applications.
     
  3. DopeyFish

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    1
    ...
     
    #103 DopeyFish, Jun 11, 2006
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 15, 2006
  4. msia2k75

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    29
    Sounds like the return of the colossus! :lol:
     
  5. liverkick

    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    6
  6. DopeyFish

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    1
    ...
     
    #106 DopeyFish, Jun 11, 2006
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 15, 2006
  7. Yeptastic

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don´t know about the specs of the CELL BE(tm) in the PS3, but CNET.com has a vid report from the E3, showing what supposed to be a "actual" PS3 and not a dev kit.
    And they claim on the vid that they saw games played on it as well.

    http://reviews.cnet.com/4660-12331_7-6521287.html?tag=img

    Make what you will out of it, but it looks quite legit. But what do i know?.
    Also, hello evrybody at Beyond3D.com forum.
     
  8. sonyps35

    Banned

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    2
    I wouldn't be that worried about Cell downgrade to 2.8 GHZ anyway. I think a RSX clock downgrade would be far more harmful.

    I thought Kutaragi recently had stated they had been stockpiling Cell's since last July or something? And that procuring enough Cells for launch was therefore not a bottleneck?

    Has this "source" been right on something before?
     
  9. Brad Grenz

    Brad Grenz Philosopher & Poet
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Oregon
    He claims the devkits have 2 gigs of RAM, but I thought they all just had double the PS3 spec. Color me suspicious.
     
  10. _phil_

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    13
    yep.Some people have a really weird agenda...they should rather get a life
     
  11. DopeyFish

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    1
    ...
     
    #111 DopeyFish, Jun 11, 2006
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 15, 2006
  12. nonamer

    Banned

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    7
    The "source" makes a number of questionable claims, some contradict what we already know (i.e. Actual PS3 at E3, wrong amount of RAM, etc.). Prelimarily analysis indicates a liar.
     
  13. Titanio

    Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes Received:
    51
    I knew as soon as I read that where this came from originally, and one look confirms my suspicion :lol: Don't even try, Dopey.
     
  14. liverkick

    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    6
    Obviously! *rolls eyes*

    In what should come as no surprise, this originates is from the usual Red Cloak, Evil Avatar, Fishie, Deadmeat crew (remember RSX=7600? Yeah, those guys). "Red Cloak" posted it on that cess-pool of a forum not worthy of mentioning by name, and Kotaku lifted it as "news". Its also not the first time they've rolled out one of these ridiculous AIM "interviews" with a Super Secret Sony Insider giving out the "dirt". PS3 may end up downgraded or not, but its pretty safe to say these yahoos have zero credibility on the manner.
     
  15. _phil_

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    13
    Desinformation organism ?

    .You're getting ridiculous.I suggest you be banned for FUD spreading.
     
    #115 _phil_, Jun 11, 2006
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 11, 2006
  16. inefficient

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,121
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Tokyo
    I just read some of the forum posts on that topic over at Kotaku. They have some very well informed readers over there. Check this one out.

    My eyes have been opened!
     
  17. Urian

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    55
    Red= Red Cloack from Opa Ages= Xboxer from OA.

    They are creating FUD against PS3 from the forums with things like RSX= GF7600 underclocked at 420Mhz, Cell Downgrade, Sony cannot sell milions of PS3 because the laser diode supplier can only give a few thousands to Toshiba for the HD-DVD.

    FUD, FUD, FUD and FUD.
     
  18. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17,682
    Likes Received:
    1,200
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    Hey, who knows the final PS3 might get 1Gig. ;)
     
  19. predicate

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    2
    The local garbage collection agency? An insurance company? A book store?

    I wonder which surprising job this 'industry insider' has?
     
  20. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    40,743
    Likes Received:
    11,231
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    Obviously not well enough informed. A 'core' is a processor in a miltuprocessor chip. A 'processor' consists of logic gates to process data, local storage in the form of registers to hold data to processed by the logic circuits, and any number of optional extras to aid performance. The Z80 CPU didn't have any cache, but you can't claim that was a zero core processor!

    Cell is an asymmetric multiprocessor, using two different processor designs in one IC, which different specialised abilities. One can argue all one wants about whether the SPU's are 'full CPUs' or not (arguments that have been had) but anyone trying ot pass them up as anything other than full processors is either misinformed or out to spread FUD. Read up on this board to get the full insight onto the nature of Cell as a multicore processor (besides which, what does calling them cores or not matter, as long as they do the job?!)
     
    Farid likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...