CryptoCurrency Mining with GPUs *spawn*

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by CarstenS, Jun 1, 2017.

  1. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,796
    Likes Received:
    2,054
    Location:
    Germany
    Hawaii is a total beast atm wrt to ETH mining. Without much tuning you can get above 30 MH/s (for comparisons sake: with the same, low amount of tuning, a RX580 goes to ~26 MH/s.). If you can get cheap electricity as well, you're set. Especially considering the still skyrocketing ETH rates.

    Just toying around with a R9 295X2. :D
     
    Lightman likes this.
  2. Rootax

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    570
    Location:
    France
    Damn... I was looking at Radeon Pro Duo + ek waterblock, but the 1600euro price.... not smart, even with the eth price :eek: I'm waiting and waiting for Vega, then I hope XSPC or EK will deliver a WB quickly... AND that the chip will be good for mining. With HBM2 I'm not that sure... But I don't see it being worse than Fiji...
     
  3. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    6,955
    Likes Received:
    3,037
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Now this is going to be the big problem. All the actual gamers waiting for Vega won't be able to get one with stock going to FE, Apple and the remaining consumer editions being taken by the stupid mining craze.
     
  4. Rootax

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    570
    Location:
    France
    Well I'm a gamer too :eek:

    Yeah, at the same time, RX570 and 580 are selling like crazy because it's not that expensive. But you still can find Nano and Fury X. So, my guess is, high end vega won't be such "demanded" by miners, because of the price and probably power consumption. RX570/580 were really a special case I believe, low power consumption, low price, and very good mining performances with tweaked memory timing. If I was not gaming, I would not be interested in Vega for mining only (except if it does crazy number like 50-60 mh/sec, but I doubt it)
     
    Malo likes this.
  5. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    6,955
    Likes Received:
    3,037
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Lies! Stay away from my Vega! :grin:

    With Foundation Edition coming out later this month, I'm assuming by end of July release for RX the miners will know the perf/$ so we'll see.
     
    Rootax likes this.
  6. Rootax

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    570
    Location:
    France
    Ah yes, Foundation Edition... I wonder what will be the differences with the RXs... (except 8 vs 16gb)... If the reference design is the same with RXs, maybe the WBs will be available soon :eek:
     
  7. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Well miners offtly use more than 2 on a motherboard, so i will say 4-8x 570 linked to an motherboard will surely still be better cost / mh whatever is the perf of vega for it.

    Anyway, offtopic question, but yo use fork or classic for ETH mining ?
     
  8. Rootax

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    570
    Location:
    France
    Yeah I agree. That's why I don't fear a Vega shortage (due to mining anyway).

    For eth, I'm using Genoil ethminer 1.1.9. I tried the famous Claymore, but it's was not faster for me... And I don't care about the additional functions.
     
  9. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    I will give a try to this one thank you.
     
  10. Rootax

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    570
    Location:
    France
    It's a pretty simple one. I can give you the command I use if you want. It's no longer supported by the dev, but, it's very stable for me, and efficient too.
     
  11. entity279

    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,228
    Likes Received:
    422
    Location:
    Romania
    Started with claymore today on dual 1070s (which will become quad in a few days when my adapters come). Liked how straightforward it is... The dual mining feature of Claymore's isn't worth it you think?
     
    pharma likes this.
  12. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    If i need, later no problem, thanks. but anyway right now, i need first change my PSU as it slowly dying ( on the 3.3V rail .. sic ).. dont want mine much and kill it before i have take a new one.
     
  13. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,796
    Likes Received:
    2,054
    Location:
    Germany
    I don't use it [edit: the dual mining feature], but you can easily switch it off (add -mode 1 to the config.txt). And Claymore is still maintained, biggest plus in my books. Downside for some: 1% of mining time goes to the author, but I think it's fair to compensate people for their work. You can switch that off too, but then the miner runs a little slower, so you don't get any benefits out of it.


    --
    On a separate note: With a slightly more optimized base system, I am getting 30 MH/s for 128 watts at the wall.edit: This is not with the R9 295 X2, but with an undervolted 1070!! Adding in a 2nd card is next.
     
    #73 CarstenS, Jun 13, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2017
    Lightman likes this.
  14. Rootax

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    570
    Location:
    France
    128w for the gc, or the whole pc (without screen) ??
     
  15. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Also does you pass the 30MH/s with the 295x2 ? ... my 2x 7970 in claymore benchmark mode, in an absolutely not optimized setup is at 27MH/s ... that i find a bit slow ( should be around 32 MH/s ? ).. due to driver maybe...

    By not optimized, i mean this windows is an old gaming rig, not made for mining at all. In fact i wanted just try benchmark it.
     
    #75 lanek, Jun 13, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2017
  16. entity279

    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,228
    Likes Received:
    422
    Location:
    Romania
    I'm dual mining LBC now... Might as well have some other coins around (wont sell these out i think) case they would grow in value.

    Also planning to fully saturate my 1kw Seasonic Titanium with 6 total 1070s soon, if I can find the missing two cards somewhere in Europe (here in Romania, the very few 1070s that are on stock are reaching the cheaper 1080s' prices).

    This *is* fun, had some money in the bank getting those depressing interest rates. It feels cool to actually get some subsidies for stacking up on computing power. Which can be later be used for different purposes, if mining fades away (folding, for instance)
     
    Lightman likes this.
  17. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,796
    Likes Received:
    2,054
    Location:
    Germany
    The 295X2 is 2× Hawaii, not Dual Tahiti, so yes, easily pass 30 MH/s. In fact, it was aroun 56 MH/s without much fancy stuff. All under Windows 10, I'm not much of a Linux guy (yet, might try EthOS some day).

    Whole PC without screen. Otherwise, I could not have measured at the wall, which matters here, since that's what I pay.

    If I may ask: what's the price you pay in romania for one kWh of electricity?
     
  18. entity279

    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,228
    Likes Received:
    422
    Location:
    Romania
    0.13ish EUR / kWh

    Need a place to store your mining rig ;) ?
     
    CarstenS likes this.
  19. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    The question was more if one gpu pass easely 30mhs ( so one 290 ), for what i have see 7990 is going over 34 Mh/s for ether. hence why i think my dual 7970 was way too slow. ( specially when they run way faster than the 7990 )
     
  20. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,796
    Likes Received:
    2,054
    Location:
    Germany
    Regular 290s just a bit under 30. R9 390X is around 31.


    Worth a tought! That's about half the rate we pay in germany. :|
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...