Need some help (c++, c#, opengl, dx)

lazzygee

Newcomer
I just started learning programming recently and picked up a few books about C++. Not to say that i'm already a programmer but I'm learning really quick. I already have some ideas of how programming "works" and how programmers think. As a newbie I have no intentions programming for other platforms than Windows or using some other IDE than MS VS.NET. I was always interested into graphics and how (real-time) 3D stuff works so I started reading a lot about OpenGL and DX and eventually decided to use DX as it seems (from reading what others say about both) easier to me :\ Correct me here if I'm wrong but if for example I want to use a specifis effect which uses pixel shaders i must write (opengl) seperate extientions for each vendor? This (and the fact that I have no intention coding for non Win platforms) is what I based my desicion upon which is a better API for me. The way I see it right now is that you "only write everything once" in DX while you must rewrite some stuff in OpenGL specific for each vendor? Any info on this, or if there is an article discussing how DX programming is different from OpenGL would be very usefull.
note: don't think that I already _know_ how real-time 3D stuff works. I'm still in the process of making a spinning cube :)

Now to my other question :)
As I said C++ seems quite straight forward to me. I can already look at some code and to some degree understand what it does, or if I put it better - understand why it's there. After some reading about C# I am tempted that it might be a better language for my purpose. And I don't want to learn both languages because then I'll just fail in both because my mind would be messed up :) I try to keep it simple untill i have enough knowledge.
I am more looking for info about if there are any developers (engine coders) out there that actually use C# or have said about it something.