Display resolution issues (legacy Gaming)

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by hoom, May 17, 2021.

  1. hoom

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    720
    Hey guys,

    This has been an issue for some time but only minor mostly but has come to a head recently:
    Does anybody know how I can play on lower resolution than native on my Primary monitor without it messing up Desktop on the 2ndary?

    I have a 30" 2560*1600 with 2ndary 24" 1920*1200 in Extended mode, RX5600XT, both display port & just normal 60Hz at native.

    There is a legacy game I'm wanting to play a bunch but it only does 4:3 resolutions so nearest to 2560*1600 is 2048*1536 and when I fire up the game the Game loads full-screen but the extra pixels width from the Primary Desktop get squished over onto the 2ndary monitor, forcing the outside edge of the 2ndary Desktop offscreen.

    Setting the Desktop resolution on Primary display to the lower resolution works but seems like an excessively manual step, surely there is a way that this should be behaviour I can set in Windows or Graphics drivers somewhere?
     
  2. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    17,017
    Likes Received:
    4,381
    I havnt used an amd card since the 6950 with eyefinity but if the same mechanisms exist within the drivers
    then setup you monitors the way you like them save as a profile give it a name eg: Default give it some hotkeys eg CTRL- SHIFT - 1
    disable your second monitor setup your primary to play the game save as a profile give it a name eg: Legacy give it some hotkeys eg CTRL- SHIFT - 2
    then
    CTRL- SHIFT - 2
    play game
    CTRL- SHIFT - 1
     
  3. hoom

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    720
    I mean Rome:Total War which is a 2004 32bit executable, I think that'll be XP?

    I was thinking if it could be made to run in some kind of virtualised window the game would think its full-screen but the window be non-fullscreen on my desktop like consoling into a VM -> not mess up my desktop/require manual resolution change before I run it.
     
  4. DmitryKo

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    1,218
    Location:
    55°38′33″ N, 37°28′37″ E
    Why don't you get the remastered version which natively supports modern displays?

    https://store.romeremastered.totalwar.com/

    Steam re-releases of legacy games are always updated to support the latest Windows versions, UHD display resolutions and wide/ultra-wide aspect ratios.

    They would also include bugfixes to long-standing issues which were not adressed in the original release, and also support Steam network gameplay in place of their original publisher-hosted Internet servers or peer-to-peer connections.
     
    #4 DmitryKo, Jun 30, 2021
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2021
  5. HLJ

    HLJ
    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    869
    I have been using FAR too much time on Rome - Total War Remastered since it was released :runaway:
     
  6. hoom

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    720
    Remastered doesn't have the mods I'm playing but is the reason I've gone back to playing it.
    Its not just this game though, there are plenty of legacy apps that don't support modern resolutions & its going to be more of a problem if I get round to buying a 4K monitor.
     
  7. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    17,017
    Likes Received:
    4,381
  8. DmitryKo

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    1,218
    Location:
    55°38′33″ N, 37°28′37″ E
    Even if the Steam Store doesn't have your specific mod, there are others so it's probably worh a try.
    https://steamcommunity.com/workshop/about/?appid=885970

    For example, Steam version of Empire at War has quite wild 'remake' mod which makes it feel like another game.


    Unfortunately Windows 10 or 11 does not support display resolutions upscaling for old games.
     
  9. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    18,122
    Likes Received:
    8,395
    If the game is old enough that you can likely just do it in a virtual machine with support for D3D. Although something like VMware is limited to DX10 or lower, this shouldn't be a problem for Rome: Total War.

    That should allow you to run it in whatever window you have the VM set to.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  10. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    17,017
    Likes Received:
    4,381
    Did you try the eyefinity profiles ?
    did you try dgvoodoo2 ?
    [​IMG]

    I'm guessing no which is why I'm playing at 3840x1200 and 1920x1080 and your not
     
    #10 Davros, Jul 2, 2021
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2021
  11. see colon

    see colon All Ham & No Potatos
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,216
    Likes Received:
    1,427
    Did anything fix this? if not, have you tried enabling GPU Scaling? What about running it in a window, perhaps with Borderless Gaming?
     
  12. hoom

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    720
    Oh excellent.
    I had found that there is a shortcut flag to make it run borderless windowed which prevents the desktop resolution issues but its aligned top-left corner to top-left corner of my monitor & can't be moved, have been making do with that.

    This Borderless Gaming apparently takes that borderless windowed screen & scales it back to full-screen size which is pretty much exactly what I'm looking for :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...