AMD Mantle API [updating]

Discussion in 'Rendering Technology and APIs' started by MarkoIt, Sep 26, 2013.

  1. itsmydamnation

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    468
    Location:
    Australia
    i offered..... all i need is someone to send me the hardware :lol::grin:
     
  2. silent_guy

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,754
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Constructive comments offering help: we need more of those!
     
  3. Andrew Lauritzen

    Andrew Lauritzen Moderator
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,569
    Likes Received:
    756
    Location:
    British Columbia, Canada
    I take it you play a lot of infantry maps/modes ;)

    It does need to be - we're talking about ~10% differences here. I remain completely unconvinced that you could do any useful benchmarking in multiplayer on public servers.

    You don't really need Mantle to prove or disprove that part of the equation. Just take a pile of frame time logs from different games/servers and see how much variance there is.
     
  4. itsmydamnation

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    468
    Location:
    Australia
    nope just only play inf, most played maps would be zavod and paracel in conquest mode 64 player. If i played inf only my KDR would be way higher ( i have a C4'ing tank obsession) :lol:.....lol

    But again so long as you capture enough data from both DX and mantle on the same group of servers you will account for the viability. also its quite easy to tell when a BF4 server isn't running well, especially when you have network smoothing turned off (like i do, there are 50 odd 64p server within 10ms of me) so you can just omit that run.

    variance is not a bad thing because that's the real world, instead of trying to remove it, just account for it.
     
  5. Andrew Lauritzen

    Andrew Lauritzen Moderator
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,569
    Likes Received:
    756
    Location:
    British Columbia, Canada
    I'm a math major, I don't need a lecture on stats ;) I'll remain sceptical until you/someone proves you can "account" for variations to the level required in any reasonable amount of time. There are just too many variables (and too many correlated ones too) to "trust" that someone has factored everything else out. I could trivially show you any result you want from the noise and make it look legit.
     
  6. itsmydamnation

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    468
    Location:
    Australia
    thats why peer review exists :smile:. , im a trustworthy guy right :razz:

    i will do some numbers when i get around to it, but im a bit atypical 6950 @ 3840x1024 on 3x 5:4 17inch LCD monitors
     
  7. sir doris

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    160
    I would be interested if you could use the BF4 frame time capture to bench 3 or 4 server ticks on the same map, running the exact same settings and API, to see how close they are. It should give an idea of how useful that method could be.
     
  8. itsmydamnation

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    468
    Location:
    Australia
    had a quick bash tonight on zavod 64P conquest, full server.

    I have just done frame time
    setup is
    I7-3770@ 4.3ghz
    16gb 1866 ramm
    6970 ( 6950 bois flashed to 6970) @ 3840x1024 most settings @ medium no AA no AO, 75 FOV


    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  9. Jaaanosik

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    "Proletarians of all countries, unite!" ... the Marxist approach might be a way to go.

    The testers should unite and create a multiplayer 'scripts' that they would run on their testing server.
    Everybody should be able to report more repeatable results.
     
  10. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Have just run some basic test on Starswarm demo ( 1.0 steam version )

    System used:

    - Benchmark v. 1.0 ( steam version )
    - Single 7970 @ stock speed ( 1050mhz )
    - I7 4930K @ stock speed
    - Ram: 16Gb 2133mhz C9


    Follow + extreme setting ( default benchmark resolution: 1080p ( on 2560x1440p screen ).


    Mantle: 51.92fps


    DirectX: 31.32fps

    Attract scenario, extreme setting, default benchmark resolution (1080p )

    Mantle: 48.26fps


    DirectX: 25.60fps


     
  11. Jawed

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    11,538
    Likes Received:
    1,911
    Location:
    London
  12. Barbarian

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    California, USA
    So I had an idea. How about this:
    Two machines, identical setup, one runs DX11, the other Mantle.
    Join same server, go to observer, go to same spot, look the same way.
    Record FPS.
    Done :)
     
  13. DavidGraham

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    3,818
    Likes Received:
    4,795
    Brilliant! that might just do it!
     
  14. Alexko

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,541
    Likes Received:
    964
    Wouldn't there be a somewhat lower CPU load in observer mode?
     
  15. silent_guy

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,754
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Excellent! But even better: 3 machines. 1 player. 2 observers: one with Mantle, the other without.

    Edit: I'm dumb. They're both already in observer.
     
  16. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,579
    Likes Received:
    4,799
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    To get at least what TR got for its early analysis, however, this would only cover one CPU/GPU combination for a comparison.

    One more Mantle/non-Mantle would be needed for a different CPU.
    The setups could be different when getting numbers for Nvidia and a weak/strong CPU.

    However, with just two players you now have no simultaneous runs, so the different configurations stop being comparable without multiple runs and averaging things out for comparison.
    Unless you get six players and six setups in observation mode.
    Hopefully on the same network?
    Does observer mode change things?

    And then, unless someone claims the testing wasn't representative because that game might have had an unreasonably low/high number of actions/events.
    Better capture footage.
    If someone claims player X had "teh bias", better capture all six...
     
  17. rpg.314

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    /
    I beg to differ.

    DX is certainly works well, if you are GPU limited. And that right there is the crux of the problem. An API's job is to get out of the way, and not dictate that one half of the silicon must be ignored.
     
  18. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,579
    Likes Received:
    4,799
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    Those not with an AMD processor are GPU limited because DX and the developers using it work so well. It doesn't take much effort to become GPU limited, and with AMD's lack of progress on multiple fronts and contrived examples like Oxide, the effort to get to AMD's sweet spot becomes progressively unreasonable as time goes on.

    The 290X's middling scaling of Mantle when using an Intel CPU--in comparison with itself or the 780 still on D3D, shows that even if the API gets out of the way, AMD's GPUs barely take you further.
    AMD can present a stronger case for the API holding its wonderful GPUs back when they don't stall 12 FPS higher than with said API.
     
  19. DavidGraham

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    3,818
    Likes Received:
    4,795
    Actually I think we can get by with 3 identical test beds for now .. one with 290X Mantle , one with 290X DX , and then one with NVIDIA DX.

    A different comparison can be made with a low CPU using the same 3 test beds.

    The observer mode just works like a "no clipped" player , you can fly around to any spot, follow players, change camera from a multitude of camera views (including 1st person, 3rd person and others). If you choose your spot carefully you can get a wide picture of the whole map with many intense fights taking place.
     
  20. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,579
    Likes Received:
    4,799
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    Which CPU is going to be chosen?
    The TR testing compared along that axis as well.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...