Xbox Series S [XBSS] [Release November 10 2020]

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by BRiT, Sep 8, 2020.

Tags:
  1. BRiT

    BRiT (>• •)>⌐■-■ (⌐■-■)
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    17,035
    Likes Received:
    17,101
    This is the technical thread for Lockhart.

    Official Introducing the Product: https://news.xbox.com/en-us/2020/09/09/introducing-xbox-series-s/


    Specification Comparison with Series S and X:

    [​IMG]


    Estimated Retail Price: $299 direct or Xbox All Access with Game Pass Ultimate @ $25 a month for 24 months, and £249.99 direct for those in the UK, and $379.99 Beaver Bucks for those in Canada.

    We’re expanding Xbox All Access this holiday to bring you more ways to jump into this next generation. With Xbox All Access, you can get a next generation Xbox with 24 months of Xbox Game Pass Ultimate with no upfront cost, for just $34.99/month for 24 months for Xbox Series X and $24.99/month for 24 months for Xbox Series S. If you are already an Xbox All Access customer, you can take advantage of our flexible upgrade options. We’re expanding Xbox All Access to fans in 12 countries this holiday, expanding to Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Norway, Poland, South Korea and Sweden. For details and supporting retailers and partners visit https://www.xbox.com/xbox-all-access. [ https://news.xbox.com/en-us/2020/09/09/xbox-all-access-expands-to-12-countries-this-holiday/ ]

    Releases November 10 2020.


    [​IMG]



    Trailer:
    ]

    Rough Size Comparison:
     
    Goodtwin, DSoup, Cyan and 6 others like this.
  2. BRiT

    BRiT (>• •)>⌐■-■ (⌐■-■)
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    17,035
    Likes Received:
    17,101
    Pricing for Canada:
     
    Lalaland and AzBat like this.
  3. BRiT

    BRiT (>• •)>⌐■-■ (⌐■-■)
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    17,035
    Likes Received:
    17,101
    Pricing for the UK:
     
    PSman1700 and AzBat like this.
  4. BRiT

    BRiT (>• •)>⌐■-■ (⌐■-■)
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    17,035
    Likes Received:
    17,101
    Internals:

    [​IMG]

    Inside the Series S:




     
    RagnarokFF, Pete, Jay and 2 others like this.
  5. see colon

    see colon All Ham & No Potatos
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,687
    Likes Received:
    651
    I'm curious why they included a hardware scaler in Series S. Modern GPUs can scale a 1440p render target to 4k pretty well. Having a hardware solution makes me wonder if there is something like a fixed AA/sharpening combo that gives a better result.
     
    Goodtwin, BRiT and HBRU like this.
  6. Strange

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Somewhere out there
    Last gen flops or next gen flops?
     
  7. iroboto

    iroboto Daft Funk
    Legend Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    11,691
    Likes Received:
    12,698
    Location:
    The North
    He quoted the wrong area:

    >> Xbox Series S delivers approximately 3x the GPU performance of Xbox One
    ~4.2 TF

    They continue to advertise that SFS is only on their next gen consoles - so it's either their version of SFS, or the entire SFS feature.
     
    #7 iroboto, Sep 9, 2020
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2020
    pharma, BRiT and AzBat like this.
  8. BRiT

    BRiT (>• •)>⌐■-■ (⌐■-■)
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    17,035
    Likes Received:
    17,101
    I'm still working on updating the first post with the official specs or whatever details they released so far. But let the thread open.
     
  9. HBRU

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    170
    So it seems
     
  10. fehu

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,827
    Likes Received:
    813
    Location:
    Somewhere over the ocean
    BRiT and AzBat like this.
  11. Strange

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Somewhere out there
    the fact that they posted this image

    [​IMG]

    It should be official. confusing specs to say the least

    Interesting points:

    CPU is the same but running at 3.6Ghz and 3.4 with SMT, both 0.2 Ghz slower than the X
    20 CUs at 1.565 Ghz = 4Tflops.

    Ram is really odd
    for the S
    10 GB GDDR6 RAM
    8GB at 224GB/s
    2GB at 56GB/s

    for the x
    16 GB GDDR6 RAM
    10GB at 560GB/s
    6GB at 336GB/s

    that''s what? less than half?

    other stuff is identical
     
    Pete, BRiT, Shortbread and 2 others like this.
  12. AzBat

    AzBat Agent of the Bat
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    7,134
    Likes Received:
    3,636
    Location:
    Alma, AR
    That 2GB @ 56GB/s looks like a misprint surely?

    Tommy McClain
     
  13. iroboto

    iroboto Daft Funk
    Legend Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    11,691
    Likes Received:
    12,698
    Location:
    The North
    should be correct.
     
  14. AzBat

    AzBat Agent of the Bat
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    7,134
    Likes Received:
    3,636
    Location:
    Alma, AR
    OK, ELI5.

    Tommy McClain
     
  15. Strange

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Somewhere out there
    No, they're utilizing 4 chips, one 4 GB and three 2GBs to hit 10GB. Thus resulting in this really odd config.
     
    BRiT, Lalaland, AzBat and 1 other person like this.
  16. iroboto

    iroboto Daft Funk
    Legend Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    11,691
    Likes Received:
    12,698
    Location:
    The North
    4 chips
    As per ^^

    3x 2GB = 32 bits * 4 chips * 14000 Mhz / 8 bits = 224 GB/s
    1x 4GB = 32 bit * 1 chip * 14000 Mhz / 8 bits = 56 GB/s
     
    Pete, jgp, BRiT and 1 other person like this.
  17. Lalaland

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    547


    A comparison for the OP, bizarre that they kept the RAM split for the 10GB unit?
     
    Cyan and BRiT like this.
  18. cheapchips

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,385
    Likes Received:
    1,296
    It's presumably a cheaper to have the slower 2GB of memory since it'll only be running the system reserve in that space anyway.
     
    Goodtwin, AzBat, BRiT and 1 other person like this.
  19. iroboto

    iroboto Daft Funk
    Legend Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    11,691
    Likes Received:
    12,698
    Location:
    The North
    $$$$$
     
    AzBat likes this.
  20. Jay

    Jay
    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,910
    Likes Received:
    2,072
    :lol:
    Anyway as long as its fast enough for the OS which will be using it, all is fine.
     
    Goodtwin likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...