PS3 display woes

Discussion in 'Console Industry' started by Shifty Geezer, Mar 29, 2008.

  1. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    43,577
    Likes Received:
    16,028
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    IIRC the discussion ended with confirmation that (H)ANA were not scalers as originally thought, but that the scaling hardware was included on the GPU - it wasn't just a software scaling implementation.
    Doesn't matter regards support for displays. Developers still need to target different rendering resolutions, unlike XB360 developers who can render whatever resolution (even 640p :p) and have it output for TVs and monitors to use.
     
  2. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    21,737
    Likes Received:
    7,402
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    For what it's worth, Wavey mentioned that Xenos was their first implementation/release of AVIVO. If nothing has changed, then that means the scaler does 10-tap horizontal by 6-tap vertical sampling for scaling. On the other hand, G70's PureVideo sports 4-tap horizontal by 5-tap vertical.
     
  3. Tim Murray

    Tim Murray the Windom Earle of mobile SOCs
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,278
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA
    aand I totally just told someone he could buy a PS3 and have it work on his monitor via a HDMI -> DVI because I was under the erroneous assumption that you didn't need HDCP for PLAYING GODDAMN VIDEO GAMES.

    now I

    A. feel dumb
    B. am totally baffled that it could be released like this
    C. hate Sony for being DRM-loving jerks
     
  4. aaronspink

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,641
    Likes Received:
    64
    any idea what model his monitor is or how old it is? most newer monitors have hdcp support.
     
  5. Tim Murray

    Tim Murray the Windom Earle of mobile SOCs
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,278
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA
    it's a Dell 2005FPW. it doesn't have hdcp.
     
  6. Turok

    Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm... Thats a bit on the unassuring side. I was actually going to get one of those cables for one of my monitors which supposedly has HDCP, but considering I just read about its supposed HDCP compliance on the internet, im a bit uneasy.
     
  7. Nesh

    Nesh Double Agent
    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    12,457
    Likes Received:
    2,770
    I bought an HDMI->DVI converter and unfortunately my monitor is not HDCP compliant.

    Is there a cheap way to bypass the HDCP?
     
  8. BoardBonobo

    BoardBonobo My hat is white!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,276
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    SurfMonkey's Cluster...
    No... Yes... How illegal do you want to be? lol!
     
  9. Nesh

    Nesh Double Agent
    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    12,457
    Likes Received:
    2,770
    I will be illegal only if I use it illegally ;)

    I just want it to play my games in HD. Which is not illegal
     
  10. hey69

    hey69 i have a monster
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,932
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Belcika
    its probably cheaper to buy another computer lcd then such hdcp remover
     
  11. tha_con

    Banned

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manhattan, KS
    This problem isn't display related at all, but I freaking HATE that the PS3 will not output audio over HDMI *and* Optical. WHAT GIVES SONY!?
     
  12. Freak'n Big Panda

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Messages:
    898
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Waterloo Ontario
    why would you want to output over both at the same time?
     
  13. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    18,065
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    My guess would be being able to put the sound over the tv and the amplifier at the same time and then being able to choose either whenever which one of those suits you best at that time.
     
  14. Nesh

    Nesh Double Agent
    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    12,457
    Likes Received:
    2,770
    My 360 apparently works with the HDMI->DVI cable but doesnt output sound despite that my monitor has speakers. Can I output sound via optical or component when its connected to my monitor via HDMI->DVI?
     
  15. DuckThor Evil

    DuckThor Evil Anas platyrhynchos
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    5,878
    Likes Received:
    897
    Location:
    Finland
    DVI doesn't carry or receive sound. I'm not sure whether they have made some hardware changes to the new X360 models, but previously you could either hook up the official MS audio dongle (is expensive) to the console and use optical, or modify (easy to do) the component dongle to make it fit with the HDMI cord and then use its' optical output.
     
  16. tha_con

    Banned

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manhattan, KS
    Arwin pretty much hit the nail on the head. My receiver doesn't recieve audio via HDMI, so I have to use Component. It does, however, pass audio through to the HDTV, so I can still use that audio. However, since the PS3 diesn't support output through HDMI and Optical, I can't choose to use my receiver or HDTV, I only have one option.
     
  17. Nesh

    Nesh Double Agent
    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    12,457
    Likes Received:
    2,770
    Can you provide a link about how I can modify the component dongle?

    Is there also a way I can get sound from my PS3 assuming I connect the HDMI-DVI cable to a HDTV? Optical wont work because its connected to the HDMI? How about sound from the AV?
     
  18. DuckThor Evil

    DuckThor Evil Anas platyrhynchos
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    5,878
    Likes Received:
    897
    Location:
    Finland
    Just remove the cover like this.

    http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1326/1473305444_e9a000bf7e_o.gif

    http://www.chadledford.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/09/xbox-001.jpg

    Your PS3 will be fine, it probably won't even try to output sound through HDMI with that cable of yours, but at the worst case, just go to your audio output settings and choose to use the digital out (optical). and plug the optical cord to your receiver and you'r good to go.
     
  19. Nesh

    Nesh Double Agent
    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    12,457
    Likes Received:
    2,770
    thaaaaaanks :D
     
  20. Nesh

    Nesh Double Agent
    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    12,457
    Likes Received:
    2,770
    Sorry if this might sound a bit off topic, but I didnt want to create a whole thread for this.

    I am planning to buy a good HD TV for my consoles and found a Polaroid at a good price (for my country's standards).

    I tried to find details about the Polaroid's specs since the price for a 42' Full HD LCD made me suspicious. For example a Panasonic Plasma 42' with 1024x768p resolution is more expensive, and a Bravia LCD 40' Full HD costs 1/3 more than the Polaroid.

    The specs of the TV say that it has a resolution of 1920 x 1080 and at the same time it says "1080i HD-Ready: Full HD widescreen".

    http://www.polaroid.com/global/deta...4488338773&bmUID=1228917238018&bmLocale=en_GB

    Another similar model from Polaroid on the other hand say that it has a resolution of 1366 x 768 and that it is "1080i HD-Ready: HD-Ready".

    http://www.polaroid.com/global/deta...4488338773&bmUID=1228917238018&bmLocale=en_GB

    Is the first supposed to support 1080p natively for 1080p games like Wipeout HD?
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...