Final Fantasy XIII - Heading to PC

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by Need 2 Know, Jul 23, 2008.

  1. COPS N RAPPERS

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    32
    Well they did say they will add more updates. as for me, i already picked this game up, no use turning back. the price tag does seem very fitting, it's much better than waiting for emulation.
     
  2. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    The resolution is a big problem anyway, some enthusiast gamers know how to deal with it with specific tools, but for other, they will face a little problem at start.

    Anyway, i have a 1440p monitor, with HD7970's, is GedoSato working ? I just ask, because this will mean this soft will be one of the only method for downsampling on AMD gpu's with last drivers.

    Normally the scale on my monitor is not a problem from 720p ( 4 pixels / 1 ).. the result are in general good from this resolution, specially for movies as the result could be even better than use 1080p following the encoding )
     
  3. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,106
    Likes Received:
    883
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    Maybe for you. I wouldn't play the game if they paid me $15 in its current state. By purchasing it you're just encouraging them.
     
  4. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland

    Well, for any other games i will think as you but: At first, SE had never wanted to release the FF series on PC .. exclusivity for PS..

    Sometimes ago, they have start release old one, FFIV, V, VII etc .. when you see the "port" of the old ones, i can tell you this FF one is way ahead of what they have previously show on it.. Thoses are old games, they will never re edit them on console whatever they will not push time for it.

    Thoses are not new games or presented like it .. ( it was a complete silent launch, like with previous FF ), its just re edition of old one.

    Now at 10$, games who have been released years ago on consoles, dont expect much ( yes they try milk us ofc ). At best, wait 1 month, and you will find it for 2$ during the christmas period on Steam...

    I hope one day, they will release the recent one with a full launch port at 50$ anyway. ( optimized for pc and all ).
     
  5. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    6,980
    Likes Received:
    1,213
    lol this game is super CPU bound due to the inability to support multi-thread.
    it runs Silky-smooth 30fps on my 5 years old (not gaming) laptop ahahahaha oh square...

    EDIT:
    this makes me realized that my PC with 4 cores CPU running @ 3,5 GHz is slower (performance per-clock) than my laptop with 2 cores @ 2,5 GHz.. Yikes. the irony lol

    EDIT2;
    hey i just realized then this means FF XIII will run fine on a TABLET :D
    too bad Square did not add touch-screen support.

    the game is calm, no need rapid button presses. Seems a good fit for playing away from home, on a tablet.
     
    #85 orangpelupa, Oct 24, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 24, 2014
  6. COPS N RAPPERS

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    32
    Yeah see in FFXIII's case, Square was originally against FFXIII coming to PC, based on the game's budget and compensating sales of the port. with the PC version out of the picture, things like frame buffer and shader effects were locked to console specifications.

    Of course Square has the ability to open their sealed can of worms but this could cost extra; them having to go through the game's old code which may open more can of worms. (depending on if the resolution and shader effects are hard coded into the game's engine.)

    Yes, That's the best solution. SE actually sees Steam as a worthy vessel to market their games so hopefully there will be more to come. they did have an opportunity with FFXIII to put extra work into it, but this opportunity has been dropped as the pricing was already set.

    They have it already playing on a tablet.



    This was part of their intentions.
     
  7. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    6,980
    Likes Received:
    1,213
    but its a game streaming. Pretty useless when going mobile with tablet (in airplane, train, rural areas). except in japan where train still have fast internet connection.
     
  8. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Search on Playstore and Appstore, you will find some Square Enix games.


    Lets be honest, it is a silent launch, no publicity, a re edition of an old game.. available for 10$ on Steam, it is not a full game launch.. dont expect too much....


    This said, outside the bad "MMO" they had release i really want them to release each new version of FF on PC, fully optimized ( not so straight compartible port ) .. but FF was part of the contracts between SE and Sony, and i dont know, but i can imagine it is still part of it ,....
     
  9. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    So i can confirm that Gedosato is working perfectly with my 2560x1440 monitor + AMD GPU's.

    Initial resolution: 3840x2160 > 2560x1440 full screen..


    2560x1440 ( downsampled from 3840x2160 ) ( click on the image for access the full version )
    [​IMG]
     
    #89 lanek, Oct 27, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 27, 2014
  10. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,726
    Likes Received:
    4,395
    But for an actual 2560x1440 resolution, you'll need to use borderless window together with gedosato, right?
     
  11. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    With downsampling from 3840x2160 to 2560x1440 i set full screen, i have not try a direct 2560x1440 resolution.

    But the game is light, even with MSAA, there's no problem to maintain 60fps on a single 7970.

    [​IMG]
     
    #91 lanek, Oct 27, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 27, 2014
  12. COPS N RAPPERS

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    32
    After experimenting a little, no, you don't have to game in a windowed mode for that, or use borderless window. I'm currently gaming in full screen, using a game pad. My native resolution is currently 3840x2160@60, it's then down scaled to 1920x1080p to fit my screen.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    My Gedosato settings

    Edit settings config
    [​IMG]

    ffxiiiimg config

    [​IMG]


    If you have issues with higher native resolutions or down sampling; match both resolutions in Gedosato's ffxiii config to something more suitable.
     
    #92 COPS N RAPPERS, Oct 27, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 27, 2014
  13. COPS N RAPPERS

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    32
    Some screen shots i took from Steam. (forgive it's Jpg compression)

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  14. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,775
    Likes Received:
    2,197
    gameplay or cutscenes ?
     
  15. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,106
    Likes Received:
    883
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    That's gameplay.
     
  16. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,775
    Likes Received:
    2,197
    Square Enix offers the chance to play FINAL FANTASY XIV for free on Steam with a 14-day trial
     
  17. COPS N RAPPERS

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    32
    Square has sent out a patch to fix the escape button as of yesterday.
    The good news is this won't be the first and last update they will be offering. PC gamers can now rejoice as they will be getting 1080p and graphics options.

    SquareEnix Edit - Final fantasy XIII-2 will be released on Steam also on December 11, it has been priced at $19.99 (€16.02) and will feature options as well (including 1080p 60fps), see steam for more details. http://store.steampowered.com/app/292140/
     
    #97 COPS N RAPPERS, Nov 12, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2014
  18. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    6,980
    Likes Received:
    1,213
    lol is their engineers have trouble with resolution or something? i think The Last remnant using Unreal Engine also limited to 720 and 1080p. Then FF 14 also was limited to 720 and 1080p (long time ago, before ARR update, dunno about now).

    now FF13 will be added with 720 and 1080.... why not real custom resolution, following monitor EDID.
     
  19. COPS N RAPPERS

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    32
    If you read the update description they stated - so yes it should support other resolutions.
     
  20. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    6,899
    Likes Received:
    2,963
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Well it doesn't state anything about aspect ratios so it could be only 16:9 support.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...