Sockets (Intel P3)

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by Roger Kohli, Feb 19, 2002.

  1. Roger Kohli

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it right that
    FCPGA = Coppermine
    FCPGA2 = Tualatin?

    I want to buy a P3 1.26GHz, but my motherboard only supports Coppermine processors. There seem to be two versions of the 1.26 but my vendor only specifies them as FCPGA and FCPGA2.

    I was under the impression that Coppermine at 1.13 never worked.

    (yeah, I know I should get an Athlon or a P4 but I don't want to change my motherboard at the moment).
     
  2. pascal

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,830
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Brasil
    Yes it is, but all 1.26GHz are Tualatin/FCPGA2.

    I have a P3-S (server tualatin with 512kb cache) and it is cool, quiet and fast :grin:

    Unfortunatelly you will need a new mobo with i815 B-step.

    <font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: pascal on 2002-02-19 23:08 ]</font>
     
  3. Roger Kohli

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    My vendor definately has an FCPGA 1.26 listed and at a slightly lower price than the FCPGA2 version. Maybe I should phone and ask, but I'm doubtfull of the salesman knowing the difference!
     
  4. Rob M

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    A 1.26 must be FCPGA2, perhaps one is an OEM and the other retail and the descriptions were typed differently?
     
  5. mat

    mat
    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
  6. pascal

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,830
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Brasil
    Ok, using the link provided by Mat:
    All tA1 stepping are Tualatin/FCPGA2.

    There is no FCPGA 1.26GHz.
     
  7. Dmitry

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    a very nice fcpga2 board is an abit st2. Also, you might want to reconsider buying a true pentium 3 tualatin. Thing is, Celeron 1.2ghz and up is exact the same CPU as tualatin, it has SSE, and 256kb L2 cache. Only difference being that celeron works @ 100mhz fsb and tualatin @ 133. However, if you have a nice hsf, you should be able to up you celerons fsb to 133 without a problem. This way your 1.2 celeron will turn into 1.6 tualatin. I have retail hsf (tiny fan) and I was able to overclock it to 1.5 (125mhz fsb). Celeron 1.2 costs about 80 bucks now.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...