Nvidia Pascal Announcement

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by huebie, Apr 5, 2016.

Tags:
  1. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,928
    Likes Received:
    1,626
    Nvidia Max-P adds 10 per cent performance
    http://hexus.net/tech/news/laptop/116906-samsung-notebook-odyssey-z-boasts-gtx-1060-max-p-graphics/
     
  2. CSI PC

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    844
    They mention 10% over Max-Q, so seems more like a standard mobile 1060 maybe with a subtle tweaked power envelope for the OEM *shrug*.
     
  3. CSI PC

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    844
    Just a heads-up that the recent 397.31 seems to go into an endless reboot when installing on GTX1060:
    https://forums.geforce.com/default/topic/1049931/geforce-drivers/397-31-will-not-install/1/

    Strange one to get through QA, will be interesting to see if any explanations are given to something so notable in terms of number of customers impacted and why it was not picked up before release.
    Not just Win10 users affected.

    Edit:
    Looks like it may tie into certain AIB partners Gainward,PNY,Palit,Zotac:
    https://forums.geforce.com/default/...397-31-will-not-install/post/5332334/#5332334
     
    #2383 CSI PC, Apr 26, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2018
    Lightman and pharma like this.
  4. DavidGraham

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773
    Likes Received:
    2,560
    According to Parsec, NVIDIA's NVENC, outperforms AMD's VCE by a factor of 2.5X, data was extracted from 250K sessions using RX 480, RX 470, GTX 1060 and GTX 1070 among others. video encoding performance is fixed across GPUs since the engine is the same. So, an RX470 will perform the same as RX480 and GTX1060 will perform the same as GTX1070.

    [​IMG]

    https://blog.parsecgaming.com/nvidi...latency-in-parsec-co-op-sessions-713b9e1e048a

    The problem seems to stem from the fact that AMD's VCE performance has regressed across generations, comparing R9 380/285 and which uses VCE3.0, tops out at 128fps at 1080p H264 Quality, FuryX drops to 77fps and RX 480/470 drops further to 55fps.

    https://github.com/Xaymar/obs-studio_amf-encoder-plugin/wiki/Hardware-VCE3.0#r9-285
    https://github.com/Xaymar/obs-studio_amf-encoder-plugin/wiki/Hardware-VCE3.0#r9-380
    https://github.com/Xaymar/obs-studio_amf-encoder-plugin/wiki/Hardware-VCE3.0#r9-fury-x
    https://github.com/Xaymar/obs-studio_amf-encoder-plugin/wiki/Hardware-VCE3.4#rx-470


    EDIT: Further encoding tests:

    [​IMG]

    https://blog.parsecgaming.com/new-n...rds-on-h-264-compression-latency-d32784464b94
     
    #2384 DavidGraham, May 1, 2018
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2019
    sonen, pharma and Lightman like this.
  5. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,928
    Likes Received:
    1,626
    Nvidia might overhaul GeForce GTX 1060 with GP104 (a GTX 1070 GPU)
    http://www.guru3d.com/news-story/nvidia-might-overhaul-geforce-gtx-1060-with-gp104-(1070).html
     
    ImSpartacus likes this.
  6. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    Maybe they're sitting on a whole bunch of GP104s that don't clock as high as the 1070. Or don't have as many shader units functioning. *shrug*

    Anyway, NV's product offerings is getting kind of crowded, if this is true.
     
  7. CSI PC

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    844
    They use much lower clocks with GP104s already to be more efficient for a particular Tesla model to run at 50/75W and around 5.5 TFlops FP32.
    Not sure what to make of it from a yield perspective as the GP104 uses the cut die/ large amount disabled SMs with the GTX1070 that is pretty flexibile in terms how Nvidia enable sections (another cost saving they benefit from more than AMD, which can influence product price flexibility-margin from IHV).

    Edit:
    I should had said, this could be stock-logistics clearance where they have too many dies for particular GPUs and in preparation for next generation.

    Edit2:
    Clarity on Tesla P4 already using lower clocked GPUs.
     
    #2387 CSI PC, May 12, 2018
    Last edited: May 12, 2018
  8. mczak

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,015
    Likes Received:
    112
    So far there's no GP104 products though which have memory channels or ROPs disabled unless I'm missing something. Quite unlike the GM104, so there could be some chips left due to that.
     
  9. CSI PC

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    844
    Interesting thought.
    Relative to yield control by the SMs (never see full compliment P100 or V100 iteration) how great a problem though is requirement to disable ROPs/memory controller due to manufacturing process?
    Titan V spec was done to differentiate from V100 Tesla and Quadro (came later) rather than manufacturer process issues and launched reasonably early in the cycle, there was a need for a model to support the more expensive Tesla but as we can see we have not got a 'GV102' GPU for awhile so they went that route.
    If it is an issue then it works well now then for Titan V strategy, but they did not look to release a GP100 with memory channel/ROPs disabled and that was an expensive GPU to just discard.
    The Quadro models from what I understand are not cut.

    But then it seems this new model is just for the Chinese market so quite specific and could fit what you say or difficult to tell for sure (also way to clear stock-logistics) as they do receive some unusual models from both IHV.
     
    #2389 CSI PC, May 13, 2018
    Last edited: May 13, 2018
  10. Samwell

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    129
    It seems you're forgetting the GP100 12Gb models. Of Course these have ROPs disabled. I'm thinking over the exact same reason as mczak. After time you just get enough chips with defects in the ROP/Memory Interface. Better than to just throw them away.
     
    CSI PC likes this.
  11. CSI PC

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    844
    Yep sorry did forget about them as focused only on Quadro and primary HPC cards, but the Titan V launched too quickly to rely upon defects with scale of purchases beyond just consumers (quite a bit before the Quadro was available to clients).
    That said if mczak is right the strategy would benefit longer term for Titan V from manufacturing cost perspective, I must admit I have never really thought about how big the scale is for memory controller defects for the GPUs and interesting point.
    Cheers
     
    #2391 CSI PC, May 13, 2018
    Last edited: May 13, 2018
  12. mczak

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,015
    Likes Received:
    112
    I don't know how likely defects in ROP/L2/MC (but probably not PHYs I don't think you could reroute those and using differently placed memory chips would probably be impractical) are.
    But, don't forget the GM204 GTX 970/980, where the former had 1 such piece disabled (but still used 256bit physical interface). I don't think nvidia did that just for product segmentation, they certainly didn't bother to tell anyone (which got them quite a lot of bad press, probably would have been no big deal if they would have just been more open about it, but in any case they didn't repeat it with the GTX 1070).
    AMD OTOH generally doesn't seem to do cards with disabled ROPs (there's exceptions though).
     
  13. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,928
    Likes Received:
    1,626
    GTX 970 GM204 or GM206?
     
  14. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,183
    Likes Received:
    1,840
    Location:
    Finland
    The bad press didn't come from "not bothering to tell anyone about disabled ROP" but from actually straight up lying about the cards configuration and capabilities (it wasn't just the ROPs).
    Looks like at least GeForce.com is only showing 10-series these days, but when the 900-series was still shown they never actually corrected all the specs if I'm not mistaken

    GTX 970 was always GM204.
     
    pharma and Lightman like this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...