CryptoCurrency Mining with GPUs *spawn*

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by CarstenS, Jun 1, 2017.

  1. mrcorbo

    mrcorbo Foo Fighter
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3,564
    Likes Received:
    1,981
    That's exactly it. The more parties involved in securing the blockchain the harder it is for an individual or even a group to compromise it. Making mining possible for and appealing to the largest possible group is very beneficial to a cryptocurrency that uses PoW for block validation.
     
  2. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,797
    Likes Received:
    2,056
    Location:
    Germany
    From my limited understanding, the algorithms were designed with increasing difficulty in mind, thus preventing too steep inflation. Additionally, when literally overnight THashes could be achieved, where before it was MH or even GH, the whole point of distributed security becomes moot. AFAIK, when any one party controls more than 50% of the mining power, they could validate every transaction, legit or not.

    Now imagine a non-ASIC proof cryptocurrency where a party secretly develops said ASICS and deploys them across their mining farm(s). Hence disaster. :)
     
    Entropy likes this.
  3. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,831
    Likes Received:
    4,451
    Vega 64 doing 43.5MH/s while consuming 130W:



    With two Vega 64 in a single system he's pushing >86MH/s.




    EDIT: needless to say, this is before the mining software has had any optimizations done for Vega's architecture and specific hashing instructions.
     
    #283 ToTTenTranz, Sep 3, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2017
    BRiT and Lightman like this.
  4. entity279

    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,229
    Likes Received:
    422
    Location:
    Romania
    RIP MSRP double confirmed then. Didn't hear anything about power consumption so far 130w is quite good
     
    #284 entity279, Sep 3, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2017
    Lightman likes this.
  5. sir doris

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    110
    Where is the 130W comming from? HWINFO has 102W/ 43W and 105W/ 44W for GPU/ Memory respectively, for each card. Would those figures even include board power?
     
  6. Geeforcer

    Geeforcer Harmlessly Evil
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,297
    Likes Received:
    464
    Lol... or HWinfo is not reporting the power draw correctly.
     
    xpea and pharma like this.
  7. fehu

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,441
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    Somewhere over the ocean
    130W is system idle, 385W crunching
     
  8. sir doris

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    110
    So why state 43MH/s @130W?
     
    pharma likes this.
  9. fehu

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,441
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    Somewhere over the ocean
    Because it's monday
     
    Rootax and sir doris like this.
  10. itsmydamnation

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,296
    Likes Received:
    395
    Location:
    Australia
    Because he has 2 Vega in the machine.....
     
    Lightman likes this.
  11. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,831
    Likes Received:
    4,451
    System crunching pulling 406W (measured at the PSU) = 148W system idling + 129W GPU 0 + 129W GPU 1

    How hard is it to look at the pictures mentioned in the reddit post and where did that 385W number even came from?




    [​IMG]
     
    Malo, Alexko, BRiT and 1 other person like this.
  12. entity279

    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,229
    Likes Received:
    422
    Location:
    Romania
    Also, I do hope that CPU is overclocked (or is an ancient Vishera system like mine :) )? 148W system idle seems like such a huge number
     
  13. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,831
    Likes Received:
    4,451
     
    Alexko, BRiT, Lightman and 1 other person like this.
  14. sir doris

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    110
    Surely some of that 148W idle is the GPU's? Also HWINFO clearly states over 145W for each GPU (GPU+VRAM), so it can't be 130W while hashing.

    Also that text file in the middle of the screen just looks like the owners own man maths figures, not the output from any program.
     
  15. entity279

    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,229
    Likes Received:
    422
    Location:
    Romania
    Gpus idle very very low nowadays. Both my amd and nvidia rigs with 8 gpus each only draw 50 W after login.

    Vega could be different of course, but the few posts here say that it's not the case
     
    Lightman likes this.
  16. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,831
    Likes Received:
    4,451
    He's using a HX1000i PSU which sends the figures to HWinfo through USB. The only thing that he's using to calculate the cards' power consumption are total system figures, since HWinfo doesn't detect Vega's power numbers correctly:




    Idle power numbers with Vega 64 are ridiculously low at least since 17.8.2. The card that's not connected to a monitor should be in deep sleep and the card that is connected to a monitor has its core clocks going down to sub-30MHz (my own goes down to 28MHz).
     
    BRiT and Lightman like this.
  17. sir doris

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    110
    Well in that case that is truely remarkable, do you know what's responsible for the increased hashrate; new drivers or a new version of Claymore?
     
  18. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,831
    Likes Received:
    4,451
    Don't know about claymore but he's using the regular 17.8.2 gaming drivers because the others can't change voltage and clocks correctly.

    He's simply maintaining the HBM2 at a solid 1100MHz while downclocking the core to ~950MHz at ~1V.
     
  19. entity279

    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,229
    Likes Received:
    422
    Location:
    Romania
    In the post he mentions clock tuning only the things he did.

    The lastest claymore is version 9.8, which just added Vega support some 21 days ago ( https://github.com/nanopool/Claymore-Dual-Miner , see readme)

    He also seems to be backing away from the 130W number :
    "3rd Edit. Thanks to Mumak for clearing some information up. My total power looks to be closer to 141.052w. Taking data from the current HWiNFO beta for core power of 0.449w * 256 + HBM power of 26.108w."
     
  20. Mize

    Mize 3dfx Fan
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,048
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
    Smells fishy to me.
    If these numbers are achievable (43MH/s @<180w) there will be dozens on confirmations and how to videos forthcoming.

    Hwinfo is meaningless. Measure at the wall.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...