Nvidia Pascal Reviews [1080XP, 1080ti, 1080, 1070ti, 1070, 1060, 1050, and 1030]

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by Love_In_Rio, May 17, 2016.

  1. Infinisearch

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    USA
    How does that work...? In D3D12 you just create a compute queue and submit work to it to get the async part, so what do you mean by tailor?
     
  2. Razor1

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    749
    Location:
    NY, NY
    GCN (different versions of GCN) and Maxwell 2 and Pascal all have different utilization patterns. Async compute relies on under utilized ALU's, so if you don't code for different architectures, you are not going to get "best" benefits for Aynsc Compute on different architectures.
     
  3. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,780
    Likes Received:
    4,431

    AOTS is an RTS that is capable of working with a number of combat units that we've never seen before, ever.
    It was designed to deliver that, and that it delivered. It's a fact that the game didn't aspire to be the prettiest game ever (though Brad Wardell in the game's post-mortem admitted he wished he could've pressed for more funds to be spent on artwork).
    However:

    [​IMG]


    If you were ever a RTS fan and cringed at an artificially limited amount of playable units, this picture would leave you really happy.


    And you can be damn sure it's a popular game.
    It's definitely moving a lot more copies in the PC than any of the UWP-exclusive games that you and others have mentioned above.
     
    elect, Lightman and no-X like this.
  4. Infinisearch

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    USA
    What I'm saying is the API doesn't expose any way to vary anything... either you're using async compute or you aren't.
     
  5. Razor1

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    749
    Location:
    NY, NY
    I love RTS's and I have to say AOTS is not a great RTS, in my opinion they should have focused more on game play and story line than their engine technology. What I feel its a great DX12 tech demo for what their engine is capable of for future RTS's on their engine.
     
    swaaye likes this.
  6. Razor1

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    749
    Location:
    NY, NY

    Oh yeah I didn't mean anything from an API perspective.
     
  7. MDolenc

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2002
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    425
    Location:
    Slovenia
    And if you do that you'll end up somewhere between say -75% and +100%. And if you're just doing that, you don't even need to create a compute queue.
    On the other hand to take predictable advantage of this you'll need to put some fences that will ensure only intended draws are running with intended compute kernels (in a separate queue). But of course run time of these two parts won't be the same on different hardware due to different hardware configurations. Just compare 390X to Fury X for example. If you match graphics run time to compute run time on 390X it will go out of wack on Fury X by compute part finishing early due to virtually same graphics resources and quite a few more CUs.
     
  8. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,796
    Likes Received:
    2,054
    Location:
    Germany
    I am wondering about that, actually. I know the developers tout that, but the benchmark itself does not show that many units. Medieval series had large armies, Empire Earth as well and even in Age of Empires you could set 200 Units per player in a 4-man Multiplayer and that was almost 20 years ago.
    Can this be true? I know there's a gog.com-version as well...
    http://steamspy.com/app/228880
    https://steamdb.info/app/228880/graphs/

    - oh and sorry for OT... :|
     
    #48 CarstenS, May 17, 2016
    Last edited: May 17, 2016
    CSI PC and DavidGraham like this.
  9. Infinisearch

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    USA
    Are you sure about that, IIRC you need a compute queue to get the 'multi-engine' benefit? As far as fences and barriers go, you could use optional fences to ensure what runs at the same time but I'm having a hard time seeing an advantage in this.
     
  10. Infinisearch

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    USA
    Then how would you code a custom path per hardware type?
     
  11. Razor1

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    749
    Location:
    NY, NY
    The API just gives access to the hardware features, but the programmer has to code for each hardware differently, like MDolenc stated.
     
  12. Infinisearch

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    USA
    There's no way to do this in regards to async compute.

    edit - besides fences and barriers but that really doesn't provide much control over execution.
     
  13. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,171
    Location:
    La-la land
    Could the driver/GPU hardware not detect automatically when shader hardware starts going idle, and automatically supply with work from async queue?
     
  14. Razor1

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    749
    Location:
    NY, NY
    You don't have complete control, you have to estimate what is going on. Until there is a better way to do it in hardware (if that ever happens), this is the way it has to be done for now.
     
  15. DavidGraham

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,715
    Likes Received:
    2,449
    That is not true, Rise of Tomb Raider is vastly more popular than any other DX12 title. It sold more copies on PC than the Xbox. It is followed by Quantum break and Hitman. Ashes is far behind any of them.
    http://www.dsogaming.com/news/rise-...er-on-pc-than-on-xbox-one-in-its-first-month/
     
    #55 DavidGraham, May 17, 2016
    Last edited: May 17, 2016
  16. MDolenc

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2002
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    425
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Yes, I'm pretty damn sure about this (and there are numbers to prove it in the D3D12 Async thread ;)).
    People in general don't seem to have much sense just how bad running a memory access intensive draw calls and a memory access intensive compute kernel concurrently (thus trashing L1/L2 caches) really is. Though even a simple texture fillrate * 8 (for R8G8B8A8 read and write) to get bandwidth requirements should point out just how important this thing is.
    A separate compute queue enables you to submit compute work to GPU and that compute work to will wait for some GPU event (graphics queue reaching a certain point) without CPU intervention.
     
    pharma, Razor1 and CarstenS like this.
  17. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Let say they could provide both tests at least
     
  18. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,780
    Likes Received:
    4,431
    ROTR isn't a UWP-exclusive game, and neither is Hitman. I can only wonder where you're getting the assumption that quantum break got more PC sales than AOTS, especially given its mediocre reviewer scores, terrible user scores and being sold in a platform that no one associates to high-profile games.
     
  19. DavidGraham

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,715
    Likes Received:
    2,449
    Hardly, all engines on the market were DX11, they added DX12 paths later on. ashes engine was also DX11 but had Mantle pathway which were later modified to involve DX12.
     
  20. DavidGraham

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,715
    Likes Received:
    2,449
    Mediocre maybe, but it was the most successful new IP for Microsoft, it topped sales charts for a while.

    And you just can't claim Ashes is popular, nobody even hears of the game except in benchmark suits. It has little media coverage.

    You also can't claim it has the highest number of units on screen. Many other RTS games used large number of units, Medival, Total Wars, Supreme Commander, Planetary Annihilation, even Command and Conquer could feature such massive numbers in large matches. So I dont know what makes Ashes so special. It's the same situation as StarSwarm or whatever, a showcase for something that is neither specific or extraordinary.
     
    #60 DavidGraham, May 17, 2016
    Last edited: May 17, 2016
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...