Study endurance?

weaksauce

Regular
How do you get the ability to study for long hours? Or why can't I do it? I mean I can start off well but after I while I feel sluggish and dumbed down. Taking pauses is just lame.

How do you get the ability to study for long hours?
Sugar, caffeine, and regular breaks.
Taking pauses is just lame.
Well, no. IMO, they're essential to be productive. They're also the perfect time to fill up on sugar and caffeine. Just find something to do that's reasonably time-limited (10-25 minutes) and doesn't allow the mind to shift out. Read the newspaper, grab a coffee with a friend or coworker, watch a Simpson's episode, post on B3d, whatever.

My solution is coffee / tea (for caffeine) with sugar. Plus eat bananas. Yeah and as Zaphod said breaks are important and you'll burn out.

I was always lazy and only made it thanks to my rather high IQ :)

If you steal my tactics one more time...

:LOL:

Seriously though, I got my certificates and diploma in IT purely through the use of 'social engineering', as our teacher told it. Say one thing, do another, give the impression of completion, get full marks. It's not to say that I didn't actually do the work or even hand it in, but he thought I did, and that's what mattered.

Have all the materials and food/drinks, put on some nice music, make all sort of fun study aids while you are studying. I always find that good happy atmosphere to be better. All my friends became rather gloomy around crunch time. For long hours I also find being alone is better than in study group, though I guess that depend on the subject. Being fit also help. Good luck.

I think that many people study for too long a periods of time, under the misguided impression that it you study for twice as long you absorb twice as much. I don't think this is correct, there's an upper limit to what you can absorb in a single sitting (unless you're a remarkable learner!).