Evidently, Crysis is coming back [2020]

Discussion in 'Console Gaming' started by Rangers, Apr 14, 2020.

  1. Arnold Beckenbauer

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    636
    Location:
    Germany
    First Crysis Remasteres YT videos are out. Different modes for Ps4Pro: Raytracing (1080), Quality (1800?) and Performance?
     
    #161 Arnold Beckenbauer, Sep 17, 2020
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2020
  2. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,366
    Likes Received:
    3,046
    Crysis is killing PCs again. The game's framerate at Very High 1080p is 38fps on a 2080Ti. :embarrased:

    Also, the game has a "secret" setting called "Can it run Crysis?" where the LOD completely disappears! And the Raytracing achieves sick levels.

    Proof, this live stream.



    [​IMG]
     
    Lightman likes this.
  3. Arnold Beckenbauer

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    636
    Location:
    Germany
    Did the testers get the final version? I've read some comments, that Crytekis still working on the funal version (current version with DX11, Vulkan shall come).
     
  4. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    8,297
    Likes Received:
    4,735
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    They're releasing a remake of Crysis on DX11??
     
  5. Rangers

    Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    12,691
    Likes Received:
    1,515
    On another forum read a comment the game is still massively single thread CPU limited as always. So yes, it's hard to run but evidently not for any good reasons. Kinda yech.

    Oh well I'm still getting it, if possible. Supposedly is $30. Not showing on the Xbox store despite supposed release tomorrow.
     
    pjbliverpool likes this.
  6. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    17,821
    Likes Received:
    7,883
    CryTek were targetting a future 10 GHz P4 as a baseline and pushed things even further so that Crysis could take advantage of even faster CPUs than a 10 GHz P4 when they came out.

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pentium_4

    At the time they started development that's the guidance that Intel was giving developers...and everyone else in the Tech industry.

    Problem was, that never happened and the silicon wall was looming on the horizon which forced everyone go to wide with multiple cores versus a very high clocked single CPU core.

    Unfortunately for CryTek there was no way they could have seen that coming when they started work on Crysis. Noone saw it coming.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  7. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,366
    Likes Received:
    3,046
    well, most of the games I play perform quite a lot better on DX11 than DX12 for whatever reason. Resident Evil 2 Remake is the only game I chose to run using DX12 instead of 11 but just 'cos the game has a glitch on my PC when I reach the display at the very beginning of Claire's campaign -DX 12 = no glitch there for me-.

    Currently playing Crysis 3 -not so fun atm-. What surprises me the most is that -like in other games- no matter if I set the graphics to maximum settings, it looks better to me at Low.

    The game runs at 65-90fps on Max settings but at Low settings runs at 165fps. It happens in soooo many games. Sure Ultra has some extra details but the game feels and looks worse to me compared to Low -as long as Low keeps the framerates high- and can't define why.
     
    #167 Cyan, Sep 18, 2020
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2020
  8. Arnold Beckenbauer

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    636
    Location:
    Germany
    I hope, no. And this is why:
    The game is highly CPU limited on "Can it run Crysis".

    (German language, difficult language, but look at the Afterburner's data on the left).
     
  9. Ike Turner

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Messages:
    2,105
    Likes Received:
    2,290
    In true Crytek fashion the game is totally broken on Xbox One X and half broken on PC. Can't believe Saber wasted time on this (gotta get that $$ tho..).
     
    Lightman and Arnold Beckenbauer like this.
  10. Arnold Beckenbauer

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    636
    Location:
    Germany
    #170 Arnold Beckenbauer, Sep 18, 2020
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2020
    Cyan likes this.
  11. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    22,146
    Likes Received:
    8,531
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Broken dynamic scaler?
     
  12. SlmDnk

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    394
    That is a maximum failure.

    EDIT: I certainly won't be touching this remaster after reading this article: https://www.dsogaming.com/articles/...iginal-pc-2007-version-has-worse-pc-controls/

    The absence of the Ascension mission, the worsened controls and that it is based on the console version of Crysis were the reasons.
     
    #172 SlmDnk, Sep 18, 2020
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2020
  13. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,366
    Likes Received:
    3,046
  14. Ika

    Ika
    Newcomer Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    12
    Crysis was the pinnacle of videogame graphics when it came out, and the remaster is nothing like that, me thinks. A mod/addon at best, so just another saber cashgrab, they turned the game into a console port on the PC.
    I know it's always easy to say bad things about the work of others, but I could not escape that conclusion... sadly.
     
    Lightman, pjbliverpool, Cyan and 2 others like this.
  15. Arnold Beckenbauer

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    636
    Location:
    Germany
  16. Arnold Beckenbauer

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    636
    Location:
    Germany


    I bought the game yesterday and I'm surprised, who good it runs on my Xbox One (Motion Blur disabled). Sometime I see some tearing. Even in the "Achieved with Cryengine" intro I see tearing.
    I finished the first level and it feels harder than on PC (original) or Crysis 2 (PC) with the Xbox One controller. In the original game the Armor mode is the standard mode and you can switch to the other modes, in Crysis 2 you must activate it with LB or Q. But Crysis 1 is not Crysis 2, it's a different gameplay.
     
    Cyan likes this.
  17. Rangers

    Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    12,691
    Likes Received:
    1,515
    Dunno if there's been a patch yet but on X One X I can report:

    Turned RT on=massive graphical corruption
    HDR on=massive graphical corruption
    Quality mode=massive graphical corruption

    Literally the only playable mode is performance, no RT no HDR no Quality

    Some people seem to play on quality on X One X, why would my experience be different? No idea, maybe I need to reinstall, but cant be arsed.

    Terribleeeee.

    Game itself seems decent fun, seems easier than PC and controller seems to play very smooth, I also prefer checkpoints to the ratchet old "fire one bullet then save" PC system that constantly forced you into bugged out states with no recourse.

    On One X performance, the water is...clear. Dont know how else to describe it, not sure if it's supposed to be good or bad. It seems to lack polish though.

    Graphics still look nice today despite only 15GB, makes me wonder why stuff like COD needs 200?

    Crysis is much like SF 2, constantly suckering me out of $ every few years (but I did actually put heavy playtime into SF2 in my younger days at least and loved it). I still consider buying a switch for handheld Crysis (and not playing that either)
     
  18. PSman1700

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2019
    Messages:
    4,664
    Likes Received:
    2,125
    Almost sounds like 90's pc gaming :p
     
  19. Arnold Beckenbauer

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    636
    Location:
    Germany


    What the hell are they doing? Over 8 GB patch for my Xbox One. Insane.
     
  20. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    17,821
    Likes Received:
    7,883
    OK, after seeing more, I have to say that while I find the improvements to lighting and usage of software RT to be incredibly impressive (more so than almost all hardware RT titles, except maybe Control)...

    Why? WHY?!?!?!?!?

    Why did they use the console version of the game. Just because of this, the original Crysis is still in most ways superior to the remaster. /sigh. There are so many missing things in the the remaster that just look wrong or bad because of this choice. It's absolutely mind boggling that if you're going to do a remaster of such an iconic tech showpiece, that you should use the iconic tech showpiece as the base upon which you build...not the crippled version with so much of the technology cut and missing.

    ARGH!

    So, frustrating... At times it looks better than the original and at other times it looks sooo SOOOO much worse.

    Regards,
    SB
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...