Baseless Next Generation Rumors with no Technical Merits [post E3 2019, pre GDC 2020] [XBSX, PS5]

Discussion in 'Console Industry' started by BRiT, Jun 9, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MrFox

    MrFox Deludedly Fantastic
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6,343
    Likes Received:
    5,679
    I agree 10 is definitely our best guess, but I wouldn't use the word "clearly" :lol:
     
  2. bgroovy

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    626
    Exactly, people should stop talking like we know these things for a fact when it's an extrapolation from an incomplete view.
     
  3. Proelite

    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,417
    Likes Received:
    744
    Location:
    Redmond
    It's clearly symmetrical, but I don't think I can call 10 chips. There might be 2 extra in the far corners that are blurred.
     
  4. MrFox

    MrFox Deludedly Fantastic
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6,343
    Likes Received:
    5,679
    Looking at it until my eyes bleed, the farthest blurry chip does look aligned with the left side, so yeah, symmetrical.

    Is there any angle eliminating the possibility of 4+4+4?
     
  5. Proelite

    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,417
    Likes Received:
    744
    Location:
    Redmond
    No. Distant side is too blurry.
     
  6. turkey

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    618
    Location:
    London
    For the layman what does 10 chips provide Vs 12?
     
  7. bgroovy

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    626
    -2.
     
    chris1515, Proelite, turkey and 3 others like this.
  8. Rangers

    Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    12,563
    Likes Received:
    1,387

    Guessing, 1GB or 2GB per chip so, 10GB or 20GB? If this means anything at all which seems doubtful. EG, incomplete early motherboard etc.

    Xbox One X already has 12GB so it seems odd they'd go less. OTOH 20 seems like too much for a mainstream product. OTO, O, H, I just bought a smartphone with 12GB RAM :lol:. Anyways all just fanciful speculating at this point.

    After X1X Microsoft was like "we aint making counting our memory chips so easy this time suckas!" :lol:
     
    turkey and iroboto like this.
  9. MrFox

    MrFox Deludedly Fantastic
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6,343
    Likes Received:
    5,679
    The chips are 14gbps, so...

    10 chip:
    560GB/s
    10GB or 15GB or 20GB depending on the capacity used

    12 chips:
    672GB/s
    12GB or 18GB or 24GB depending on the capacity used

    (15 and 18 capacities are dependent on the 1.5GB chips that are in the gddr6 standard docs but might not exist)
     
    Proelite and turkey like this.
  10. DSoup

    DSoup meh
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    12,112
    Likes Received:
    7,304
    Location:
    London, UK
    Microsoft need to be more than flexible, they need to be willing to potentially lose money to achieve some fanboy dream.
     
    milk and mrcorbo like this.
  11. DJ12

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,104
    Likes Received:
    196
    Apparently there was a Podcast that seems to suggest all the rumours saying ps5 is weaker than anaconda came directly from ms themselves.

    Lol

    Sneaky
     
  12. mrcorbo

    mrcorbo Foo Fighter
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3,900
    Likes Received:
    2,600
    My sources say they all came from a bitter Ken Kutaragi.
     
    milk and DJ12 like this.
  13. Proelite

    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,417
    Likes Received:
    744
    Location:
    Redmond
    They should a mix of 1GB and 2GB chips.

    So total would be 14GB minimum (2 GB chips, and 8 1GB chip) and 18 maximum (2 1GB chip and 8 2 GB chip).

    Considering how much effort they went to conceal the die in later shots, the render might be lies.
     
  14. Globalisateur

    Globalisateur Globby
    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3,415
    Likes Received:
    2,120
    Location:
    France
    Exactly. I wouldn't trust any information you could guess from the render. A mix of 2GB chips and 1GB chips ? that's absurd.
     
    Pixel likes this.
  15. McHuj

    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    735
    Location:
    Texas
    I can see a 320-bit bus happening, but it will be uniform chips in my opinion. 10 chips 14 Gbps chips for 20 GB for 560 GB/sec.

    However, the bandwith still seems low. A 40 CU Navi comes with a 256-bit bus and (I assume) 14-Gbps GDDR6 chips so around 448 GB/sec BW. Now, if we are going to 60 CU's, the bandwidth will have to go up to support the bigger GPU, but we also need to account for the CPU needs as well. An 8 core Zen 2 will need around 64GB/sec (maybe) ?

    Basically, I think for anything other than a 8-9 Tflop console, a 256-bit bus is insufficient. And for that to happen, I think they would need to go to 16 or 18 Gbps GDDR6 chips, but, I'm not sure how doable that is given the increased power consumption and costs.

    I think 20GB @ 560 GB/sec on a 320-bit bus would be sufficient for a ~10-11 TF console (54 CUs @ 1500MHz).
     
    ultragpu and BRiT like this.
  16. MrFox

    MrFox Deludedly Fantastic
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6,343
    Likes Received:
    5,679
    Does a 320bit wide require something new from amd's gpu architecture or does it scale that granularly?

    If they use dissimilar chip capacities, some chips would serve twice the addressing space which would cripple the average throughput, accesses would be imbalanced. I see zero chance of that happening.
     
  17. bgroovy

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    626
    It's strange. Maybe they wanted 16GB, but didn't think a 256bit bus was enough bandwidth.
     
  18. Pixel

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,000
    Likes Received:
    467
    With the CPU and the GPU competing for memory bank access in a unified/fused memory system, resulting in potentially significant memory contention, 256bit bus is not the same on a videocard as it is on an APU/SoC, particularly if you want to leverage the full capability of those Ryzen2 cores and the GPU simultaneously.
     
    #138 Pixel, Jun 14, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2019
    milk and BRiT like this.
  19. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    42,993
    Likes Received:
    15,163
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    Given past experience of knowing renders are dissected and specs inferred, perhaps it's deliberately bunk, just a mockup of a sort of motherboard?
     
    milk and Globalisateur like this.
  20. turkey

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    618
    Location:
    London
    Perhaps the GPU is not that large but there is some hbm hidden under the metal shim on top?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...