Until Dawn: Pixel-Correct Shadow Maps with Temporal Reprojection and Shadow Test Confidence

Shin Ra

Newcomer
I started playing Until Dawn recently and in one closeup scene I noticed that the slower I moved the flashlight, the higher quality the shadow cast, almost like it built-up precision over time. I grabbed a couple of screenshots to check I wasn't imagining it.

MOTION
22049021389_721b4d2f8e_o.png

STILL
21614858413_c6ebc5c821_o.png

Guerrilla's Killzone: Shadow Fall engine's well known for it's temporal reprojection but I'd never heard about it being used for realtime shadow maps, mostly just AA and SSAO.

I did a little search today and here's the research I found on the subject: https://www.cg.tuwien.ac.at/research/publications/2007/Scherzer-2007-PCS/

Shadow mapping suffers from spatial aliasing (visible as blocky shadows) as well as temporal aliasing (visible as flickering). Several methods have already been proposed for reducing such artifacts, but so far none is able to provide satisfying results in real time.

This paper extends shadow mapping by reusing information of previously rasterized images, stored efficiently in a so-called history buffer. This buffer is updated in every frame and then used for the shadow calculation. In combination with a special confidence-based method for the history buffer update (based on the current shadow map), temporal and spatial aliasing can be completely removed. The algorithm converges in about 10 to 60 frames and during convergence, shadow borders are sharpened over time. Consequently, in case of real-time frame rates, the temporal shadow adaption is practically imperceptible. The method is simple to implement and is as fast as uniform shadow mapping, incurring only the minor speed hit of the history buffer update. It works together with advanced filtering methods like percentage closer filtering and more advanced shadow mapping techniques like perspective or light space perspective shadow maps.