[PS2] BG: Dark Alliance II stinks, Norrath better?

Sorry for bumping such an old thread, but I was wondering if I could get an answer to a question or two.

My g/f and I just started playing CoN and we have both BDGA games. We were going to play the BGDA games first (in order, of course) but the disks were not in their boxes at the time (left them at her place) so we jumped to CoN instead. We're enjoying it so far, but the disparity in character leveling is starting to get pretty bad, even on our first play-through on the first difficulty setting. I'm already 3 full levels beyond her Cleric, having just reached 17 with my Barb. Looting and leveling are the best aspects of the game, as battle is rather simplistic, especially for my Barb (still fun though!).

Questions:
Is it wise to play the BGDA games after already getting used to CoN, or will we just be disappointed? Should we get RTA and just skip the BGDA series?

Also a huge Diablo 2 fan (still playing it after all these years) but wanted something simpler that we could both just sit down and play from the couch and CoN fits the bill nicely. Hope this is enough info to answer my questions.

Thanks!

I'm not sure if I'm remembering this right ... if I played the first BGDA then I think I recommend using a dwarf and a sorceress, as they complement each other very well. Yes, this is the game that starts with killing rats, right? :p I thought it was worth it though CoN was a step up, I felt - but maybe for two player coop BGDA is equally good, I think I actually nearly finished it, contrary to CoN. The latter game though, your probably better off using a different combination of characters, though Shifty may be able to tell you which ones.

I am summoned!

*Quaffs Recall potion*

Snowblind Studios continue to say nothing about their new ventures and we're left guessing, but ShaidarHaran at least gets to enjoy the fun of their coop hack-n-slash-n-spell fests!