Really weird network worries

Gollum

Veteran
Hi! My home network is about to drive me nuts. I mean I've been running a home network for well over 10 years, so I know the basics, but currently it just won't work reliably. And I'm completely lost!

The setup is 2 desktop PCs, both running WinXP SP2, all latest patches installed. I'm currently on a WLAN, everything is set up correctly to the best of my knowledge. Both PCs can see each other and access the internet through the router. The problems begin when they're trying to access each other's folders or printer. Sometimes I can get access right away, the next try I'll only get a "network resource not found or you have no rights to access this resource" pop up. TCP/IP is set up with fixed IPs (no conflict), PCs are in the same workgroup, all important drivers and protocols are active, I have given the correct rights to the shared folders (again, to the best of my knowledge, which is "everybody" has access rights set in the non-simple NTFS options), I've set up identical user accounts on both machines (WITH passwords and access rights), disabled the XP firewall and tried many other tips from guides and threads all over the net. The network performance has actually increased lately (used to be very laggy), but its still a hit and miss affair.