[PS2] BG: Dark Alliance II stinks, Norrath better?

Rolf N

Recurring Membmare
Veteran
Everyone agrees I'm a hopeless Sony fanperson. So it comes as no surprise that I recently bought my second and third PS2 games, after FF X, and those were Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance II and God Of War. Nothing needs to be said about God Of War, besides: bliss.

But the same is not so true for BGDA2 unfortunately. I'm not going to finish it, it's just not my taste. I never do multiplayer things btw, so it won't help if "that's what I should do" to appreciate the game more. It's going the way of EBay (<= make sure it rhymes when you say that).

I bought it because I'm a weathered RPG veteran and also have a dark side which loves Diablo 2 to death for its sheer gameplay merits. I was hoping BGDA would satisfy at least one of these sides, in fact I remember it being mentioned in a generic "recommend me some RPGs" thread, but the problem is: I know Norrath was mentioned as well. I just can't remember which one was supposed to be better.

IOW if I mislike BGDA2, find it bland, generic, uninspired and irrelevant (as a singleplayer game, don't forget) ... is there any hope that I could enjoy Champions of Norrath?

For reference I shoul probably mention that I enjoyed the Neverwinter Nights base singleplayer campaign enough to finish it, but not much more. Didn't care to finish the first Baldur's Gate for PC. Did finish Planescape: Torment and thought it was outstanding. If that tells you anything.

Of course if there are more quality western RPGs for PS2, I'm all ears.

The EQ games are rather fun, I can't say I'm a huge fan, but they are solid Diablo clones for consoles. You may find the CoN games sort of boring though, as it seemed to me it was more about farming shit and lvl'ing up than having a compelling story (although I'd say Diablo was the same way, as much as I loved those games).