AMD Vega 10, Vega 11, Vega 12 and Vega 20 Rumors and Discussion

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by ToTTenTranz, Sep 20, 2016.

  1. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,367
    Likes Received:
    3,959
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    Lightman and Cat Merc like this.
  2. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,139
    Likes Received:
    3,041
    Location:
    Finland
    except that it's supposed to combine both VS and GS stages into one
     
  3. Digidi

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    107
    I think this is one part of the new pipline. I think with the Next Generation Geometry pipline, AMD try to simmulate a Frontend on normal Shader, which will be very flexible ;)

    Maybe in the Future you don't have a front end. You have only the shader and a Workloaddistributer. You will get than a realy flexible Frontend. As more Polygons come in as more shaders are blocked for polygon work.
     
  4. gamervivek

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    229
    Location:
    india
  5. Picao84

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,840
    Likes Received:
    901
  6. itsmydamnation

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,314
    Likes Received:
    414
    Location:
    Australia
    70?
     
  7. Picao84

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,840
    Likes Received:
    901
    According to wccftech:

    https://wccftech.com/amd-7nm-vega-20-32gb-gpu-3dmark-benchmark-leaked-up-to/

     
  8. Bondrewd

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    361
  9. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,139
    Likes Received:
    3,041
    Location:
    Finland
    For what it's worth, at least I couldn't dig out the claimed results from 3DMark result database
     
  10. gamervivek

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    229
    Location:
    india
    wccftech article is by Khalid Moammer who always hypes AMD rumors. Videocardz author posted this link on his twitter,

    https://www.3dmark.com/compare/3dm11/12756151/3dm11/12754835#

    He also thinks that the clocks are placeholders in the bios which are getting read by 3dmark.

    Another long shot would be dual GPU which will have a Vega20 pci id.
     
  11. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,139
    Likes Received:
    3,041
    Location:
    Finland
    So there's 3 possible explanations for the results then: dual-gpu which doesn't get recognized by 3DMark, clocks which are read wrong by 3DMark, All claimed leaks and rumors of Vega 20 configuration are just dead wrong and it's a giant chip with like 8192 streamprocessors?
     
  12. Digidi

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    107
    Did anybody recognise that the reaults are the same? So i think it´s the same clock Speed and the same architecture but at lower Power
     
  13. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,139
    Likes Received:
    3,041
    Location:
    Finland
    They're not the same, 2 very similar results though. And WCCFTech compared one of the results to the Vega 64 Liquid Edition, which gets around same score, too.
     
  14. gamervivek

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    229
    Location:
    india
    Forgot that it'd look at SLI/CF too, so quite likely that VC explanation is correct and it's picking up the default values for the clocks and not the boost clocks.
     
  15. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    11,103
    Likes Received:
    5,640
    That (very) old slide set from videocardz has been spot on for everything save for a few things like dual Vega 10 (probably because of Vega 10's higher than expected power consumption) .

    I'm inclined to believe Vega 20 is a 64CU part. But that thing had better clock north of 1.7GHz on 7nm or RTG will have heads rolling pretty soon.
     
  16. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,698
    Likes Received:
    3,783
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    You mean 1.7ghz without causing local brownouts and green house effect?
     
    Cat Merc, TheAlSpark and Grall like this.
  17. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,139
    Likes Received:
    3,041
    Location:
    Finland
    Same slide set also presented Vega 11 as discrete card, while we now know it's the IGP in Raven Ridge
     
  18. rwolf

    rwolf Rock Star
    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    968
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Canada
  19. kalelovil

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    95
    It's not. Confusingly AMD GPU 'codenames' (based on some sort of internal ordering) and product names (based on CU count) overlap.
     
  20. CSI PC

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    844
    I think his post is in context of this slide at Videocardz Jan 2017:

    [​IMG]


    But then maybe they changed their strategy from that Q4 2016 presentation or there is a bit of misinformation around *shrug*.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...