PS4 Pro vs PS4 Graphical Comparison Thread

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by DieH@rd, Nov 4, 2016.

  1. rabidrabbit

    rabidrabbit A Reformed Member
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,055
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    Finland
    From what I've tried, the VR Worlds Ocean Descent was definitely better looking on Pro, also London Heists car chase/shooting part was much clearer on further distances.
    Playroom VR too was much clearer overall. The Pro's clearly rendering higher resolution, distant objects are much better aliased and the boost in resolution is very noticeable in these two titles.
    I think the Batman Arkham VR looked a bit better too.
     
    #101 rabidrabbit, Nov 11, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2016
    DSoup likes this.
  2. Jupiter

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,418
    Likes Received:
    958
    Yes, there is something true about it. But in comparison to specular aliasing, those jaggies can be reduced more effective with higher resolutions. This does not need the best TAA to cover it. Even a mediocre TAA helps here already much in FullHD.
    DOOM was not the best example of standard dark games. However, PBR has increased the problem with specular aliasing. There are more potential spots which can flicker strikingly. While this was as far as I can remember not the case at the time of Half Life 2.

    In the last years I had much less problems with the aliasing you mentioned.
     
    DavidGraham likes this.
  3. DavidGraham

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773
    Likes Received:
    2,560
    Yeah, I can say the same, the advent of post process AA really changed something, gone are the days where we have to sit helplessly staring at games released with no AA support whatsoever because their engines are not compatible with MSAA! Now we have post process readily available since launch, or forcible through driver, we have effective temporal solutions and if all fails downsampling can be activated in game or through driver as well. Jaggies are not a hard problem as they were once, what I take as a problem though is the non perfect effectiveness of multiple solutions to completely irradiate jaggies, in some games I strove for that perfect CGI look, no aliasing and a pinch of smoothed out frames, the last part was successful, the first part, still not so much even by combining multiple powerful solutions.
     
    Jupiter likes this.
  4. Clukos

    Clukos Bloodborne 2 when?
    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,462
    Likes Received:
    3,793
     
    novcze and eloyc like this.
  5. Nesh

    Nesh Double Agent
    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    11,379
    Likes Received:
    1,818
    The difference in framerate and res doesnt show much in that video. I guess its the youtube's compression?
     
  6. Jupiter

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,418
    Likes Received:
    958
    "EA and DICE are committed to supporting HDR on PS4 Pro. Although we do not have any information to share at the moment please stay tuned to the official Battlefield channels as we will share details once we are ready to share them."

    https://twitter.com/Battlefield/status/796858908987899904?ref_src=twsrc^tfw



    _______



    I hope the developers of the games will fix the issue. A Pro should always run better. Unfortunately, some games run at a lower frame rate.

    Especially from Naughty Dog I would have expected better.
     
    #106 Jupiter, Nov 12, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2016
    RootKit likes this.
  7. eloyc

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    1,176
    This is the first batch of Pro updates. I'm sure the developers will get better at Pro support. I also hope they will include more modes for the players to choose.
     
  8. ultragpu

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    5,438
    Likes Received:
    1,628
    Location:
    Australia
    Hope that BF1 HDR patch comes sooner than later, at the moment using Extended Dynamic Range function on the tv seems to work pretty well but it;s not real HDR. A game like BF1 with so many explosions would surely benefit a lot from the HDR.
     
  9. Globalisateur

    Globalisateur Globby
    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    1,668
    Location:
    France
    Yes, 3 games including 2 old remastered games that nobody cares about and that have occasional and small framerate drops on the Pro. No big deal. It could have being much worse than that. Like Battlefield 4 disastrous launch. or the XB1 resolution gate for the first COD on XB1...

    On the other hand all the big and new games are working impressively well on Pro: Fifa17, BF1, the 2 COD games, Titanfall 2, soon FF15. It's a success and a real testimony of an accomplished mission for Sony and particularly Cerny.
     
  10. novcze

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    83
    shame we can't force Pro into compatibility mode for better comparsions with original PS4
     
    DSoup likes this.
  11. DSoup

    DSoup meh
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,972
    Likes Received:
    5,794
    Location:
    London, UK
    That would definitely be a nice option - just in case somebody fucks up Pro code.
     
    novcze and Globalisateur like this.
  12. shredenvain

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Somewhere in southern U.S.
    For the price of the Ps4 Pro it defenitly delivers a jump in IQ compared to the base Ps4. I just wish that games that offer a 60fps mode would prioritize the frame rate over resolution. Hitting something like 1440p and locked 60 fps would be the ideal sweet spot.
     
    eloyc likes this.
  13. Globalisateur

    Globalisateur Globby
    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    1,668
    Location:
    France
    But this year they already do that actually thanks to their aggressive dynamic res. Most modes of Titanfall 2 and BF1 run at a solid 60fps with an average resolution of 1440p or more using checkerboard rendering for BF1 (checkerboard 1800p being the max apparently).

    Only the conquest modes of BF1 do have some notable drops but an average of 57fps seen on conquest maps on Pro is quite a significant improvement I'd say compared to 49fps / 51fps on PS4/XB1. And in this mode the drops are probably due to CPU bottleneck so it would be useless to further lower the resolution here: I don't think they prioritize res over fps in this case.
     
  14. ultragpu

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    5,438
    Likes Received:
    1,628
    Location:
    Australia
    Checked out UC4 on the Pro finally, to my surprise despite not running checkerboard, the 1440p native res still looked fantastic and textures appeared sharper as a result. The HDR however was mindblowing in some levels and combined with the higher res it really stood out from all the other Pro games.
    4k downscaled to 1080p
    [​IMG]
    https://abload.de/img/2wcs1i.png
    https://abload.de/img/33fsan.png
     
    bunge, Nesh and scf like this.
  15. novcze

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    83
    Like Naughty Dog where Pro version runs slower at some places than on original PS4, thus breaking Sony's guidelines ;-) :D
     
    RootKit likes this.
  16. DSoup

    DSoup meh
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,972
    Likes Received:
    5,794
    Location:
    London, UK
    As Globalisateur notes, this seems to be something affecting older games that may not be using engines built to accommodate Pro codepaths. What will be interesting is to see what Sony does about this.

    I tried Pro Remote Play on our iMac this morning. Our Pro is connected by ethernet to the router and the iMac is couple of rooms away and connected wirelessly using 801.11ac at 5Ghz. The experience was.... not bad, all things considered. Then I realised the streaming was running at the default 540p. A quick visit to preferences and changing the streaming settings to 1080p/high frame rate and.... wow.

    What sorcery is this, Sony!?!?! I can post screen shots but unfortuntaely the macOS screen capture utility adds some aggressive jpeg compression.
     
  17. scf

    scf
    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    234
    Location:
    Crimea
    Just press command+shift+3 and check your desktop for a png screenshot :)
     
  18. DSoup

    DSoup meh
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,972
    Likes Received:
    5,794
    Location:
    London, UK
    Yeah, mine throws out JPG. I changed it from PNG to JPG some time back when I needed to capture a few hundred images in JPG and never changed it back.

    When I get 5 mins I'll google the system setting and change it back and post screen shots of a 1080p window and full (1440p) screen as it appears in full screen. I'll do it today.

    Edit: I can't get a 1080p window because I've re-sized it and it now remembers the resizing - d'oh! Here is the 3.7mb PNG of a frame in 2560x1440 as it appears in 1080p high frame rate streaming mode. It looks slick in motion. In a few mins of play the bandwidth ranges from 300 kilobytes/sec to 2.5 megabytes/sec for the stream.

    Edit2: Actual 1440p image. D'oh.

    [​IMG]
     
    #118 DSoup, Nov 13, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2016
  19. sebbbi

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,924
    Likes Received:
    5,288
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    Proper HDR ranges (10k+ lux white outdoor walls hit by direct sunlight, 0.1 lux dark indoors) and physically plausible GGX specular result in very high brightness ranges. Old LDR games were muted in comparison. Didn't even need eye adaptation.

    This video is a good example how bad GGX specular looks on industrial surfaces (DOOM like) when there's no specular antialiasing applied:


    (FF over the marketing bullshit in the beginning)

    Modern PBR rendering needs either temporal AA or some specific specular AA solution (Toksvig mapping, LEAN mapping, etc). MSAA does not adequatly remove specular aliasing.
     
  20. DavidGraham

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773
    Likes Received:
    2,560
    But does specular aliasing cause so much bright circles on these industrial surfaces? it looks like small suns flickering on there! I had no idea this is the result of no AA, always thought it's deliberate!
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...