Memory space on modern PCs

PsychoZA

Newcomer
I was wondering how the memory space is defined in modern computers. I'm studying Electronic Engineering and I understand how a microcontroller or simple CPU works, but I don't know how more complex CPU's read/write to RAM. The reason I ask this is that I was wondering if its possible for a CPU to jump to a location outside of the system memory (DRAM) to get the next instruction. I.e. could a program make the CPU fetch the next instruction from DRAM on a PCI-e card? Or do the memory controllers allow the system memory to be expanded beyond the DRAM slots?

Thanks.
(I've been hovering around here for years and I know there are some really well informed people about so, hello.)

The simple answer to your question is yes. The complex answer is yes it can, but normally it can't due to the PCI address space not being mapped into virtual address space by the OS kernel. In modern PCs the physical address space is split as follows

0 - 3GB is the first 3 GB of actual memory
3GB - 4GB is address space used by PCI devices
4GB and above is the rest of the physical memory

If the 3GB to 4GB range is mapped into virtual address space then it will be possible to execute from PCI provided the pages have execute enabled on them (if the CPU supports NX). It will be very very very slow, but none the less possible.

Ok. I'll expand my answer. ;)

Electronically, you need some way to map your adress bus to the bus of the right chip (chip select, generally). You can do that in two ways: use a separate bus to select the required device, or use the upper part of the adress to select it.

The first seems like the simplest, from an electrotechnical point of view. But not from a programming POV. Especially, because it would be very hard to select added devices, or devices that increase in size.

What all programmers really want, is a flat adress space. Which means: you can map devices wherever you feel like.