AMD Vega 10, Vega 11, Vega 12 and Vega 20 Rumors and Discussion

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by ToTTenTranz, Sep 20, 2016.

  1. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,648
    Likes Received:
    4,315
    "Few quarters" would imply the worst-case scenario for Vega 10 releasing in June and Volta in Q1 2018.
    But yeah, most likely they're ~1 year apart, and Volta will release closer to Vega 20 than Vega 10.

    Vega 10 will probably have its hands full with GP102/4, anyway.
     
  2. Esrever

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    298
    I wonder how large vega 11 is. Should be between polaris 10 and vega 10 but by how much? Vega 10 looks to be 2x the flops of polaris 10 so that leaves a lot of room for another chip.
     
  3. Newguy

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    112
    Roughly 350-370mm^2, AMD've released gpus in and around that size for a while (cypress, cayman, tahiti, tonga) so it's a good guess for the smaller Vega.
     
  4. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,029
    Likes Received:
    1,727
    Location:
    Finland
    Should it? AMD stated clearly with Polaris that the number doesn't reflect chips positioning, for all we know Vega 11 could be bigger than 10 (there were tons of rumors about that earlier, too)
     
  5. ImSpartacus

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    199
    I didn't mean to say that Vega 10 couldn't have fast DP (though I think that's shaky for unrelated reasons). I only meant that if your argument for Vega 10 having fast DP uses any instance of "But that's what AMD did with Hawaii!", then it's flawed. Hawaii wasn't a bad GPU by any means, but as I stated earlier, so much of its storied history reads like a book on how-not-to-make/release-a-GPU that AMD surely wouldn't be taking pointers from Hawaii's release/lifespan (but the sick bastard in me almost hopes that it happens again only because Hawaii was a fantastic deal, much to AMD's detriment).

    I think he only meant that there would be a massive gap between a ~64 CU chip and a 23 CU chip. It would be smart if Vega 11 helped plug that gap.
     
  6. Anarchist4000

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    359
    Just guessing here, but if all Vegas use an interposer and they're gluing chips together. I'd imagine the designs are probably ~1.4x the performance of each other to hit various tiers. Say 225mm2 and 300mm2 so they double into 450mm2 and 600mm2 while being reasonably sized to fit onto HPC Zen alone. Any larger two big ones wouldn't fit on an interposer with HBM. Smaller, a good old fashioned APU would likely be better with costs and yields. Differentiated from each other enough to hit relatively even performance tiers: 1x, 1.4x, 2x (1.8x cut), 2.8x (2.5x cut). While leaving enough room for 10% cut down parts to be sold to differentiate the high end and enthusiast parts. Only concern is 6 is a lot of high to enthusiast SKUs, but 390, 390x, Nano, Fury, and FuryX is already 5? Excluding the Pro Duo as that could still be possible with this design or how it's actually implemented.

    P10 would still exist for discrete GDDR parts that are price sensitive.

    As for the fast FP64, the guys wanting that will be paying top dollar for the biggest GPU with all the ram they can get. I'm just not sure the transistors are worth spending on it when power efficiency and size likely matter. Nvidia purpose built P100 and an entire rack for the task.
     
  7. FriendlyNeighbour

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hawaii wasn't a bad example of how to make a GPU. It was poorly released, however, a tradition that AMD continued with the flop that was Fury X. It didn't have enough supply and its reference coolers were atrocious.

    If it was, then AMD wouldn't have had dropped market share during this period.
     
  8. gamervivek

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    india
    Vega11 could be bigger but the dual Vega10 rumor makes it unlikely.

    On other note, I doubt that AMD would have HBM in xbox and that they wouldn't use the design for other products unlike Polaris10. So a 384-bit chip with gddr5/x with more shader engines might be on cards?
     
  9. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,029
    Likes Received:
    1,727
    Location:
    Finland
    Xbox will have an APU, even if the iGPU would have exactly identical specs to a discrete chip, they wouldn't be the same design - it would be nothing but a coincidence.
     
  10. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,771
    Likes Received:
    2,013
    Location:
    Germany
    What's Nvidias available High-End-DP chip atm? Isn't this GK210 which basically is GK110+more registers? It's pretty old now as well.
     
  11. sebbbi

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,924
    Likes Received:
    5,288
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    Pascal P100. 1/2 rate DP, 16 GB memory, 720 GB/s bandwidth.

    Nvidia claims it's "available now":
    http://www.nvidia.com/object/tesla-p100.html
     
  12. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,029
    Likes Received:
    1,727
    Location:
    Finland
    It's available in forms of NVIDIA DGX-1 and IBM Power S822LC for HPC, but not as separate accelerator
     
  13. gamervivek

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    india
    They shouldn't be that different either. And I was going more on the rumors of AMD using data fabric for CPU+GPU MCMs,

    http://wccftech.com/amd-opteron-mcm-zeppelin-cpu-greenland-hbm-data-fabric/

    Though the graphic chip there has its own HBM.
     
  14. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,029
    Likes Received:
    1,727
    Location:
    Finland
    It's world of a difference to make GPU part of APU compared to discrete, and I doubt Xbox would have the fabled MCM
     
  15. Anarchist4000

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    359
    If Scorpio was using a MCM I'd imagine the case design would look significantly different. The MCM design would be far more compact and likely allow a different, more efficient, cooling setup with HBM. A refresh for a slim version I could definitely see as costs come down a bit.

    Generally yeah, but in the case of a MCM the APU and discrete cards could actually use the same chip. Run PCIE over the interposer on the APU and would the GPU know any different? Beyond the likely lower voltages and latency? The biggest difference between APU and discrete has been the memory pool. With HBM it's effectively on the GPU.
     
  16. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,771
    Likes Received:
    2,013
    Location:
    Germany

    Haven't seen a live one yet and also none outside of Nvidia. That's why.
     
  17. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    They are only available for specific contract, they exist, but if you want one you need contracts as supercomputer centers or entreprise who are now starting to upgrade their installations. And thoses contract are not really public, so...impossible to know how much pieces have been done and running in test system or system who are build at this moment. basically they could order 2500 pieces today and have only 20 right now, 100 in 2 months.. 500 in 6 etc etc .

    Availlability for "consumers", through HP, Cray etc are still set at Q1 2017. ( i insist, delivery pass through HPC vendor system, but its a bit obvious with this type of system anyway )
     
    #117 lanek, Oct 1, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2016
    sebbbi likes this.
  18. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,771
    Likes Received:
    2,013
    Location:
    Germany
    What I mean is, I have not seen a live one anywhere installed and reported upon. I am quite aware that I cannot walk into mom-and-dad's electronics paradise and buy one right off the shelf.
     
  19. Razor1

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    749
    Location:
    NY, NY
    Well all servers from Dell, HP, and others, that have supposedly been getting supply, won't come out till end of Q4 this year, and Q1 next year, so yeah probably won't see one till then.
     
  20. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,771
    Likes Received:
    2,013
    Location:
    Germany
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...