Question on a NAS for home use.

I have a basic Terramaster 2 nay NAS but it doesn't do what I originally bought it for which was to back up Google Photo's.

I've been looking at other pre built options but thinking it's cheaper for me just to be build me own and use software.

Does anyone know of any software that enables simple Google Photo's backup?

Doesn't google photo have an export function ? or do you want something automated ?

I was looking for something automated.

It seems like the best way is to download what I have and then use OneDrive to sync the new photo's to the NAS.

You can't even link Google Drive anymore which is a ball ache as that would have been the best option.

How many photos do you regularly add that it's no longer feasible to simply download the last week/month of photos and store on your NAS manually?

Also building and maintaining your own NAS might be cheaper in the short run, but long term with the amount of hours and effort, something like a Synology like I've had the last 12 years is just much easier.

How many photos do you regularly add that it's no longer feasible to simply download the last week/month of photos and store on your NAS manually?

It won't just be for my photo's as I'll be looking to store my wife's and a few other family members.

Also building and maintaining your own NAS might be cheaper in the short run, but long term with the amount of hours and effort, something like a Synology like I've had the last 12 years is just much easier.

I'm all up for a pre-built system as long as I can get it to do what I need it to do.

with the amount of hours and effort
Is it ? I thought once it's setup it's done
as I'll be looking to store my wife's and a few other family members
I remember once I was asked to fix a broken laptop turned out the reason it stopped working was there was no room on the hard drive because she filled it all up with photo's. I worked it out she was taking an average of 100 photo's a day - wtf...