More important than value for money

Frank

Certified not a majority
Veteran
It's more important for a brand to have the fastest card on the market and offering good developer support than having the cards that offer the best value for the money and the best specifications.

Since the GeForce 8800 appeared, just about every new AA game I try to play on my X1950 Pro requires me to jump through hoops to get it to work. Browsing the forums for a solution almost always show many issues with Ati boards, and few, if any, with nVidia boards. And I'm pretty sure that's because the devs use 8800s and support from nVidia to make their game.

Just now, I started playing Mass Effect, and immediately notice the extremely pixelated lights and LOD textures, and the lack of AA. So, I upgrade to the most recent driver and get a black screen and VPU recovery error. And things like this happen awfully often with most new games.

So, while Ati/AMD sell cards that offer great value for money, they need to work at making it convenient for game developers to use their cards and support to make games for them to succeed. Because my next card is definitely going to be an nVidia one.

So, what has the above to do with 3D architecture and chips? It's about drivers and consumer satisfaction. But without those, the former are moot.

Why the hell must you start every thread with a completely wrong assumption? You even word the sentence like a question but end it with a period. What are you even trying to do here? I don't understand at all, it's like you want to ask a question to start a conversation on the topic but you end it with periods and then sum it up like what you said is the truth (which it hardly ever is) and it's the final statement.

Well the pixelated lights your talking about is a ME issue, the shadows on the characters in cut scenes will look horrible regardless of what card your using. You can do some ini hacks to make them look a little better.