NVIDIA Game Works, good or bad?

Discussion in 'Graphics and Semiconductor Industry' started by Kaotik, Dec 31, 2013.

Tags:
  1. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    1- 2 objects ? you should have goes on page 2 of the techreport articles They was at all time the water layer who was compute tesselation geometry, but not visible..

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I dont know who was faulty for it..... And effectively that is an old story who should be separated of Gamework question.. This said, it was not the only TWIMTP games at this time where tesselation was strangely out of places, bringing a nice stall on AMD gpu's performances, ( HawX )..
     
    #441 lanek, Aug 14, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2015
    ToTTenTranz and BRiT like this.
  2. Razor1

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    749
    Location:
    NY, NY
    I already mentioned the water and why it is the way it is ;) Its the way the engine was made, the water plane is not removable, well only way to remove it is if the clipping planes are activated by the distance of the camera. This is doable by making the land at a much higher height but that might have other adverse effects to raytrace systems for lighting, and other effects.

    Making general wide range statements without understanding the underlying engine technology is something AMD's Huddy is trying to take advantage of, and seemed to have succeeded to some degree. He is using gamers naivety and blaming what ever he can on something I don't think he even understands...... If he does good for him but he himself is fooling end users.
     
    #442 Razor1, Aug 14, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2015
    Putas and pharma like this.
  3. dogen

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    259
  4. firstminion

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    46
    In the end we still get a ______ concrete slab, nvidia benefits from that ______ concrete slab and AMD is again ridiculed by pointing out that a ______ concrete slab is ______.

    While we can't complain that a ______ concrete slab, like ______ batman capes and ______ water planes, are ______ because "they were meant to be like that!".

    While we can't point out how that ______ concrete slabs, capes and water planes benefits nvidia over AMD because "it's all the developers fault" and "how dare we infer nvidia have any influence over developers!"

    While we can't point out how those ______ assets relate to gameworks because they "all happened before gameworks ever existed" and "how dare we infer that history will repeat itself when nvidia writes the actual code!"

    "How dare we say that a company would ever pressure someone to do something that harms it's competitor!"

    AMD should make ______ concrete slab FX! Nvidia should add tessellatedFloor to gameworks!

    Still in the end a ______ concrete slab will remain ______ and we can't even say that out loud.
     
  5. Razor1

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    749
    Location:
    NY, NY
    the water is one plane and doesn't have pieces, FOV culling doesn't work with it because of this. Not sure about Cry Engine 3 in this regard if they are using a new type of culling like per pixel, but I don't think its likely because the amount of branching and computational power to search and validate on every pixel would be pretty expensive and probably out weights the cost of the potential overdraw performance hit.
     
  6. Razor1

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    749
    Location:
    NY, NY

    I don't know what exactly you are saying can you type normally?

    from what I gather from this malarkey is yes an IHV can ask a developer do something in a certain way but its up to the Dev to agree with it. I can say we have been asked from both sides do things in certain ways in the past but never did them. Crytek is one of those companies that does not agree with an IHV if its going to possible hurt the sale of a product to the half of their consumer group.
     
  7. firstminion

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    46
    There's always an excuse that seems to "explain it" but the issue keeps reappearing, hurting customers (sometimes even from both sides).

    At the same time, AMD (and developers that worked on it) started what is now Vulkan/DX12 and it's almost like they have to excuse themselves.
     
    ToTTenTranz likes this.
  8. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    He i will aggree with this ..

    The first time ( or first game ) it is an hasard, the second a coincidence, the third it start to be questionnable .... dont know what we can think after all the games developped in collaboration with Nivida ( gamework or TWIMTP ) who end with extraordinary problem of performance, on AMD side.

    Hopefully, it is not the case for all...
     
  9. Razor1

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    749
    Location:
    NY, NY
    Cry Engine 2 was already done well before Dx11 cards were out, the engine was for the most part complete for Crysis 2 game.
     
  10. firstminion

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    46
    Crysis 2 is Cry Engine 3.
     
  11. I.S.T.

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    389
    Correct. Cryengine 1 is Far Cry 1, Crysis 1, Crysis Warhead and Crysis 2 are all variations of Cryengine 2, and Crysis 3 is Cryengine 3.
     
    BRiT and Razor1 like this.
  12. Razor1

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    749
    Location:
    NY, NY
    no it wasn't, Tessellation came out as a patch for Crysis 2, and it was an updated Cry Engine 2.
     
    BRiT likes this.
  13. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,814
    Likes Received:
    5,915
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    I thought they demoed CE3 before Crysis 2. It was all about LPV and multiplat development.

    Don't know what tessellation has to do with the public version numbering.

    Anyways.

    Maybe they should have had many tears for the various features.
     
  14. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    One of the most costly patch of the history of gaming: 5millions of dollars given by Nvidia and a 4 months delay for release the game... ( does the developpers of Crytek, really need 4 months, and 5millions for learn how to use tesselation ?

    Well, maybe Batman Arkham knight have beat now this 5 millions patch cost , but for different reasons lol ..

    dont take it too seriously, i was think it will be a little joke .
     
    #454 lanek, Aug 23, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2015
  15. RedVi

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Australia
    ToTTenTranz likes this.
  16. Razor1

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    749
    Location:
    NY, NY
    I've developed on Cry Engine 1 and 2 so pretty familiar with which engine Crysis 2 used ;)

    Cry Engine 3 is indeed multi platform version of Cry Engine 2, but there were many changes in shaders to make cross platform performance better. (this is why we never went with Cry Engine 3 cause we didn't need cross platform)
     
    #456 Razor1, Aug 23, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2015
    Malo, fellix, BRiT and 1 other person like this.
  17. firstminion

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    46
    "Crysis 2 is built with CryENGINE 3"
    http://www.crytek.com/games/crysis2/overview

    Public information says that Crysis 2 is CE3. Still, CE3 may be a patched up CE2 so your input is valuable (I do remember news of new features through updates).
     
  18. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,803
    Likes Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Germany
    Wouldn't it be funny if Crysis 3 exhibits the same, questionable behaviour that was mentioned (the water) with it being a Get-in-the-Game title? I don't know whether or not it will, maybe someone wants to check? As far as i recall there are levels on different heights above the waterline, so maybe we can see if the behaviour Razor1 described is still present?
     
  19. Ethatron

    Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    264
    Sigh. The water-volume can be turned off completely with a cvar, otherwise it is adaptive resolution; if you go far enough away (say far-plane style far) it's also none or 1 or 4 triangles. It's also drawn after other geometry, like the sky, so if terrain covers the geometry entirely it's all occlusion culled. The assumption that because you can forcefully make it visible, it effectively has any significance in the utilized context, is simply wrong.
    If you make a city like GTA or Watch Dogs and you have terrain on, but the city actually sealed the entire surface and even the parks are something else, you might also think conspirativly why the heck is the stupid terrain still on? Well, because it's [sufficiently] free [or neglible], ofc.
     
  20. Razor1

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    749
    Location:
    NY, NY
    CartemS Cry Engine 3 is essentially Cry Engine 2 with cross platform support, I don't think base voxel terrain generation was changed

    Ethatron, yes if there was a variable or a flag for it when in FOV or not that would have been nice but to my recollection there was none, but most of Crysis and Crysis 2 levels have water in them (outdoor), I think that is why the problem is there. The extra geometry processing might not be stopped, pixel overdraw for pixel shaders could be stopped though.
     
    #460 Razor1, Aug 24, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2015
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...