Intel Skylake Platform

Discussion in 'PC Industry' started by DSC, Jul 4, 2013.

Tags:
  1. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,503
    Likes Received:
    418
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    [​IMG]
     
    Grall, Kaarlisk and Raqia like this.
  2. Raqia

    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    18
    The width of the ring-bus they could run through both the CPU and GPU arranging the L3 like this could be wider (literally) than the prior layout as well.
     
  3. Laurent06

    Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    33
    I vote no. What you probably see is that SPECCPU 2006 470.lbm likes a lot memory bandwidth and that this gets quickly saturated as you increase the number of threads. Given that L2 BW increased and that good DDR4 BW is larger than DDR3 BW, such a result is not that surprising.

    That lack of increase above one core for 470.lbm is for instance mentioned here: Improving Cache Utilization Using Acumem VPE by Erik Hagersten, Mats Nilsson, and Magnus Vesterlund. You can read the article on Google Books.
     
    pjbliverpool likes this.
  4. Raqia

    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    18
    More skylake:

    link

    Nothing was mentioned about inverse hyper-threading so it's probably bogus. The eDRAM sounds much improved and there's new instructions for better cache usage as well.
     
  5. Kaarlisk

    Regular Newcomer Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    49
    They did also confirm this:
    I presume this means, for example, AVX-512 only for "big" Xeons.
     
  6. hoom

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,998
    Likes Received:
    529
    Or they pushed the single thread turbo more than last time so that the downclocks as other threads/cores load up hurts more?
     
  7. Entropy

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,130
    Likes Received:
    1,096
    There is a slide that clearly indicates this.
    Depending on how you look at it, you can see it as good or bad, but if you want to model reasonably sustained performance, you had better be aware of the issues when benchmarking, or your conclusions will be way off.
     
  8. Raqia

    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    18
    An interesting post from RWT about the eDRAM fill policy:

     
  9. hoom

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,998
    Likes Received:
    529
    Won't that increase the latency for a cache miss? :neutral:

    I did think I'd seen something like that a while back :smile2:
     
  10. AlexV

    AlexV Heteroscedasticitate
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,528
    Likes Received:
    107
    Compared to fetching the relevant line / block from DRAM?
     
  11. Gubbi

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,568
    Likes Received:
    950
    It says dram requests can be bypassed to the LLC, so wouldn't expect that to be the case.

    For the CPU cores it will almost certainly result in lower apparent latency of the LLC:

    In Gen 8 the L4 was a victim cache, the GPU would write to the LLC which would spill into the eDram L4. There was no way for the GPU to bypass the LLC without also bypassing the L4.

    Filling something like a G-buffer would fill the LLC multiple times, spilling to L4.

    In Gen 9 the GPU can bypass the LLC and write directly to L4 (or rather directly to DRAM and the L4 intercepts the traffic). This means data in the LLC isn't flushed which will result in higher performance *and* lower power consumption.

    It also allows for more aggresive prefetching to the L4, since it has much larger capacity.

    Cheers
     
    Grall, Kaarlisk and fellix like this.
  12. Raqia

    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    18
    I wonder how much programmer control is given over LLC bypass policies as they mention "optional modes." This might be what some of the new cache instructions in Skylake are for.
     
  13. Rodéric

    Rodéric a.k.a. Ingenu
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,018
    Likes Received:
    870
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    There are SSE instructions to bypass some cache levels, I dunno whether they extended those or added some more.
     
  14. hoom

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,998
    Likes Received:
    529
    I think I was looking at that backwards :oops:
    Certainly makes sense to avoid thrashing L3 with all the GPU data also, I was thinking on the assumption of me never expecting to use a CPU without discrete GPU so not considering that usage.
     
  15. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,174
    Location:
    La-la land
    Some reports are coming out that the thinner PCB substrate used in Skylake 1150-series CPUs is bending under the pressure exerted by some coolers designed for older socket versions.

    Not sure if there's been any outright processor failures as a result of this, but it's definitely somewhat alarming seeing visible deformation in the substrate of an affected CPU. I can imagine it would be very problematic moving a deformed processor from one socket to another; that probably would result in failure; either burnt components, or (hopefully) just a system that can't boot.
     
  16. Albuquerque

    Albuquerque Red-headed step child
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    3,845
    Likes Received:
    329
    Location:
    35.1415,-90.056
    I know Intel has provided guidance in the past regarding maximum "socket pressure" for aftermarket cooling assemblies; I wager they've updated this detail for Skylake. For years, especially with the Pentium 4 era, aftermarket coolers have introduced absurd clamping pressures to the point of warping the motherboard.

    I'm going to have a hard time "blaming" Intel for taking reasonable steps to drop z-height of the processor. Clamping force does play a part in heat transfer, but some of the solutions are too much to be reasonable.
     
    Kyyla and BRiT like this.
  17. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    10,613
    Likes Received:
    5,169
    Some coolers put a ridiculous amount of pressure on the CPU and the motherboard.
    I'm shocked with the amount of strength I've needed to apply just to fit some coolers in place.
     
  18. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,174
    Location:
    La-la land
    No idea how other coolers do it, but the Noctuas I'm using in my PCs have a very sturdy rear plate they screw into which creates a sturdy backing/reinforcement for the CPU socket. If a cooler only clips into the motherboard, that might well cause warping if excessive clamping pressure is applied...
     
  19. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,263
    Likes Received:
    3,450
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    I wonder if this could be improved by some kind of stiffener or nibs along the margin of the package for socketed chips that could come to rest on offsets on a modified socket. I suppose the forces would balance out best if the bottom of the heatspreader aligned so that force can be transmitted vertically and symmetrically through the substrate.
    Possibly, columns interspersed among the lands?

    Increasingly complex packages, and maybe for a product like an AMD interposer-based system, might have more that can be affected.
    The package for Xeon Phi is really oddly shaped, although I don't think there is an enthusiast cooler market for it.
    Possibly the decline in socketed consumer products in general would make this moot.
     
  20. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7,848
    Likes Received:
    1,571
    Heck I've chipped the edge of amd Athlon die when putting a cooler years ago. It still works but it no longer have sharp edges lol. BTW some aftermarket cooler is very heavy. So it may be have proper pressure while stationary, but what when moving?
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...