PlayStation 4 (codename Orbis) technical hardware investigation (news and rumours)

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by Love_In_Rio, Jan 28, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Love_In_Rio

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    110
  2. upnorthsox

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,909
    Likes Received:
    232
    For those behind nanny walls, can you provide a little more than meh?
     
  3. Aeoniss

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nebraska

    There you go.
     
  4. McHuj

    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,432
    Likes Received:
    553
    Location:
    Texas
    18 Texture units and 8 Rops? That's can't be right? Unless they're some super-custom, that's 1/4 of what's in a comparable desktop GPU.
     
  5. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,122
    Likes Received:
    2,873
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    One texture unit per CU doesn't make sense for GCN.
    Are they dividing by four?

    8 ROPs does seem small for the bandwidth in question.
     
  6. Love_In_Rio

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    110
    8 backends x 4 ROPs per backend = 32 ROPs.

    But 18 texture units has something in it... strange...
     
  7. deanos

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    maybe the texture units are also devided by 4 lol.
     
  8. lefantome

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    71
    Maybe it was 128 and they forgot the "2"
     
  9. arijoytunir

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    12
    what is Display ScanOut Engine (DCE) and Hardware balanced at 14 CUs ? and why did the speed of ram went down to 176gb/s and is it stacked ?
     
  10. Love_In_Rio

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    110
    I think it´s a scaler...
     
  11. SanGreal

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    New Jersey
    nvm
     
    #11 SanGreal, Jan 28, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 28, 2013
  12. XpiderMX

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,768
    Likes Received:
    0
    Related to 2 cameras?

    Looking the new info it loooks like it is more like Durango specs, Am I wrong?
     
  13. Love_In_Rio

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    110
    If in fact if 4 CUs are there for operating like GPGPU units, we should know the custom changes made to Durango to make a veredict. There must be something in Durango to make the GPGPU tasks, and if the GPU is HSA then, well...
     
  14. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,719
    Likes Received:
    5,815
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Most likely:

    [​IMG]
     
  15. McHuj

    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,432
    Likes Received:
    553
    Location:
    Texas
    What's interesting is that if the 4 CU's are dedicated to the CPU, why do they need texture units? Perhaps the scheduler always gives priority to the CPU for those resources, but otherwise they are just used for the GPU.
     
  16. Bagel seed

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    16
    Still, not info worth waking up for.

    That is a lot of accessories, are they packed in? Move and camera?
     
  17. arijoytunir

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    12
    what is the significance of 922 GigaOps/s ? Dual shader engines ?
     
    #17 arijoytunir, Jan 28, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 28, 2013
  18. deanos

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    so in other words, 32 ROPs and 72 texture units?
     
  19. MrFox

    MrFox Deludedly Fantastic
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    5,446
    Likes Received:
    3,945
    The bin step of GDDR5 below 6Gbps is is 5.5Gbps and that fits with 176GB/s. Maybe they saved money to allow 4GB.
    I'd love to know what they mean by "balanced".

    I'm fascinated by the constant lack of info about the memory type.
     
  20. Love_In_Rio

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    110
    I had hopes for some custom hard... In fact, the most interesting thing of these consoles is the RAM memory...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...