NVIDIA Tegra Architecture

Discussion in 'Mobile Graphics Architectures and IP' started by french toast, Jan 17, 2012.

Tags:
  1. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    7,661
    Likes Received:
    1,358
    Location:
    Finland
    But nothing new, there's several (I'm guessing 10-20 + their clones) drones out there that follow you without any tethers for quite some time already without any fancy Tegras. Here's one "shopping guide" from last fall on drones that include the feature to follow a person http://www.dronesglobe.com/guide/follow-me/
     
  2. wco81

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    6,070
    Likes Received:
    221
    Location:
    West Coast
    Probably to process all the data from all those cameras used for collision avoidance, it needs a more powerful processor than whatever is common in other drones?

    I think the DJIs have at most one in the front, one in the back and maybe one facing down to monitor for objects to avoid?

    So this thing may be kind of overkill, though I guess it's going to navigate a forest better than other drones, as they show in that video of the gymnast doing flips and summersaults through the forest.
     
  3. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,485
    Likes Received:
    1,237
    Tesla AutoPilot v2.5 PCB is showing NVIDIA Pascal and Two Parker Chips

    [​IMG]


    http://www.guru3d.com/news-story/te...owing-nvidia-pascal-and-two-parker-chips.html
     
  4. Picao84

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    463
    pharma likes this.
  5. Picao84

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    463
    pharma likes this.
  6. Entropy

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    692
    Bound to happen. A posterchild single application case where a dedicated ASIC makes tons of sense. (What was not bound to happen was for them to roll their own full out, which is interesting even if many blocks will be off-the-shelf IP.)
     
    #3947 Entropy, Aug 14, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2018
  7. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,019
    Likes Received:
    3,654
    I thought the SoCs handling the driving were also being used for the cars' infotainment system. Can Tesla make SoCs that also handle video, 3d render for maps display and always-on connections?
     
  8. entity279

    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    379
    Location:
    Romania
    Should be different portions of the same Soc anyway, if that's the case.

    Traditionally, infotaiment had the most powerful controllers in the car. You potentially may start from that when adding new functions which would require raw processing power .
    The inverse of that is absurd in my opinion, on the other hand. If you need/have good inference DSP/accelerators, there's 0 pressure to make them handle video playback, navigation and whatnot. As a car company with some tradition, you already have an existing solution for that, in house or off the shelf

    Also self driving functions should have more stringent requirements wrt to safety or availability. Separating them from infotaiment makes even more sense as such
     
  9. manux

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    USA, CA
    I believe tesla has switched to use intel for infotainment systems.
     
  10. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    7,661
    Likes Received:
    1,358
    Location:
    Finland
    Those can be done using licensed cores as part of the SoC
     
  11. CSI PC

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    841
    It will be interesting to see how successful they are.
    To put it into perspective how many production HW designs out there successfully using tensor based architecture effectively for DL-inferencing beyond Google and Nvidia?
    I can only think of a couple of others that could be deemed production ready and with any semblance of a deep framework/library support, and they have been around for quite awhile with their expertise.

    Let alone as well integrating multiple camera/lidar/radar technology with their data-objects into the autonomous system to process.
     
  12. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,485
    Likes Received:
    1,237
    The NVIDIA Jetson TX2 Performance Has Evolved Nicely Since Launch
    29 August 2018
    https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=article&item=jetson-tx2-2018&num=1
     
    #3953 pharma, Aug 31, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2018
    Shortbread likes this.
  13. Alexko

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,346
    Likes Received:
    774
    Is there anything in the information/entertainment system of a car that can't be handled by run-of-the-mill Mali cores?
     
  14. Ailuros

    Ailuros Epsilon plus three
    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    9,403
    Likes Received:
    168
    Location:
    Chania
    Not only garden variety ARM GPU IP but any relevant IP out there. But since any IP provider isn't necessarily responsible for things like software or even system stability in a final product (bundle), you might want to overthink that question; as to why NVIDIA is actually landing as many automotive deals after all.
     
    Alexko likes this.
  15. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,485
    Likes Received:
    1,237
    A Quick Test Of NVIDIA's "Carmel" CPU Performance

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=article&item=nvidia-carmel-quick&num=1
     
    SpeedyGonzales likes this.
  16. Laurent06

    Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    21
    pharma likes this.
  17. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,485
    Likes Received:
    1,237
    Since he only had remote access to Xavier he's likely running it also in the default state. Maybe if he has time he might rerun the TX1 and TX2.
    It will be interesting to see the benchmarks in his test system when he receives the Xavier board Nvidia is sending.
     
    #3958 pharma, Sep 26, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2018
  18. Laurent06

    Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    21
    I already highlighted the fact Michael is likely running TX2 in default mode months ago in Phoronix forums. And there once again. I am unable to contact him directly (his PM box is full) so I hope he did notice this time.

    Yeah I want to see proper results, and I don't think Xavier should be slower than TX2 when both are properly setup.
     
    pharma likes this.
  19. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,485
    Likes Received:
    1,237
    I think Michael probably has gotten your hint regarding the tests! Kudos for running all those tests ...:smile:
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...