[PC] L.A. Noire

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by Dresden, Nov 9, 2011.

  1. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,062
    Likes Received:
    5,013
    Plenty of reason at higher resolutions. I like that even when there's feature parity, the Dx11 path is included to run faster. Considering I game on a 30" monitor that's pretty nice. I'd imagine it's a boone to multi-monitor gaming as well.

    For lower resolutions, I'd guess the Dx11 speed increases probably aren't as noteworthy.

    I agree though that not many are attempting to push the graphics envelope with Dx11. Then again, with most companies focusing on console developement with ports to PC, I'm not sure what we can expect until the next gen of consoles.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  2. Svensk Viking

    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    56
    I'd say Civilization V was good in DX11

    I wonder why for example The Witcher 2 didn't use DX11 though...It was a big PC exclusive and had DX10 cards as the minimum requirement, why only go for DX9? Because of Windows XP?
     
  3. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,062
    Likes Received:
    5,013
    The Witcher 2 was planned for a console release all along. They just never announced it until the X360 port was closer to completion. Still, being PC first, it would have been nice to see them work with Dx11. Perhaps when they started developement Dx11 was still on the horizon and thus they just went with tech that was easily available at the time rather than take a gamble.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  4. suryad

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,478
    Likes Received:
    15
    This.

    I think we will see a whole raft of DX 11 or higher games once the industry sees the next gen Xbox specs get finalized. On and on another note I can't wait for the Witcher 2 April update!!!
     
  5. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,456
    Likes Received:
    578
    Location:
    WI, USA
    It'll be nice to see the mainstream adopt a new DirectX version, but I imagine that version will be with us for a very long time unless the game industry gets turned upside down somehow (tablets?)

    On the other hand, it looks like early DirectX 10/11 hardware maybe wasn't fast enough to be worthwhile to go out of the way for anyway. Not enough capability to make a really tangible difference, regardless of hype. We seem to blow most of our speed compared to consoles on higher resolutions and developers fighting inefficient APIs and quirky drivers.
     
  6. I.S.T.

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    389
    DX9 has inertia behind it. There are a ton of people well versed in how it works, and most already created engines use it. Not many people are going to buy an Unreal 3 license and DX11 it like crazy.
     
  7. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,456
    Likes Received:
    578
    Location:
    WI, USA
    Yeah of course. Inertia from the hulking mass of the majority of popular gaming hardware having been DirectX 9c since 2006.

    BTW, UE3 does have a D3D10 renderer available for it AFAIK. I imagine UE4 will show up suddenly once the new consoles come along though.
     
  8. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,062
    Likes Received:
    5,013
    Speaking of which, isn't Epic set to announce UE 4 sometime this year? If that happens we may start to see some more pickup of it among the studios not known for pushing the envelope.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  9. I.S.T.

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    389
    Yes, it does have a DX10 renderer. It was used in one game as far as I know, the port of Gears of War 1. The funny part is Epic didn't do that port.

    And they wonder why PC sales went down the shitter.
     
  10. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,855
    Likes Received:
    2,273
    how would you enable that I cant find any d3d10.drv or similar in any of the gears folders
     
  11. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,133
    Likes Received:
    905
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    In Gears 1 I think it automatically does DX10 or maybe there's a setting for it. It is one of the few (only?) UE3 games that has MSAA support.
     
  12. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,456
    Likes Received:
    578
    Location:
    WI, USA
  13. kyleb

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,165
    Likes Received:
    52
    Its in the graphics options.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...