NVIDIA Tegra Architecture

Discussion in 'Mobile Graphics Architectures and IP' started by french toast, Jan 17, 2012.

Tags:
  1. xpea

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    433
    ah ok, but will it be ready for Q3 ?
    I read somewhere that 810 won't be in devices before Q1 2015
     
  2. Blazkowicz

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,607
    Likes Received:
    256
    Oh, seems I didn't think this through enough.
    I sort of assumed you'd type "lspci" and see the nvidia GPU show up. Works on AMD and Intel hardware, afterall but as for a Tegra K1, I don't know. Some hardware will be behind PCIe and USB so it's discoverable (such as user input, at least)

    Discoverability of hardware is a topic I'm slightly curious about. Might vary between specific tablets/computers/embedded platforms too.

    Sure. You have things like Ubuntu announcing support for POWER8 and ARM versions of Debian and Ubuntu though, but the former is not SoC related and most often the disk images or such are provided "unofficial". The unofficial stuff can be well good enough I think.
     
  3. Exophase

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Right, the ISA support comes from the distro. They have to maintain their repositories with binary support for the ISA. That sort of thing will (should?) work regardless of the SoC.

    But someone else has to then configure the distro for the SoC. A kind of distro distro I guess?
     
  4. ams

    ams
    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    914
    Likes Received:
    0
    Snapdragon 810 is still sampling and is expected to be in devices that are shipped during the first half of 2015. Even then, the expectation is that the single-threaded CPU performance and the GPU performance of TK1-Denver will be even better than S810.

    Note that the hardware inside HTC's new midrange phone has absolutely nothing to do with the hardware inside HTC's new tablet (the design requirements are very different). HTC has worked with NVIDIA in the past with the international HTC One X and One X+ models.
     
  5. A1xLLcqAgt0qc2RyMz0y

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    1,155
    Well if the 410 (Cortex A53) is going to be available soon what reason is there that the 810 (Cortex A57) would not be far behind?

    After all these are not Krait cores just cookie cutter standard cores.

    That logic didn't stop Google from going with the Snapdragon S4 Pro instead of the Tegra 4 in the Nexus 7 2013.

    Cost also matters and QualComm has been known to undercut competitors on price just to keep them from gaining market share.
     
  6. Exophase

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Because 410 is made on TSMC 28LP (probably over 28HPm for cost reasons) and 810 is going to be on TSMC 20SoC.
     
  7. ams

    ams
    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    914
    Likes Received:
    0
    S810 is significantly more advanced than S410 with respect to fab process node (as mentioned above by Exophase), CPU core, GPU core, memory interface, modem core, multimedia processing, etc. And S410 is also coming to market first with Android 4.4 KitKat, not Android "L".

    Tegra 4 was late to market and came after S4 Pro. On the other hand, TK1 32-bit and 64-bit variants are not late to market and will come before S810.

    S810 should be more costly than Tegra K1 due to the more advanced fab. process node and due to the cost of the LTE modem built into the price of the SoC. The most cost-effective tablets tend to be models without built-in LTE modem.
     
  8. A1xLLcqAgt0qc2RyMz0y

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    1,155
    Fair enough.

    I sure wish sites would not use obvious fake data as confirmation that the Nexus 9 will use the Denver Tegra as doing so just brings doubt.
     
  9. mboeller

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    922
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Germany
    Snapdragon 410 and 810 are not the only horses in the race.

    The Snapdragon 615, a midrange SoC will be available in Sept. also:
    http://www.slashgear.com/snapdragon-615-qualcomms-64-bit-octa-core-race-horse-27342960/

    the HTC 820 will use this SoC.

    And then there is the Samsung Exynos 5433, which is said to be a 64bit SoC also and coming in Sept. too (Samsung Note4).

    So Nvidia better hurry up...otherwise the Denver-K1 will the the last of the upcoming 64bit ARM-Cores and not the first. :)
     
    #2909 mboeller, Aug 28, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 28, 2014
  10. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    11,122
    Likes Received:
    5,665
    That video is from TK O'Connor.
    Here's what Evan Blass from evleaks had to say when he resigned the "leaking" business:
    He's not just linking to a video he didn't make. He took the screenshot and claims he's had the tablet in his hand and ran all kinds of benchmarks in it, which he's going to share when he leaves China and doesn't need to pay enormous amounts of roaming charges.

    The HTC "Flounder" has been rumoured to be carrying TK1 Denver. Everything but the revision number in that CPU-Z seems to be spot on. The revision may not be in the CPU's microcode and it could be something that the CPU-Z doesn't read but just "assumes" as being a 32bit TK1 variant.
     
  11. Rys

    Rys Moderator
    Moderator Veteran Alpha

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    4,167
    Likes Received:
    1,474
    Location:
    Beyond3D HQ
    Even that CPU Architecture says "192-core Kepler" ?
     
  12. mboeller

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    922
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Germany
  13. A1xLLcqAgt0qc2RyMz0y

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    1,155
    That just adds to it being a FAKE.

    As Metalhead2550 states:

     
  14. Exophase

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Okay, let's say it came from a legitimate tablet and all, and that the leaker is honest. That still doesn't mean that the tablet was running an unmodified CPU-Z.

    The revision comes from the MIDR register which the kernel will report if you read /proc/cpuinfo. I doubt CPU-Z is doing it any other way. So it should only be writing r3p3 if that's what the processor reports. Denver could legitimately report this but I doubt it, that's an awful lot of revisions for something that hasn't been in a product yet... And it's not like they have any kind of incentive to use the same thing as K1-32.

    None of this means that there's no Flounder with Denver coming out soon, just because the screenshot looks suspicious. Everything else being spot on vs rumors and information already circulated doesn't mean anything.
     
  15. Nebuchadnezzar

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,008
    Likes Received:
    174
    Location:
    Luxembourg
    1. The second core shows as "stopped". Hotplugging doesn't exist anymore in newer SoCs, so that's bullshit.
    2. The r3p3 revision matches the A15 revision number
    3. The already mentioned architecture name is bogus
    4. The GPU renderer is bogus
    5. The scaling governor "HYPER" is bullshit. Not only don't OEMs rename their governors to such names, but Hyper was actually some community renamed governor based on some other governor.
     
  16. itsmydamnation

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,314
    Likes Received:
    414
    Location:
    Australia
    could NV be using the r3p3 for optimum code paths for applications?

    Not saying the "leak" is real, but just like setting an AMD chip to be an intel chip so ICC code takes AVX/SSE3/4 etc path instead of SSE2.
     
  17. Nebuchadnezzar

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,008
    Likes Received:
    174
    Location:
    Luxembourg
    no.
     
  18. Exophase

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    To elaborate, the version/revision number isn't an architecture caps string, it's purely a microarchitecture denotation. It'd be like ICC looking at the stepping number. The only diverging code paths based on this number would be for handling errata, and that'll almost always be done by the OS.

    The whole thing would be blown anyway if they're not also reporting that they're a Cortex-A15, in which case that's what CPU-Z would report.
     
  19. A1xLLcqAgt0qc2RyMz0y

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    1,155
    Sort of related to Tegra

    NVIDIA NB106-N baseband module

    Google's Project Tango Tablet: From the Outside In

    [​IMG]
     
  20. ams

    ams
    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    914
    Likes Received:
    0
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...