Upgrading Mac Pro GPU & Ram

Hassoon

Newcomer
Hello everyone,

Since this is my first post, a mini-introduction should be in order :)

I am a graduate student at San Diego State University. I have been studying Computer Science for nearly six years now, but I have only recently cultivated a keen interest in the field of Computer Graphics.

I am currently doing research in improving the algorithmic efficiency of techniques like Photon Mapping, Global Illumination and real-time Ray Tracing.

As such, I felt compelled to dig up my 2 year-old Mac Pro and start some coding. The machine still performs extremely well considering today's standards, but I have some cash I'd like to use to upgrade the machine, specifically the GPU and the RAM.

The machine currently has an nVidia GeForce 7300 GT. I'd like to upgrade to nVidia's Quadro 4800:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814133281

As for the RAM, it currently has a paltry 1 GB. I'd like to beef it up to 8 GB:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820146783

The machine currently runs on 2 Intel Dual-Core Xeons @ 2 Ghz, which isn't too bad. Hopefully no bottleneck issues.

My current budget is $2500, which is just enough for the GPU and the RAM. My goal of course is performance, but I have to keep the budget in mind.

I considered selling my current machine and upgrade to an 8-core Nehalem based Mac Pro, but I don't think the machine is currently worth anymore than $1000 (best estimate). $3500 will not be enough to cover a brand new Mac Pro, a top-of-the-line Quadro and 8 GBs of RAM.

I would really appreciate your input and/or opinions :)

Thanks guys,

- H

Wow, not your average grad student.